Family Law: Domestic Violence and Intimate Partner Violence

x, 178 pages ; 23 cm
Includes bibliographic references and index
Summary: "Criminal Law for Family Law Attorneys is a guide to spotting criminal issues and concerns in family law cases, useful for family law attorneys or anyone going through a family law matter. There is often an overlap between family law and criminal defense. Sometimes the criminal implications in family law cases are obvious, such as domestic violence, but they are often less so, such as unlawful tracking and surveillance. Family law attorneys who do not understand the criminal implications and recognize this overlap can accidentally exacerbate the situation by not being able to advice their clients properly. Criminal Law for Family Law Attorneys is designed to help family law attorneys keep their clients out of trouble. While this book will not make you an expert in criminal defense, it will help you identify the issues so that you can appropriately advise your client or get them counsel from a criminal defense attorney. Sometimes, the best thing we can do for our clients is identify and address potential issues before they become problems." -- Publisher's website
Contents: Overview of the criminal law process -- The family violence process : criminal and civil -- Child protective services and the domestic/criminal case -- Family violence crimes -- Misdemeanor family violence convictions and firearm possession -- Invasion of privacy -- The use of private investigators -- Parental kidnapping and custodial interference -- Child abandonment and failure to pay support -- Impact of criminal convictions on retirement benefits -- provided by publisher

159 pages ; 28 cm
Includes bibliographical references
Summary: "This project was supported by STOP Grant Award No. 11877 awarded to the Wisconsin Director of State Courts Office by the Office on Violence Against Women, U.S. Department of Justice"- cover
"This guidebook is a joint project of the Wisconsin Governor's Council on Domestic Abuse and End Domestic Abuse Wisconsin. The guidebook is based on documents created by the Washington State Administrative Office of the Courts and the Battered Women's Justice Project and were adapted with permission" - page 1

xxxv, 1188, 21, 74, 36 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm
Note: "This 2023-2024 Edition fully replaces the 2023 Edition"
Includes bibliographical references and index
Contents: Domestic torts -- Psychosocial perspectives of violence in domestic relationships -- Violent domestic torts -- Sexual domestic torts -- Infliction of emotional distress and injury to reputation -- Invasion of privacy -- Fraud, abuse of process, economic torts -- Interference with family relationships -- Interference with parent-child relationship -- The physically and emotionally abused child -- Sexually abused children -- Third-party liability : persons -- Third-party liability : professionals and business -- Insurance coverage

Online resource (xv, 267 pages.)
Series: Routledge studies in development and society
Includes bibliographical references and index
Summary: "Around the world, discriminatory legislation prevents women from accessing their human rights. It can affect almost every aspects of a woman's life, including the right to choose a partner, inherit property, hold a job, and obtain child custody. Often referred to as family law, these laws have contributed to discrimination and to the justification of gender-based violence globally. This book demonstrates how women across the world are contributing to legal reform, helping to shape non-discriminatory policies, and to counter current legal and social justifications for gender-based violence" Back cover
Contents: Introduction / Mahnaz Afkhami -- PART 1 Country case studies. Feminist advocacy for family law reform : cross-country overview / Yakin Ertürk -- Brazil / Marinan Barsted, Leila Linhares, and Jacqueline Pitanguy -- India / Kalpana Kannabiran -- Iran / Mehrangiz Kar and Azadeh Pourzand -- Lebanon / Ziyad Baroud and Ghadir El-Alayli -- Nigeria / Victoria Ibezim-Ohaeri -- Palestine / Luna Saadeh, Fidaa Barghouthi, and Fatmeh Muaqqet -- Senegal / Alpha Ba and Aminata Bousso Ly -- Turkey / Gökçeçiçek Ayata and Ayşen Candaş -- PART II Interviews. Introduction to the interviews with leaders in the Egyptian, Jordanian, and Moroccan campaigns to reform family laws and eliminate gender-based violence / Haleh Vaziri -- Interview with Hoda Elsadda -- Interview with Asma Khader -- Interview with Rabéa Naciri -- Conclusion : reflections on recent progress and reversals in the war to curb violence against women / Ann Elizabeth Mayer

xv, 429 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm
Bibliog. Includes bibliographical references and index
Summary: "Physical, psychological, and sexual abuse among intimate partners, commonly known as domestic violence, but more recently as intimate partner violence or IPV, is a significant social and public health problem in the United States and worldwide. IPV had long been considered private by law enforcement, rarely investigated by social science researchers, and poorly understood by mental health professionals. In the 1980s, a series of well-publicized court cases, such as Thurman v. City of Torrington (1985), brought to light the grossly inadequate law enforcement response at the time, which allowed repeat offenders to avoid prosecution while their partners continued to be victimized, often fatally. In response, a grassroots victim advocacy movement established shelter and other services for victims while lobbying state legislatures across the United States, and subsequently to Canada, the U.K., and other nations, to enact new laws that would hold offenders accountable (Buzawa & Buzawa, 2002; Russell, 2010)"-- Provided by publisher
Contents: Part I: Overview of research on domestic violence. Introduction : The problem with the gender paradigm / John Hamel and Brenda Russell -- What we currently know about the prevalence, causes, and dynamics of intimate partner violence / Elizabeth A. Bates and Alexandra Papamichail -- The law enforcement response to intimate partner violence : toward a gender-neutral approach / Brenda Russell and Emily Seisler -- Part II: Litigation. Gender, sex, and the prosecution of intimate partner violence / Jennifer Cox, Elizabeth MacNeil and Hannah Lind -- Challenges and strategies in mounting a legal defense in intimate partner violence criminal cases / Charles Dresow -- Intimate partner homicide and the battered person syndrome / John Hamel, Don Dutton, and Alexandra Lysova -- Jury decision-making : understanding and overcoming bias in the courtroom / Brenda Russell and Blake McKimmie -- Part III: Family law. Guidelines for domestic violence and child custody litigation / David Pisarra -- Custody and intervention recommendations in family law cases : a gender-inclusive framework / John Hamel and Kelley Baker -- The same coin : intimate partner violence, child abuse, and parental alienation / Jennifer Harman and Edward Kruk -- Part IV: Evidence-based interventions. Holding perpetrators accountable : evidence-based interview and assessment procedures / John Hamel and Liam Ennis -- Risk-needs-responsivity-informed approaches to batterer intervention treatment / Amie Roberts -- Couples and family interventions for intimate partner violence / Victoria E. Bennett, Janella Chu, Deanna Pollard, and Julia Babcock -- Restorative justice alternatives / Briana Barocas and Rei Shimizu -- Afterword : Recommendations and resources / John Hamel, Brenda Russell, Don Dutton, and Jennifer Cox

Introduction / Jane K. Stoever -- The coupling and decoupling of safety and crime control : an anti-violence movement timeline / Mimi E. Kim -- The politicization of domestic violence / Deborah M. Weissman -- Empowerment politics and access to justice / Elizabeth L. MacDowell -- Battering court syndrome : a structural critique of "failure to protect" / Alisa Bierria and Colby Lenz -- Parental love and purposeful violence / Cynthia Godsoe -- Specializing justice for youth and families : intervening in family violence or expanding the carceral net? / Amy M. Magnus -- Feminist response to campus sexual assault in the Republican era : crime logic, intersectional public health, and restorative justice / Donna Coker -- A fraught pairing : immigrant survivors of intimate partner violence and law enforcement / Natalie Nanasi -- Politics, safety, and officer-involved intimate partner violence / Leigh Goodmark -- Playing politics with firearms and family violence / Jane K. Stoever -- Preventing ordinary and extraordinary violence / Mary D. Fan -- Is domestic violence politicized too narrowly? / Jamie R. Abrams -- Harm reduction in the domestic violence context / Courtney Cross -- Developing a national plan of action on violence against women and gender violence : a human rights approach / Caroline Bettinger-López