Native American Indian Law Research Guide: Tribal Courts
This guide provides an overview of selected Native American Indian law materials available at the Marquette University Eckstein Law Library and selected online materials pertaining to Native American Indian law.
This study is an investigation of the tribal courts of the Hopi Indian Tribal Nation. The central focus is an exploration of the ways in which Hopi tradition and Anglo-American-style law emerge and shape the interactions of those in the tribal court proceedings.
The site provides links to official tribal court websites. In addition, it lists the Courts of Indian Offenses (25 CFR 11.100)
Unlike federal court cases, finding tribal court cases and decisions can be a challenging task. Even with ever-increasing access via online resources, there is no comprehensive, one-stop source for all tribal courts and tribal court cases. Some tribal court decisions go unpublished. Further complicating the task is that tribal court systems may vary from very- structured, multiple-court systems to informal, part-time court systems. In addition, there is inconsistency in the reporting of tribes' names listed in the various sources.
Library has 1997-2008, volumes 7-18.
This is a monthly publication that summarizes legal decisions and discusses legal developments in the Native American community.
Lexis (username and password required)
This site provides the Tribal Law and Policy Institute's Tribal Court Opinion search page. In an agreement with VersusLaw, a searchable database of over 2,700 opinions, memorandums and orders from 21 tribal courts is provided.
Individual tribes' websites may include court cases.
Search the tribe's name for the official tribe website.
This commercial database may be searched for tribal court cases. Free registration for law students, faculty and library staff members of J.D.-awarding law schools is available. The Tribal Court Clearinghouse website provides a free searchable database of tribal court opinions in an agreement with VersusLaw. See the Tribal Court Clearinghouse item above.