Skip to main content

U.S. Government Documents: Basic Collection

Marquette University Eckstein Law Library is a selective Federal Depository Library for government documents. The Law Library receives approximately 3.8 percent of available publications.

Federal Depository Library

As a selective federal depository library in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), Marquette University Eckstein Law Library makes U.S. government documents available for public access for free. The public may access materials received under the FDLP during the Law Library's regular hours. Individuals using the materials must abide by all Law School, Law Library and University rules.  The Law Library adheres to the policies set forth in the Legal Requirements & Program Regulations of the Federal Depository Library Program.

 

 

 

Basic Collection

Every depository library that is part of the Federal Depository LIbrary Program (FDLP) is required to have titles in the basic collection accessible for immediate use.  Below are links to the Basic Collection.

American Factfinder - Provides census data for the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas from censuses and surveys. The census information includes population, housing, economic and geographic data.

Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids - The site is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) designed to inform students, parents, and teachers about the Federal Government.

Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970-Part 1 and Part 2 - Third in the Historical Statistics series issued by the United States Census Bureau as a supplement to the annual Statistical Abstract of the United States.

Budget of the United States Government - From the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget is a collection of documents for a particular fiscal year that includes the President's Budget Message and other budgetary publications.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) - Contains detailed program descriptions for 2,270 Federal assistance programs.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) - Find federal publications and direct links to those available online by searching by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word.

Census of Population and Housing: Population & Housing Unit Counts (all states, U.S. Summary, and Puerto Rico)(Series PHC-3) -  From the United States Census Bureau, provides data on population and housing.

Census of Population and Housing: Summary Population & Housing Characteristics (all states, U.S. Summary, and Puerto Rico)(Series PHC-1)  -
From the United States Census Bureau, provides data on population and housing.

Census of Population and Housing: Summary Social, Economic, & Housing Characteristics (all states, U.S. Summary, and Puerto Rico)(Series PHC-2) -
From the United States Census Bureau, provides U.S. Census data on population and housing.

Census of Population and Housing: Social, Economic,  & Housing Characteristics (Island Areas)(Series PHC-4) - From the United States Census Bureau, provides U.S. Census data on population and housing.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) - Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent the subject areas which are subject to Federal regulation.

Compilation of Presidential Documents - The official publication of materials released by the White House includes the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

Congressional Directory - The official directory of the U.S. Congress prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). It provides biographies of Members of Congress, committee memberships, phone numbers and also lists officials of Federal departments and agencies.

Congressional Record (Daily) - The official record of the United States Congress is published daily when Congress is in session. FDsys contains Congressional Record volumes from Vol. 140 (1994) to the present. 

Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation - Provides the text of the Constitution with analysis.

County and City Data Book - The most comprehensive information about the individual counties and cities in the United States, it includes data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more and contains additional data for places with a population of 100,000 or more. A complete set of state maps showing all counties, places of 25,000 or more population, and metropolitan areas.

Economic Indicators - Prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee, it provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance is also provided.

Economic Report of the President - The annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers overviews the nation's economic progress.

FDsys(Federal Digital System) - GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free access to publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Federal Register -  The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

Occupational Outlook Handbook - Created by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor, the Handbook is a guide to career information about hundreds of occupations including required training and earnings outlook.

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States - Compilations of messages and papers of the Presidents

Social Security Handbook - The Handbook includes the Social Security Act (the Act), regulations issued under the Act, and precedential case decisions in an easy-to-understand format about the Social Security system.

Statistical Abstract of the United States - Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

United States Statutes at Large - The permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. The Statutes at Large  provides a chronological listing of all laws and includes laws no longer in force.

United States Code (USC) - The codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States, it is divided by broad subjects into 51 titles. The U.S. Code was first published in 1926. The next main edition was published in 1934, and subsequent main editions have been published every six years since 1934. In between editions, annual cumulative supplements are published in order to present the most current information.

United States Government Manual - The official handbook of the Federal Government provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies and boards, commissions, and committees. 

United States Reports - Opinions of the U.S. Supreme Court.

USA Counties - Includes over 6,600 data items for the United States, States and counties from the U.S. Census Bureau and other Federal agencies. Information on the following general topics is included: Accommodation and Food Services, Age, Agriculture, Ancestry, Banking, Building Permits, County Business Patterns, Civilian Labor Force, Crime, Earnings, Education, Elections, Employment, Government, Health, Hispanic or Latino, Households, Housing, Income, Manufactures, Nonemployer Statistics, Population, Poverty, Race and Hispanic Origin, Retail Trade, Social Programs, Survey of Business Owners, Taxes, Veterans, Vital Statistics, Water Use, and Wholesale Trade.