Native American Indian Law Research Guide: Tribal Codes and Constitutions
This guide provides an overview of selected Native American Indian law materials available at the Marquette University Eckstein Law Library and selected online materials pertaining to Native American Indian law.
The bibliography's contents include laws and/or constitutions for: Cherokee Nation, Chickasaw Nation, Choctaw Nation, Creek or Muskogee Nation, Indian Territory, Nez Perce Tribe, Omaha Tribe, Osage Nation, Ottawa Tribe, Sac and Fox Naiton, Seminole Nation, Seneca Nation, State of Sequoyah, Stockbridge and Munsee Tribe and Winnebago Tribe.
Federally-recognized tribes are included in the A-Z list. The guide lists the National Indian Law Library's catalog record of the most recent copy of the code or constitution, a link to an online copy when available and tribal contact information.
Indian nations represented in this set are: Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, Muskogee and Osage. Acts, resolutions and joint resolutions regarding these nations are included. The last two volumes of the set are the sessions of the General Council of the Indian Territory originally printed in 1871 and 1875.
A guide to the Microfiche Collection of American Indian tribal codes published in 1988 by the Marian Gould Gallagher Law Library. Includes 56 tribal codes, constitutions and constitutional-type documents.
This electronic resource provides selected tribal documents from 1808 through the 1950s. The available documents include acts, constitutions, compiled laws, corporate charters and session laws. This is a searchable (title, subject, author, etc.) site. The Native American Collection contains access to tribal documents.
Selected tribal codes are listed. The documents are unofficial; for official documents, contact the tribe. The project is a cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center, the National Indian Law Library and Native American tribes.
Selected tribal constitutions are listed. The documents are unofficial; for official documents, contact the tribe. The project is a cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center, the National Indian Law Library and Native American tribes.
Cohen's work is an attempt to offer suggestions to Indian tribes that are engaged in drawing up constitutions and to government Indian Service members who may be involved in the task. It offers constitutional provisions that had been prepared by tribes that had already drawn up constitutions. The appendix includes a Model Constitution, Outline of Tribal Constitution and Bylaws and a Model Corporate Charter.