Skip to main content

U.S. Government Documents: Databases

Marquette University Eckstein Law Library is a selective Federal Depository Library for government documents. The Law Library receives approximately 3.8 percent of available publications.

Federal Depository Library

As a selective federal depository library in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), Marquette University Eckstein Law Library makes U.S. government documents available for public access for free. The public may access materials received under the FDLP during the Law Library's regular hours. Individuals using the materials must abide by all Law School, Law Library and University rules.  The Law Library adheres to the policies set forth in the Legal Requirements & Program Regulations of the Federal Depository Library Program.

 

 

 

Catalog

MARQCAT - Search library
for:

Eckstein Law Library Map

Need Help?

Reference librarians

are available to assist you

In Person:  1st Floor Reference Desk

Phone:       414-288-3837

Email:        via web form

Hours:        Library Service Hours

About Databases

The resources identified below in the Databases for Locating Federal Government Information in this Research Guide are proprietary databases to which Marquette University Law Library subscribes. Access to some of the databases is limited to members of the Marquette University Law School community. Access limitations are duly noted.  The Law Library is not required to provide public access to third-party vendor subscription databases such as Westlaw. 

Free Internet resources for finding government information, resources and services are listed under the Websites tab of this Research Guide.

 

Databases for Locating Federal Government Information

Bloomberg Law

Provides company and market information, proprietary news and comprehensive legal content.

Access is restricted to faculty and students of Marquette University Law School through individual usernames and passwords.

HeinOnline

HEINOnline is a collection of legal research materials. The HEIN Law Journals Library offers journal articles in pdf format. Also includes a variety of federal and international materials in searchable format.

Legislative Insight

Offers compiled legislative histories which include Public Law text, all versions of enacted and related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, and committee hearings, reports, and documents as well as committee prints, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications.  Coverage varies. Available legislative histories are listed by Congressional session on the homepage.

Lexis

Lexis is a legal database containing federal and state cases, statutes, regulations, international materials and a variety of secondary resources including reference materials, law journals and newspapers.

Access is restricted to faculty and students of Marquette University Law School through individual usernames and passwords.

LexisAcademic

Offers full-text articles related to business, law, government, and medical topics drawing from newspapers, journals, magazines, wire services as well as primary and secondary legal materials.

ProQuest

Offers index, abstract, and select full text articles of a variety of magazines and journals both general interest and scholarly.

ProQuest Congressional

Provides the CIS index for congressional publications from 1817 to present, full-text of recent Congressional publications and abstracts for earlier materials, bill tracking reports, legislative histories, federal regulations, and committee information. Through the CIS index, researchers can search laws by subject, citation, committee, witness, or other document numbers assigned during the legislative process.

Westlaw

Westlaw is a legal database containing federal and state cases, statutes, regulations, international materials and a variety of secondary resources including reference materials, law journals and newspapers.

Access is restricted to faculty and students of Marquette University Law School through individual usernames and passwords.