Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Guide to Law Library Resources for Students Working Remotely: Access to the Law Library Collection

On-site Collection and Law Library Space

Most physical library materials and the study spaces near the library shelves are available to you anytime you are in the building.  Please keep the following in mind:

  • If you use library materials while browsing the shelves or in the building, return them to the green reshelving carts throughout the library area or to the Book Return slot on the side of the Circulation Desk rather than reshelving an item. 

  • Remember that you are responsible for following disinfecting procedures – but please don’t try to disinfect books. Disinfect seating areas or other surfaces you touch before using. After usage, wash your hands or use the hand sanitizer at the provided stations throughout Eckstein Hall.

  • To check out library materials that circulate, use the Self Checkout stations near the library shelves on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th floors using your MUID. Instructions are provided on-screen and at each station. For assistance, visit the Circulation Desk during service hours. New students, please stop at or call the Circulation Desk (414-288-7092) if you have trouble using your MUID to check out a book that circulates. Most IDs are in the system, but library staff can check your account and add your barcode if necessary.

  • Stop at the Circulation Desk to check out items on Reserve, including Mac chargers and a limited supply of laptops for short-term checkout, or for assistance with checking out other materials or using the PrintWise printers.  

  • To return something you checked out, use the Book Return in the northwest corner of the building lobby (to your left as you enter the building) or the Book Return slot on the side of the Circulation Desk on the 1st floor.  

  • The Circulation Desk is your go-to resource for help with renewals or questions about library notices. For a contactless option, call (414-288-7092) or, for some materials, renew materials through MarqCat, the library catalog. (Look for “Log in” in the upper right corner of the screen or, when using a mobile device, “My Account.” Log in with the same username and password you use to sign into the Law School website, D2L, and more.)

  • You will find equipment such as a three-hole punch at the Circulation Desk, and you can ask for other items, including pre-packaged, disposable earplugs.

  • For updated information on service hours, visit the Library Service Hours page.

Electronic Collection

Many subscription databases are available to you from anywhere you have internet access. For a list of our subscription resources, visit the Databases & Subscriptions list. Please ask a librarian if you have questions about these or other sources.

A few key things to remember:‚Äč

  • Wisconsin Guide to Citation:  The Wisconsin Guide to Citation is available online via the State Bar's Books Unbound database (see below).  The guide includes Wisconsin-specific citation requirements for court filings, which may differ from the requirements in the Bluebook.

  • Books Unbound:  If you did not (re)activate your WisBar Law Student Associate Program membership this academic year, now is the time. With membership, you have access to resources that include Books UnBound, the online home to the State Bar’s Pinnacle Publications (including CLE books and benchbooks). Sign up or reactivate your membership on Wisbar.org's law student sign up page.  Once logged in to wisbar.org, go to myStateBar and select myMedia.  Then choose the "Books Unbound" tab and the "Launch Books Unbound" button on the resulting page. 

  • ProView via Westlaw:  Your law school Westlaw account includes access to the ProView ebook platform, which provides electronic access to many of the print Thomson Reuters resources in our collection. The platform is accessible via the main product drop-down menu at the top of the page after logging into your account at https://lawschool.westlaw.com/ (it's the same drop-down you'd use to access TWEN or Westlaw).  Not only does the platform provide electronic access to the ebooks, but it also allows you to create and share annotations.

  • Wisconsin Jury Instructions: Wisconsin’s pattern jury instructions are available to you through the Wisconsin State Law Library website at https://wilawlibrary.gov/jury/ As a Marquette Law student, you also have access through your law school Fastcase account.  To access the account, use the “Sign In” button at the top right corner of the law school’s home page to sign into the law school’s intranet.  Once in the intranet, go to the law library home page and click on “Fastcase” in the “Databases and Subscriptions" column toward the right side of the screen.  Then click through to enter your individual Fastcase account.  Once in Fastcase, in the left-hand column, click on “Search Jury Instructions/Practice Manuals” and choose Wisconsin.   

  • Database TrainingsWatch for information about online training opportunities from vendors like Lexis and Westlaw.

Online Catalog

Some materials in the catalog are available via link to an electronic resource.  The catalog record will provide links when electronic access is noted.  Because some of the electronic resources are available via the Raynor Libraries' subscriptions, you may wish to expand the scope of your search to include the entire collection rather than just the law library.

MARQCAT - Search law library