ResearchGuides: U.S. Supreme Court Justices Selective Bibliography: The New Nation 1783-1820

John Marshall

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court

January 31, 1801 - July 6, 1835

An address by Mr. Justice Story on Chief Justice Marshall : delivered in 1852 [i.e., 1835] at the request of the Suffolk (Mass.) Bar by Joseph Story
Publication Date: 1835
This was an address written by Justice Story concerning the life of Chief Justice Marshall. Available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).
An Autobiographical Sketch by John Marshall; John S. Adams (Editor)
Call Number: E 302.6 .M4 A32 1973
ISBN: 0306702169
Publication Date: 1973-06-01
This is an autobiography written by John Marshall. Also available on microfiche.
A Chief Justice's Progress : John Marshall from Revolutionary Virginia to the Supreme Court by David Scott Robarge
Call Number: KF8745.M3 R63 2000
ISBN: 9780313308581
Publication Date: 2000-02-28
This work looks at the early life of John Marshall and the events that impacted him before he became Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.
Chief Justice; John Marshall and the growth of the Republic by David G. Loth
Call Number: KF8745.M3 L6 1949
ISBN: 0837124506
Publication Date: 1970-03-02
A look at the life and career of Chief Justice John Marshall and the profound impact that he had on shaping a rapidly changing government institution.
The Chief Justiceship of John Marshall, 1801-1835 by Herbert A. Johnson
Call Number: KF 8745.M3 J63 1997
ISBN: 1570031215
A look at the jurisprudence of John Marshall. This work also contains some biographical looks at the founding father and his role in the expansion of the powers of the Supreme Court.
The Constitution and Chief Justice Marshall by William F. Swindler
Call Number: KF4549 .S94 1978
ISBN: 0396075002
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
This work focuses Chief Justice Marshall's relationship with the Constitution and how it shaped the American judicial and political system.
Eulogy on John Marshall by Horace Binney
Publication Date: 1835-09-24
This is the eulogy given concerning the life of John Marshall. Available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).
The Failure of the Founding Fathers : Jefferson, Marshall, and the rise of presidential democracy by Bruce A. Ackerman
Call Number: E331 .A15 2005
ISBN: 0674018664
Also available on online for the Marquette community, on EBSCO. https://libus.csd.mu.edu/record=b3347828~S1
The Great Chief Justice : John Marshall and the rule of law by Charles F. Hobson
Call Number: KF8745.M3 H63 1996
ISBN: 0700607889
This work looks at the life of John Marshall from revolutionary to Supreme Court Chief Justice and the legacy of his tenure on the court.
James Bradley Thayer, Oliver Wendell Holmes, and Felix Frankfurter on John Marshall by James Bradley Thayer, Oliver Wendell Holmes, and Felix Frankfurter with a contribution by Mark De Wolfe Howe
Call Number: E 302.6 .M4 T33 1967
Two Supreme Court Justices and a Supreme Court biographer weigh in on the life and legacy of Chief Justice John Marshall.
John Marshall by Allan Bowie Magruder; John T. Morse (Editor)
Call Number: KF8745.M3 M33 1898a
ISBN: 040450860X
Publication Date: 1972 Reprint
Originally published in 1898, this work describes the career and legacy of John Marshall. Also available on microfiche.
John Marshall by James Bradley Thayer
Call Number: E 302.6 .M4 T3 1901a
ISBN: 0306702878
Publication Date: 1974-09-01
This is a reprint of the original 1901 biography on the life of John Marshall.
John Marshall, defender of the Constitution by Frances N. Stites
Call Number: KF8745.M3 S78 1981
ISBN: 0316816698
Publication Date: 1987-07-01
A brief biography that looks at the life of John Marshall as a statesman and juror.
John Marshall : a life in law by Leonard Baker
Call Number: KF8745.M3 B3
ISBN: 002506360X
Publication Date: 1974-01-01
This is a major biography on John Marshall, researched from thousands of unpublished papers. It describes the early life of the revolutionary through the critical events and decisions that helped shape the nation.
John Marshall : definer of a nation by Jean E. Smith; Jean Edward Smith
Call Number: KF8745.M3 S63 1996
ISBN: 080501389X
Publication Date: 1996-11-15
A biography of John Marshall that from his early life in Virginia to his days on the Supreme court and his legacy thereafter.
John Marshall : life, character and judicial services : as portrayed in the centenary and memorial addresses and proceedings throughout the United States on Marshall Day, 1901 : and in the classic orations of Binney, Story, Phelps, Waite and R by comp. and ed. with an introduction by John F. Dillon
Call Number: KF8745.M37 D54 1903a
Publication Date: 1903
A series of addresses given on the life of John Marshall on Marshall Day in 1901. Available on microfiche.
John Marshall : the chief justice who saved the nation by Harlow Giles Unger
Call Number: KF8745.M3 U54 2014
ISBN: 9780306822216
Publication Date: 2014-09-30
A look at the life of a man who emerged after Washington's death in 1799 to restore order and power within the governing bodies of the United States.
John Marshall : the tribute of Massachusetts : being the addresses delivered at Boston and Cambridge, February 4, 1901 by edited by Marquis F. Dickinson
Call Number: KF8745.M3 J62 1988
Publication Date: 1988
This was an address originally given in 1901 concerning the life of John Marshall.
John Marshall and Alexander Hamilton, architects of the American Constitution by Samuel J. Konefsky
Call Number: JK119 .K67 1964
Publication Date: 1964
A look at the impact that Alexander Hamilton had on John Marshall and how that shaped his legacy.
John Marshall and International Law by Frances H. Rudko
Call Number: E 302.6 .M4 R83 1991
ISBN: 0313279322
Publication Date: 1991-10-30
This work looks a the impact that international law had on the life of John Marshall before his tenure on the Supreme Court.
John Marshall and the Heroic Age of the Supreme Court by R. Kent Newmyer
Call Number: KF8745.M37 N49 2001
ISBN: 0807127019
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Drawing from the definitive edition of John Marshall's papers, the work expands the historiography of the life of John Marshall with a fresh look at his life in law.
John Marshall in Diplomacy and in Law by Lord Craigmyle
Call Number: KF8745.M37 C7 1933b
ISBN: 0899419984
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
Originally published in 1933, this biography looks at the life of John Marshall as a juror and a statesman.
The life of John Marshall by Albert J. Beveridge
Call Number: E302.6.M4 B58
Publication Date: 1916-1919
A reference work describing the narrative of John Marshall's life and career.
Marshall and Taney : statesmen of the law by Ben W. Palmer
Call Number: KF8744.M3 P35
Publication Date: 1966
A look at the careers of Supreme Court Chief Justice Roger B. Taney and his predecessor John Marshall.
The Marshall reader; the life and contributions of Chief Justice John Marshall by Erwin C Surrency
Call Number: KF8745.M3 S87 1955
Publication Date: 1955
A look at the life and career of John Marshall.
My dearest Polly; letters of Chief Justice John Marshall to his wife, with their background, political and domestic, 1779-1831 by Frances Norton Mason
Call Number: KF8745.M3 A44 1961
Publication Date: 1961
A look at the private letters between John Marshall and his wife Polly between 1779-1835.
The Papers of John Marshall by John Marshall; Herbert A. Johnson (Editor); Nancy G. Harris (Editor); Herbert Alan Johnson; Charles T. Cullen (Editor); Charles F. Hobson; Institute of Early American History and Culture (Williamsburg, Va.) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: E302 .M365
ISBN: 0807812331
Publication Date: 1974-11-01
A look at the personal writings and correspondence of John Marshall.
Supreme Court under Marshall and Taney by R. Kent Newmyer; Abraham S. Eisenstadt (Editor); John Hope Franklin (Editor)
Call Number: KF8742 .N49 1986
ISBN: 0882957465
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
A look at the Supreme Court during the tenure of both John Marshall and Roger Brooke Taney as well as their lives and legacies.
What Kind of Nation : Thomas Jefferson, John Marshall, and the epic struggle to create a United States by James F. Simon
Call Number: KF4541 .S53 2002
ISBN: 0684848708
Publication Date: 2002-02-26
This work looks at the bitter struggle between John Marshall and Thomas Jefferson, both Virginians, revolutionaries and second cousins, over the power of the presidency and the independence of the judiciary bodies of the United States Government.

John Jay

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court

September 26, 1789 - June 29, 1795

John Jay by George Pellew
Call Number: KF8745.J38 P45 1972
Originally printed in 1898 and 1890, this work recounts the life and career of John Jay. Available on microfiche and through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).
John Jay, Colonial Lawyer by Herbert A. Johnson
Call Number: E 302.6 .J4 J63 1989
ISBN: 0824061845
A look at the career of John Jay from his early years to his Chief Justiceship.
John Jay, defender of liberty against kings & peoples, author of the Constitution & governor of New York, president of the Continental Congress, co-author of the Federalist, negotiator of the Peace of 1783 & the Jay Treaty of 1794, first chief justice of by Frank Monaghan
Call Number: KF8745.J38 M55
Publication Date: 1935
A look at the life and career of John Jay and his impact on the formation of the United States.
John Jay, the Nation, and the Court by Richard B. Morris
Call Number: KF 8745 .J38 M67
A look at the life and career of John Jay and how he helped shape a young nation.
The life and times of John Jay: secretary of foreign affairs under the confederation and first chief justice of the United States : with a sketch of public events from the opening of the revolution to the election of Jefferson by William Whitelock
Publication Date: 1887
A biography on the life and career of Chief Justice and revolutionary John Jay. Available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).
The life of John Jay: with selections from his correspondence and miscellaneous papers by William Jay
Publication Date: 1833
A look at the life of John Jay through his personal papers and correspondence. Available on microfiche and through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).
Lives of John Jay and Alexander Hamilton by Henry B. Renwick
Publication Date: 1841
A look at the lives and personal relationship between John Jay and Alexander Hamilton. Available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).
Witnesses at the creation : Hamilton, Madison, Jay, and the Constitution by Richard B. Morris
Call Number: KF4520 .M677 1985
ISBN: 003062956X
This work looks at the collaboration between Alexander Hamilton, John Jay and John Madison in the ratification of the Constitution and writing the Federalist Papers.

Oliver Ellsworth

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court

March 4, 1796 - September 30, 1800

The life of Oliver Ellsworth by William Garrott Brown
Publication Date: 1905
A biography on the life and career of Oliver Ellsworth. Available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).

Catalog Subject Headings

These Subject Headings may be useful in finding biographical works. Follow the links to view the subject listing:

United States. Supreme Court -- Biography

Judges -- United States -- Biography

Library Map

View Library Map

Broader Biographies

Alfred Moore and James Iredell, revolutionary patriots and Associate Justices of the Supreme Court of the United States : an address delivered in presenting their portraits to the Supreme Court of North Carolina on behalf of the North Carolina Society of by Junius Davis
Publication Date: 1899-4-29
An address given on April 29, 1899, commemorating the lives of two patriots and Supreme Court Justices -- Alfred Moore and James Iredell. Available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).
The Marshall Court, 1801-1835 by Adrienne Siegel
Call Number: KF8742 .S9155 1987 vol. 2
ISBN: 0867330570
Publication Date: 1987-01-01
Part of the Supreme Court in American Life series, this work look at the lives and careers of the Supreme Court Justices who served during the Marshall Court between 1801-1835.
The Supreme Court in the Early Republic: the chief justiceships of John Jay and Oliver Ellsworth by William R. Casto
Call Number: KF8742 .C378 1995
ISBN: 1570030332
This work looks at the methodical creation of the Supreme Court through the biographies of two of the first Chief Justices, arguing that the initial Supreme Court is very different from the Supreme Court that exists today.