Restorative Justice: Schools & Education Books & Treatises

---------------
See ch. 20: Sarah Goldbort, "Teach as if you aren't afraid of getting fired" : A Queer Survivor's Use of Restorative Justice Circles to Embrace Vulnerability in the Classroom, (287-96)
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Circles / Dialogue / Listening |
Criminal Apects - Sexual Abuse / Offences / Violence / Rape |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education |
Victim - Victim-Offender, Victim Rights, Victimization, Survivor

See ch. 8: Terrence A. Pruitt, Reparations (Healing and Reconciliation in School Discipline: The Case for Restorative Justice), (101-5)

---------------
TOPICS:
Community - Reparation / Compensation | Restoration / Reconciliation |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

See ch. 2: Belinda Hopkins, Restorative Justice in Schools, (19-29)
---------------
TOPICS:
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

In exploring ways to counteract zero-tolerance policies, pointing to them as being ineffective and harmful, this book looks at Restortive Justice practices in two schools in Scotland and Canada, as a means to building relationships, rather than enforcing discriminatory policies.
---------------
TOPICS:
Foreign / International - Canada | Scotland |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

See ch.10: Morgan D. Kirby, Building an Agenda for Restorative Justice Practices in Education: Utilizing Public Relations Strategies to Influence Education Reform (237-56). In reaction to the school-to-prison pipeline issue and in response to punitive zero-tolerance policies, This chapter "examines how restorative justice discourse on Twitter can build an agenda for increased awareness of restorative justice practices in schools." -- Abstract.
---------------
TOPICS:
Background / Theory - Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
Reference - Research |
Schools & Youth - School-to-Prison Pipeline | Schools / Education

"Whether you are working with clients that include students, family members, those in the workplace, or the community, The Art of Narrative can be a valuable resource for building better relationships. This is a practical guide for deepening facilitation skills using structured questions that align with restorative practices within circle processes. Useful exercises allow practitioners to enjoy the building blocks found in each chapter to learn post-modern narrative processes so the storyteller is the center of attention rather than the facilitator." -- Publisher's website

ch.7 explores Restorative Practice (RP) as a subelement of Restorative Justice (RJ). Focusing less on adversarial approaches, and more towards developing skills in counselling and facilitation, this chapter explores to train legal professionals in skills of RP.
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Conferences / Conferencing | Facilitator / Facilitation |
Community - Community, Society, Politics |
Criminal Apects - Courts / Juries |
Counseling, Psychology & Ethics - Counseling |
Educational - Law School - Legal Education |
Foreign / International - Australia |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth |
Victim - Trauma

Intended for teachers of all levels, this book provides a blueprint for developing restorative practices within the classroom. It explores procedures and expecations for student behavior, development of a non-confrontational approach to dealing with difficult issues, and development of relationships through mutual understanding.
---------------
TOPICS:
Peace - Peacebuilding, Peacekeeping, Peacemaking |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

Textbook
"Conflict Resolution for the Helping Professions provides helping professionals with the theory, strategies, and skills they need to deal with conflict in a manner that is respectful, collaborative, and constructive. This text illustrates how helping professionals can incorporate evidence-based models of conflict resolution to work more effectively and enjoyably with clients, coworkers, supervisors, and others. Practitioners will learn how to respond effectively when others use power, positions, and competition." -- Amazon.com
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Facilitator / Facilitation | Mediation / Mediator |
Criminal Apects - Crime (Law, Justice, Policing, Procedure) |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth | Schools / Education

This book provides practical steps and concepts that can be employed in a school environment. The 8 chapters include topics on restorative approaches to changing behavior, classroom conferences, sample conversations, responses to bullying, decision-making, and elements that are instrumental in developing a formal restorative conference. Appendixes include a conference preparation checklist, information for conference participants, sample letter to parents, a variety of conference scripts, agreement and evaluation sheet. The book also includes a good bibliography.
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Conferences / Conferencing |
Schools & Youth - Bullying | Schools / Education

See ch. 6: Critical Criminology and Restorative Justice
---------------
TOPICS:
Criminal Aspects - Violence |
General & Reference - Case Studies / Stories |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth | Bullying | School-to-Prison Pipeline | Schools / Education |
Victim - Victim-Offender, Victim Rights, Victimization, Survivor

In responding to high annual suspension rates, especially amond Black students, students with disabilities, and stoduents living in poverty, the Virginia General Assembly passed laws limiting suspension times and prohibiting long-term suspension and expulsion of pre-kindergarten through third grade students. This book reflects research that shows a need to move from zero-tolerance policies to restorative practices. In it, the authors use Virginia as a case study for the larger, national, problem of exclusionary discipline. (See preface [xv]-xvi).
--Additional entry with E-BOOK available by searching title in Marqcat
---------------
TOPICS:
Family - Family Law / Family Violence |
General & Reference - Case Studies / Stories |
Reference - Research |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education |
Victim - Trauma

This book, written by an educator with over 20 years of classroom experience, discusses restorative justice approaches to discipline, classroom management, understanding students and building relationships. It includes appendixes that include sample student justice panel overview and petition, Student Justice Panel Training, reflective time, adult professional learning and sample core values & staff norms. The book also includes several pages of references.
--Additional entry with E-BOOK available by searching title in Marqcat
---------------
TOPICS:
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

"Restorative practice (RP) has been successfully implemented in schools for decades and is primarily associated with improving behaviour and relationships, by changing the culture of problem solving in the school. However, it has huge untapped potential to support initiatives in other areas, and this book provides examples of how RP can enhance the effectiveness of these other practices." -- EBSCOhost Description
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Conferences / Conferencing |
Background / Theory - Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
Community - Community, Society, Politics | Restoration / Reconciliation |
Foreign / International - New Zealand |
Reference - Research |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth | School-to-Prison Pipeline | Schools / Education |
Victim - Trauma

Ch 35: Martell L. Teasley. Shifting from zero tolerance to restorative justice in schools OM (358-60), provides information on zero tolerance throughout the school systems and offers Restorative Justice as an alternative that is growing in the United States.
---------------
TOPICS:
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

Intentional Classroom Engagement is an essential workbook to help you become proactive as you build better relationships with your students, their families, and your colleagues. You will find: Strategies and experiences to provoke reflection and help you develop your skills ; Assignments to build relationships and community connectedness ; Guided prompts to develop restorative competencies ; Ideas you can use whether you’re working virtually or on-site.
---------------
TOPICS:
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

"It Starts in the Classroom addresses the needs of P-12 teachers in nineteen chapters focusing on different aspects of character education. Included are a selection of pertinent references, research, and no-prep resources for teachers to use to bring life skills into the classroom that have been proven to increase student academic achievement"-- Provided by publisher
--See Ch 14: Character and Restorative Justice (93-100) presents 8 ideas or approaches to managing a classroom and instilling restorative practices in the school environment.
---------------
TOPICS:
Reference - Research |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

"Children and youth become involved with the juvenile justice system at a significant rate. While some children move just as quickly out of the system and go on to live productive lives as adults, other children become enmeshed in the system, developing deeper problems and/or transferring into the adult criminal justice system. Justice for Kids is a volume of work by leading academics and activists that focuses on ways to intervene at the earliest possible point to rehabilitate and redirect to keep kids out of the system rather than to punish and drive kids deeper." -- Product description
--See ch.11: Thalia N. C. Gonzalez and Benjamin Cairns, Moving beyond Exclusion: Integrating Restorative Practices and Impacting School Culture in Denver Public Schools. "The purpose of this chapter is to explore the potential of restorative justice to improve school safety, promote student performance, and increase student engagement without a desproportionate reliance on suspensions and expulsions. … [This] chapter [draws] upon the experience of the restorative justice program at North High School in Denver, Colorado, as a case study of restorative justice with broader implications for more holistic educational reform." (Introduction to chapter at 242).
---------------
TOPICS:
Community - Rehabilitation |
Criminal Aspects - Crime (Law, Justice, Policing, Procedure) |
General & Reference - Case Studies / Stories |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth | Schools / Education

This book presents a restorative teaching approach for educators who are dealing with pre k-12 incaceration issues. The goal of the book is to "prepare the next generation of teachers to be skillful restorative justice practitioners who disrupt educational inequities in classroom and school communities." (Series foreword) The book incorporates case studies and other discussion in 6 chapters, looking at topics that include practical restorative justice, pedagogical approaches, freedom, and transformative justice.
--Also located at RAYNOR MEMORIAL LIBRARIES: HV8688 .W56 2018
---------------
TOPICS:
Background / Theory - Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
General & Reference - Case Studies / Stories |
Race & Discrimination - Race, Racism, Racial Justice, Racial Violence |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education |
Transitional / Transformative Justice

This book offers a number of chapters relating to restorative justice in school settings. Chapters range from introductory and visioning to discussion of skills and implementation. It includes references in a bibliography.
--Also located at RAYNOR MEMORIAL LIBRARIES: HV888 .H67 2004
--Also available as E-BOOK
---------------
TOPICS:
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

This book seeks to "move beyond viewing discipline as punishment, or even as problem-solving, to a more holistic perspective that sees all aspects of behavior as related." It focuses on concepts of "peaceable school" and values of restorative justice. (Introduction)
---------------
TOPICS:
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

This book, written by a college student affairs administrator, presents information to assist any college or university in establishing restorative practices. It includes chapters on the principles of restorative justice, use in a model student conduct code, models of campus practice, identifying harms and needs, repairing harm, rebuilding trust, an implementation approach, and chapters on facilitating restorative justice training, and conferencing.
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Conferences / Conferencing |
Community - Community, Society, Politics |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education |
Victim - Victim-Offender, Victim Rights, Victimization, Survivor

This book, divided into two parts, establishes a theoretical basis for using games and activities to teach restorative justice practices and offers practical guidance on creation of restorative learning experiences. It includes help with facilitation and ideas for designing games to use in the restorative practice. (See Chapter Overviews (8)). It is divided into 8 chapters, topics include: Restorative Pedagogy; Experiential Learning and Restorative Justice; Building a Restorative Learning Community; Preparing to Teach; Designing an Experiential Activity for Teaching Restorative Practices; Designing an Activity-Based Class on Training; Games and Activities.
---------------
CONTENTS: Introduction -- Restorative pedagogy -- Experiential learning and restorative justice -- Building a restorative learning community -- Preparing to teach -- How to design an experiential activity for teaching restorative practices -- How to design an activity-based class or training -- Games and activities for your community
---------------
TOPICS:
Background / Theory - Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
Community - Community, Society, Politics |
General & Reference - Handbook |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

"Making Sense of Race in Education: Practices for Change in Difficult Times takes a fresh look at the perennial issue of race in American schools. How do educators, in all settings, confront the issue of race with students and colleagues, given the contemporary backdrop of social movements for racial justice and change? How do educators affect change within their everyday classroom practices without fostering further alienation and discord? Although much has already been written about race and racism in school, this book addresses racial incidents directly and offers practical insights into how P-20 educators can transform these events alongside students and colleagues. Each chapter provides detailed analysis of curriculum, instruction, practices and pedagogical strategies for addressing race while at the same time wrestling with theoretical conceptions of race, justice, and fairness." -- Provided by publisher
--See: Kimberly R. James, Runell J. King, and Jovan T. Thomas, Restorative Justice: The Alternative to Excessive Suspensions and Expulsions and the Zero-Tolerance Policy (187-203).
--Additional entry with E-BOOK available by searching title in Marqcat
---------------
TOPICS:
Background / Theory - Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
Race & Discrimination - Race, Racism, Racial Justice, Racial Violence |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

"See: S. A. Moore & R. C. Mitchell, Restorative Justice and Transdisciplinary Praxis: An Investigation in Ontario Schools and a Framework for Moving Forward in School Mental Health Promotion (3-29). "This chapter presents a thematic analysis of preliminary findings from a 2013 school-based restorative justice study in Ontario, Canada. The dataset included a systematic review of legal, policy documents, qualitative and quantitative results contributed by 300 participants from 60 schools in 14 rural and urban districts across southern Ontario..." (Introduction (3-4)
---------------
TOPICS:
Counseling, Psychology & Ethics - Psychological Aspects | Sociology / Social Science |
Foreign / International - Canada |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

This book addresses a number of key themes and developments in restorative justice, and is based on papers originally presented at the 6th International Conference on Restorative Justice in Vancouver. It is concerned with several new areas of practice within restorative justice, with sections on restorative justice and youth, aboriginal justice and restorative justice, victimization and restorative justice, and evaluating restorative justice. Contributors to the book are drawn from leading experts in the field from the UK, US, Europe, Canada, Australia and New Zealand
---------------
TOPICS:
Background / Theory - Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
Community - Restoration / Reconciliation |
Criminal Aspects - Crime (Law, Justice, Policing, Procedure) | Violence |
Educational - Conferences, Seminars, etc. |
Foreign / International - Australia | Canada | Great Britain / United Kingdom | New Zealand |
Indigenous - Aboriginal |
Reference - Research |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth | Schools / Education |
Victim - Trauma | Victim-Offender, Victim Rights, Victimization, Survivor

"This book addresses a number of key themes and developments in restorative justice, and is based on papers originally presented at the 6th International Conference on Restorative Justice in Vancouver. ... It is concerned with several new areas of practice within restorative justice." (Back cover) The book is divided into four parts: Youth and restorative justice; Aboriginal justice and restorative justice; Victimisation and restorative justice; & Evaluating restorative justice. Each chapter, or paper, is well researched each including its own bibliography.
--Also located at RAYNOR MEMORIAL LIBRARIES: HV8688 .I58 2005
---------------
TOPICS:
Background / Theory - Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
Community - Restoration / Reconciliation |
Criminal Aspects - Crime (Law, Justice, Policing, Procedure) | Violence |
Educational - Conferences, Seminars, etc. |
Foreign / International - Australia | Canada |
Indigenous - Aboriginal |
Reference - Research |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth | Schools / Education |
Victim - Trauma | Victim-Offender, Victim Rights, Victimization, Survivor

"Students want to be leaders and shine when adults empower them. When students are part of the solution, it is a win for the school community. Using the Peacekeeper Conference as a cornerstone, this program helps you give students wings to become compassionate facilitators of reconciliation through healing conversation. The Peacekeeper Program can run successfully at any education level within schools, faith-based organizations, and any youth-centered group. This manual provides tips on developing a Peacekeeper Program in your setting, including training topics with lesson plans and forms to keep you organized." --Publisher's website
---------------
TOPICS:
Peace - Peacebuilding, Peacekeeping, Peacemaking |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth | Schools / Education

See: Martha Brown and Katherine Evans, Change Your School, Change the World: The Role of School Leaders in Implementing Schoolwide Restorative Justice and Relational Pedagogies (43-62)

"This chapter is written with the hope of inspiring school leaders to create more just and equitable schools by implementing schoolwide restorative justice -- a reform capable of transforming schools into places where relationships are a priority and where all people in the school community are empowered to act in the best interests of themselves and each other." -- Introduction to ch.3, Martha Brown and Katherine Eveans, Change Your School, Change the World : the Role of School Leaders in Implementing Schoolwide Restorative Justice and Relational Pedagogies.
--Additional entry with E-BOOK available by searching title in Marqcat
---------------
TOPICS:
Community - Community, Society, Politics |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

"Domestic violence is commonly assumed to be a bipartisan, nonpolitical issue, with politicians of all stripes claiming to work to end family violence. Nevertheless, the Violence Against Women Act expired for over 500 days between 2012 and 2013 owing to differences between the U.S. Senate and House, demonstrating that legal protections for domestic abuse survivors are both highly political and highly vulnerable. Racial and gender politics, the move toward criminalization, reproductive justice concerns, gun control debates, and political interests are increasingly shaping responses to domestic violence, demonstrating the need for greater consideration of the interplay of politics, domestic violence, and how the law works in people's lives. [This book provides an] historical perspective on domestic violence responses in the United States. It grapples with the ways in which child welfare systems and civil and criminal justice responses intersect, and considers the different, overlapping ways in which survivors of domestic abuse are forced to cope with institutionalized discrimination based on race, gender, sexual orientation, and immigration status. The book also examines movement politics and the feminist movement with respect to domestic violence policies. The tensions discussed in this book, similar to those involved in the #metoo movement, include questions of accountability, reckoning, redemption, healing, and forgiveness. What is the future of feminism and the movements against gender-based violence and domestic violence? Readers are invited to question assumptions about how society and the legal system respond to intimate partner violence and to challenge the domestic violence field to move beyond old paradigms and contend with larger justice issues."-- Provided by publisher
--See ch. 7: Donna Coker, Feminist response to campus sexual assault in the Republican era : crime logic, intersectional public health, and restorative justice (171-201). This chapter explores background and statistics related to college / university campus sexual assault, as well as approaches, including restorative justice approaches to addressing this issue.
--Additional entry with E-BOOK available by searching title in Marqcat
---------------
TOPICS:
Criminal Aspects - Crime (Law, Justice, Policing, Procedure) | Domestic Violence / Abuse | Sexual Abuse / Offences / Violence / Rape |
Political aspects |
Race & Discrimination - Discrimination | Race, Racism, Racial Justice, Racial Violence |
Repentance - Repentance, Forgiveness, Apology, Atonement |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education |
Victim - Victim-Offender, Victim Rights, Victimization, Survivor

"Proven to reduce bad behaviour and exclusions, and encourage happier, safer school environments, restorative justice is an effective approach to conflict resolution. Suitable for education settings from preschool to college, this guide explains what restorative justice is, how it can be used in schools, what it looks like in the classroom and how it can be implemented. Featuring case studies that illuminate the underlying restorative principles and practices, this book covers a wide range of topics from the basics of restorative justice, through to school-wide processes for embedding the approach in policy and practice. Drawing on the expertise of educators and consultants, this is a must-have resource for any school or centre that is serious about reducing bad behaviour and developing safer learning communities." -- Back cover
--Additional entry with E-BOOK available by searching title in Marqcat
---------------
TOPICS:
Background / Theory - Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
Counseling, Psychology & Ethics - Psychological Aspects |
General & Reference - Case Studies / Stories |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

"This book is designed to help you navigate the unique challenges and joys of building and maintaining a healthy restorative ecosystem in your school. It is full of real-world guidance from RJ trainers, facilitators, and educators working around the country to bring about change. Traditional methods of discipline are commonly found to be ineffective, and this book shows how restorative justice and practices can provide a powerful alternative, vastly improving relationships and positive academic outcomes. Each chapter is packed with expertise on everything from carrying out the stages of a restorative circle to understanding the importance of conflict. The authors pull no punches in showing that this work is not always easy, but their passion for restorative justice shines out of every page, demonstrating just how valuable this approach can be in bringing the absolute best our of your students and school." -- Back cover.
--Additional entry with E-BOOK available by searching title in Marqcat
---------------
TOPICS:
Background / Theory - Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
General & Reference - Case Studies / Stories |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

--See ch. 6: Byron R. Johnson, How Religious Communities Become Proxy Families in Achieving Offender Rehabilitation and Restorative Justice (102-20).
---------------
TOPICS:
Community - Rehabilitation |
Cultural / Religious - Christian Protestant or not distinguished |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

"Restorative Circles in Schools: Building Community and Enhancing Learning is a practical guide to the use of circles in schools and other settings, as well as an in-depth exploration of circle processes. The book includes numerous stories about the way circles have been used in many diverse situations, discussion on the use of proactive, responsive and staff circles, and an overview of restorative practices, with particular emphasis on its relationship to circle processes.

This edition includes several new anecdotes and minor changes to style." --publisher's website
---------------
'Topics: ADR - Circles / Dialogue |
Community - Community, Society, Politics |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

"Restorative circles in schools is an in-depth guidebook on the use of the circle, an essential restorative practice for schools. the book includes a wealth of practical knowledge on circles, drawn from the experience of the International Institute for Restorative Practices, which has worked in a wide variety of settings worldwide. Stories from numerous educators illustrate the circle's use in diverse situations, including proactive circles for improving relationships and enhancing acadermics, responsive circles to solve problems and address conflict, and circles to address issues among faculty, staff and administratiors."--Back cover.
---------------
CONTENTS: Two stories -- Restorative practices -- Proactive circles -- Responsive circles -- Staff circles -- Afterword
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Circles / Dialogue / Listening |
Community - Community, Society, Politics |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

"This book is the culmination of four years of research, interviews, writing and outreach by Kerra Bolton, in service of helping entrepreneur and author Ted Wachtel develop a new social movement, Building A New Reality. It tells, in the context of her personal and professional struggles, the story of this unlikely collaboration that has launched a quiet revolution by conversation. Covering the Six Facets of today’s society and how they are successfully addressed by Restorative Practices, Bolton examines new ways of approaching the world’s political upheaval, civil strife, spiritual malaise and how it’s all playing out in a post-COVID world. Best of all, she provides case studies of how restorative communities large and small are taking back our society in a positive, productive and hopeful movement toward a more just and equitable life. It’s a much-needed, non-partisan message backed by empirical data and government- sanctioned experiments in direct democracy for every facet of modern life." -- Publisher's website
---------------
TOPICS:
Community - Community, Society, Politics |
Educational - Empirical Studies / Data |
General & Reference - Case Studies / Stories |
Political aspects |
Reference - Research

"This timely collection of chapters written by international experts bridges the gap between peace psychology and restorative justice. The Editors combined their respective fields of expertise to start a much-needed debate on the potential but also risks that are associated when implementing restorative justice in the peace psychology field. The volume highlights how psychological theory and research can inform and evaluate the potential of restorative practices in formal and informal educational settings as well as the criminal justice space. The chapters cover both negative and positive peace across levels while introducing the reader to various case studies from across the world. All in all, the book explores how restorative justice can promote positive peace through its connection fostering dialogue, empathy, forgiveness, and other key psychological elements of peace." -- Back cover
--Includes multiple chapters dealing with restorative practices in schools, as well as informal educational settings, and development of school-based restorative justice.
--Additional entry with E-BOOK available by searching title in Marqcat
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Dialogue |
Background / Theory - Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
Counseling, Psychology & Ethics - Psychological Aspects |
Criminal Aspects - Correctional - Prisons / Detention | Sexual Abuse / Offences / Violence / Rape |
Foreign / International - Tanzania |
General & Reference - Case Studies / Stories |
Peace - Peacebuilding, Peacekeeping, Peacemaking |
Reference - Research |
Repentance - Repentance, Forgiveness, Apology, Atonement |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth | Schools / Education |
Victim - Victim-Offender, Victim Rights, Victimization, Survivor

Restorative justice is a policy of rejecting traditional punishments in favor of group counseling involving both victims and perpetrators. The authors outline the philosophy of this policy and how it differs from retributive justice. They discuss the features of the aboriginal healing paradigm and provide the voices of those who have been victimized, as well as voices of those who have victimized others. Authors explore the meaning of community capacity building, the specific role of facilitating a restorative justice circle, and offer specific illustrations of restorative justice circles being integrated within the organizations of school systems, community agencies working with youth at risk, and whole neighborhoods.
---------------
CONTENTS: [Pt. 1] Roots and philosophy. Utu : bringing back the balance / interview with Te Ripowai Higgins -- If walls could talk / Randy Charboneau -- Exploring criminal justice & aboriginal healing paradigm / Rupert Ross -- History of conferencing -- [Pt. 2] Restorative justice in action: stories. Circles in schools -- Forgiveness & restorative justice / Janet Handy -- Journey of forgiveness / Rev. Dale Lang -- Education theory -- [Pt. 3] Restorative justice conferencing : how to & stories. Conferencing in schools -- Harassment in schools -- Towards a restorative curriculum -- Assault : a story -- Community building -- Creating community partnerships -- Bullying : a story -- Conferencing methodology : what is a family group conference? -- Restorative justice: a reflection / Angel Yuen -- Conference goals -- [Pt. 4] Role of the facilitator. Role of the facilitator -- [Pt. 5] Restorative Justice: Stories from the field. Restorative justice a Oolagen / Faye Forde -- Weapons : stories from a group home / Karen Jackson -- The five elements of transformation -- Facilitators checklist -- Sample script: the circle -- [Pt. 6] Restorative Justice : In organizations. Promoting organization change in YCJA / Kiaras Gharabaghi -- The shame chair / Rick Owens -- Working towards inclusion / Rick Owens -- [Pt. 7] Restorative Justice : The law. The Canadian Federal law : the Youth Criminal Justice Act (YCJA) -- Victim Offender Reconciliation Program / Russell Kelly -- [Pt. 8] Restorative Justice : Support and reference materials
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Circles / Dialogue / Listening | Conferences / Conferencing | Facilitator / Facilitation |
Background / Theory - Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
Community - Community, Society, Politics | Restoration / Reconciliation |
Cultural / Religious - Christian Protestant or not distinguished |
Counseling, Psychology & Ethics - Counseling |
Family - Family Law / Family Violence |
Foreign / International - Canada |
General & Reference - Case Studies / Stories |
Indigenous - Aboriginal |
Repentance - Repentance, Forgiveness, Apology, Atonement |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth | Bullying | Schools / Education |
Shame / Shaming |
Victim - Victim-Offender, Victim Rights, Victimization, Survivor

"Two books in one volume, Restorative Justice Conferencing combines (1) the official training manual that provides a step-by-step guide to setting up and conducting conferences and (2) actual conference stories to show how conferencing works and how it can change the way our society responds to wrongdoing in schools, criminal justice, the workplace and elsewhere." (Publisher's website)
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Conferences / Conferencing |
Educational - Conferences, Seminars, etc. |
General & Reference - Handbook |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education |
Workplace - Workplace, Corporate, Labor, Labour

"Through essays, case studies, and interviews, [this] book outlines for educators and teacher educators how restorative justice can be leveraged to teach across disciplines. Building on the success of Justice on Both Sides, this book consists of four sections that explore instructional practices in history, race, justice, and language. The contributors examine a variety of educational issues and questions for teachers to explore through a transformative justice lens. "-- from Publisher description
--Also located at RAYNOR MEMORIAL LIBRARIES: LB1025.3 .R48 2021
---------------
TOPICS:
General & Reference - Case Studies / Stories |
Race & Discrimination - Race, Racism, Racial Justice, Racial Violence |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education |
Transitional / Transformative Justice

"The unique contribution of this edited collection is twofold. Firstly, it aims to build a bridge between the restorative justice world in the East with that of the West. Despite the many articles, books and commentaries on restorative justice, a huge gap remains in bringing knowledge from these two sides of world. The consequences of this failure are multiple including Western scholars and newcomers to restorative justice believing that the concept owes its existence and development to the West. As this volume demonstrates, this is far from true. Persian, Asian and Hindu civilisations are far more rooted in history and restorative culture, than some modern Western traditions of justice. But this book is not about competing who owns restorative justice. In fact, its aims are rather opposite. The volume demonstrates how similar the theoretical and practical experiences are in the two sides of the world. It also presents us with evidence of what works in policy, research and practice, allowing us to make comparisons for the future." -- Introduction (13)
---------------
TOPICS:
Background / Theory - General - Overview | Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
Criminal Abuse - Sexual Abuse / Offences / Violence / Rape | Family Violence |
Cultural / Religious - Hinduism |
Family - Family Law / Family ViolenceFamily |
Foreign / International - Asia | Europe | Great Britain / United Kingdom | Hong Kong | Papua New Guinea | Poland | Singapore | South Korea |
Reference - Research |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth | Schools / Education

This book provides practical discussion and guidance for incorportion of RJ in an educational environment and especially the English language curriculum. See in particular, ch. 2: Restorative Justice in Educative Spaces (11-43). The appendixes provide practical elements that can be incorporated in developing Circles. Appendix 1 presents sample prompting questions and topics for Circles. Appendix 2 focuses on exploration within the Circle, including questions that promote focus, and develop depth and change. Appendix 3 provides a sample Circle preparation sheet and Appendix 4 provides instruction for using the Circle preparation sheet. This book includes an annotated bibliography and references.
--Additional entry with E-BOOK available by searching title in Marqcat
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Circles / Dialogue / Listening |
Community - Community, Society, Politics | Restoration / Reconciliation |
Race & Discrimination - Race, Racism, Racial Justice, Racial Violence |
Reference - Research |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth | Schools / Education

"In this textbook, Clifford Dorne does a wonderful job of helping the reader understand the current range in paradigms of [American] justice, the dominant role of the current criminal system, and the growing momentum of a widely diverse restorative justice movement... He has developed a strong case that restorative justice theory and practices provide hope at a critical time when our juvenile and criminal justice systems are in need of being re-invented." --Back cover

See ch.6: Theoretical and cultural roots of restorative justice in the United States (159-212)
---------------
TOPICS: Background / Theory - Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
Community - Community, Society, Politics |
Criminal Aspects - Correctional - Prisons / Detention | Courts / Juries | Crime (Law, Justice, Policing, Procedure) |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth | Schools / Education"

"The school-to-prison pipeline is often the path for marginalized students, particularly black males, who are three times as likely to be suspended as White students. This volume provides an ethnographic portrait of how educators can implement restorative justice to build positive school cultures and address disciplinary problems in a more corrective and less punitive manner. Looking at the school-to-prison pipeline in a historical context, it analyzes current issues facing schools and communities and ways that restorative justice can improve behavior and academic achievement. By practicing critical restorative justice, educators can reduce the domino effect between suspension and incarceration and foster a more inclusive school climate." --Front page
--Also located at RAYNOR MEMORIAL LIBRARIES: LC5131 .W33 2016
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Circles / Dialogue / Listening |
Community - Community, Society, Politics |
Race & Discrimination - Race, Racism, Racial Justice, Racial Violence |
Reference - Research |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth | School-to-Prison Pipeline | Schools / Education

This book provides discussion of Restorative Justice in the college environment, including alternating chapters of discussion and case studies. Topics covered include: Integrity Boards, Restorative Conferencing, Mediation in the campus community, Alcohol use, Academic integrity, Fraternity and sorority culture and hazing, Athletics, Hate Crimes and Bias-motivated harassment, and Sexual assault / victimization. Each chapter includes a considerable number of references for further study.
--Also located at RAYNOR MEMORIAL LIBRARIES: LB2344 .R47 2004
--Also available as E-BOOK
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Conferences / Conferencing | Dialogue | Mediation / Mediator |
Community - Reparation / Compensation |
Criminal Aspects - Hate Crimes | Sexual Abuse / Offences / Violence / Rape |
General & Reference - Case Studies / Stories |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education |
Victim - Victim-Offender, Victim Rights, Victimization, Survivor

---------------
CONTENTS: Foreword -- Preface -- Overview: introduction to restorative justice -- Restorative justice : definition and purpose / Lorenn Walker -- Reflections from a descendant of the Minnesota restitution center (mrc) / Kay Pranis -- Preparing students of criminal justice for restorative justice practice / Rudi Kauffman and Heather Koontz -- Restorative justice and therapeutic jurisprudence : all in the family / David Wexler -- Prevention programs and community practice -- Restorative justice for victims without offender participation / Lorenn Walker -- A story of the emergence of restorative practice in schools in Australia and New Zealand : reflect, repair, reconnect / Margaret Thorsborne -- Restorative justice for juvenile delinquents in Hong Kong and China / Dennis S.W. Wong -- Youth justice and restorative justice in Norway / Ida Hydle -- Beyond policy : conferencing on student misbehavior / Lorenn Walker -- Family group conferences in youth justice and child welfare in Vermont / Gale Burford -- Pretrial: before or after arrest-diversion programs -- Restorative and diversionary responses to youth offending in New Zealand / Gabrielle Maxwell -- Community members : vital voices to the restorative justice process / Mona Schatz -- Removing the cloak of secrecy from interpersonal violence / Anne Hayden and Katherine van Wormer -- Clergy child sexual abuse : the restorative justice option / Theo Gavrielides -- In correctional and reentry programs -- "Hate left me that day" : victim offender dialogue in Vermont / Amy Holloway and Gale Burford -- Brazil's restorative prisons / Lorenn Walker, Andrew Johnson, and Katherine van Wormer -- Huikahi restorative circles : a public health approach for reentry planning / Lorenn Walker and Rebecca Greening, J.D -- Restorative celebrations for parolee and probationer completion : the importance of ritual for reentry / Lorenn Walker -- Community restoration and reparation -- Restorative interventions for postwar nations / Carl Stauffer -- Truth and reconciliation commissions and transitional justice in restorative justice context / David Androff -- Restorative justice almost 50 years later : japanese american redress for exclusion, restriction, and incarceration / Rita Takahashi -- Speaking earth : environmental restoration and restorative justice / Fred H. Besthorn -- Appendix -- Important resources -- Bibliographies
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Circles / Dialogue | Conferences / Conferencing | Dialogue |
Background / Theory - Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
Community - Community, Society, Politics | Reparation / Compensation | Restoration / Reconciliation |
Criminal Aspects - Correctional - Prisons / Detention | Crime (Law, Justice, Policing, Procedure) | Probation / Probation Boards / Parole | Sexual Abuse / Offences / Violence / Rape |
Cultural / Religious - Catholic Church | Christian Protestant or not distinguished | Clergy |
Educational - Law School - Legal Education |
Family - Family Law / Family Violence |
Foreign / International - Australia | Brazil | China | Hong Kong | Japan | New Zealand | Norway |
International Aspects - International Tribunal | War, War Crimes, Wartime, Postwar |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth | Schools / Education |
Transitional / Transformative Justice |
Victim - Victim-Offender, Victim Rights, Victimization, Survivor

"Learn how to implement a restorative justice approach that reduces suspension and expulsion rates, without compromising school safety and classroom order. Author Dr. Zachary Scott Robbins, who has turned around schools in Boston, Massachusetts and Las Vegas, Nevada explores the assumptions that underpin school policies that lead to high rates of suspensions and expulsions, especially for African-American students. He shares his experiences using Restorative Justice Tribunals and Restorative Justice Circles, which strike an effective balance between serving consequences students who misbehave and providing them with therapeutic wraparound supports. This powerful book will help school leaders avoid discriminating based on race, national origin, or disability; will improve school climate; and will help teachers spend less time on discipline, so they can have more time for instruction and preparing students to graduate"-- Provided by publisher
--Additional entry with E-BOOK available by searching title in Marqcat
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Circles / Dialogue / Listening |
Race & Discrimination - Race, Racism, Racial Justice, Racial Violence |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

"Through eight compelling stories of restorative literacies, Wolter explores the complex relationships among cognition, metacognition, identity, behavior in schools, and literacies. Based on the principles of restorative justice, restorative literacies are designed to help educators repair harm, restore relationships, and expand the concept of literacy for some of our most disenfranchised and disengaged students. Restorative literacies are not just about growing readers and writers per se. They are about creating a community of care that involves students, teachers, administrators, and families so that all students experience racially, culturally, linguistically, and economically responsive instruction in multiple forms of literacies." --ProQuest Description.
---------------
CONTENTS: Preface: Everyone Has a Story -- What Are Restorative Literacies? -- Noticing the Language of Stories -- Compassionate Listening -- Thinking About Literacies -- Restoring Relationships -- Repairing Harm -- Strengthening Learning With Agency -- Developing Leadership and Sustainability -- Recognizing Literacies and Identities – Conclusion: Restorative Literacies and Restorative Care
---------------
TOPICS:
Community - Community, Society, Politics |
Race & Discrimination - Race, Racism, Racial Justice, Racial Violence |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

This book seeks to "[build] bridges between restorative social justice concepts and the day-to-day work of practicing education in schools." (Preface viii). "This … volume … examines current realities of urban schools. … [Rooted] in social justice and restorative practices, ... [it] offers ... practices for ... students who are "at-promise" of minimal academic success." (Introduction, xiv). The book is divided into 11 chapters, each including a significant bibliography.
--Also available as E-BOOK
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Circles / Dialogue / Listening |
Community - Community, Society, Politics |
Educational - Empirical Studies / Data |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

"The Restorative Practices Handbook is a practical guide for educators interested in implementing restorative practices, an approach that proactively builds positive school communities while dramatically reducing discipline referrals, suspensions and expulsions. The handbook discusses the spectrum of restorative techniques, offers implementation guidelines, explains how and why the processes work, and relates real-world stories of restorative practices in action." -- Publisher's website
---------------
TOPICS:
General & Reference - Handbook |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

This practical book "provide[s] readers with practical tools to encourage a sense of belinging and to foster connectedness among school community members." It is intended to provide practices and methods to "emphasize growth, development, and learning" as opposed to "isolation and punishment". (Foreword). Includes bibliography and index.
---------------
TOPICS:
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

"Bullying, violence and alienation are major problems in schools. Brenda Morrison shows they are connected to many other problems such as youth suicide and crime. The research evidence in this book also suggests bullying and violence is preventable. ... This book represents educational innovation in the philosophy of restorative justice ... The contribution of this book occurs both at the level of how to better meet the individual needs of students and how to transform institutions to accomplish this. It is path-breaking in illuminating the hopes and hazards of the journey to building safe schools and communities." -- Foreword (quoting Professor John Braithwaite, Australian National University)
---------------
CONTENTS: Safe school communities -- Bullying, violence and alienation -- Alienation, shame and humiliation -- Beyond ignorance, band-aids and zero tolerance -- Restorative justice -- Responsive regulation -- Practising restorative justice in schools: the evidence -- Responsive implementation, sustainability and development: a restorative framework -- Refelctions and revelations on being responsive and restorative
---------------
TOPICS:
Background / Theory - Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
Criminal Aspects - Violence |
Reference - Research |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth | Bullying | Schools / Education |
Shame / Shaming

"This up-to-date resource on restorative justice theory and practice is the literature's most comprehensive and authoritative review of original research in new and contested areas. Bringing together contributors from across a range of jurisdictions, disciplines and legal traditions, this edited collection provides a concise, but critical review of existing theory and practice in restorative justice. Authors identify key developments, theoretical arguments and new empirical evidence, evaluating their merits and demerits, before turning the reader's attention to further concerns informing and improving the future of restorative justice. Divided into four parts, the Handbook includes papers written by leading scholars on new theory, empirical evidence of implementation, critiques and the future of restorative justice. This companion is essential reading for scholars of restorative justice, criminology, social theory, psychology, law, human rights and criminal justice, as well as researchers, policymakers, practitioners and campaigners from around the world." --back cover

Consisting of 31 chapters by noted experts on Restorative Justice, this book is divided into four parts: Part I. Restorative justice theory: the next steps, Part II. Restorative justice practice: the evidence, Part III. Thinking critically about restorative justice, and Part IV. The future of restorative justice. Each chapter includes a significant bibliography.
--Additional entry with E-BOOK available by searching title in Marqcat
---------------
CONTENTS: The future of restorative justice / John Braithwaite -- Looking at the past of restorative justice : normative reflections on its future / Carolyn Boyes-Watson -- Pushing the theoretical boundaries of restorative justice : non-sovereign justice in radical political and social theories / Giuseppe Maglione -- Human rights and restorative justice / Ann Skelton -- Beyond restorative justice : social justice as a new objective for criminal justice / Nestor E. Courakis and Theo Gavrielides -- Returning to indigenous traditions of peacemaking, peacebuilding, and peacekeeping : from Jirga (TDR) to restorative justice (ADR) in Pakistan / Ali Gohar -- Finding a normative place for a recast restorative principle of peacekeeping : peacemaking and conflict responses in a threefold typology of temporal focus, level of formality and locus of conflict : with an application to Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet / Robert E. Mackay -- Recovery and restorative justice : systems for generating social justice / Anna Kawalek, Michael Edwards and David Best -- Victims and offenders' perceptions and experiences of restorative justice : the evidence from London, UK / Theo Gavrielides -- Victims and restorative justice : bringing theory and evidence together / Arthur Hartmann -- Restorative justice and child sexual abuse / Karen J. Terry -- Complex cases of restorative justice after serious crime : creating and enabling spaces for those with disability / Jane Bolitho -- Restorative policing for the 21st century : historical lessons for future practice / Kerry Clamp -- Restorative justice and gender differences in intimate partner violence : the evidence / Anne Hayden -- Evaluating the success of restorative justice conferencing : a values-based approach / Jonathan Doak and David O'Mahony -- Introducing restorative practice in healthcare settings / Janine Carroll and Dan Reisel -- Traffic congestion and road rage : a restorative case study to road sharing / Marian Liebmann -- Restorative justice in universities : case studies of what works with restorative responses to student misconduct / David R. Karp and Megan Schachter -- Restorative justice re-entry planning for the imprisoned : an evidence-based approach to recidivism reduction / Lorenn Walker and Janet Davidson -- Architecture and restorative justice : designing with values and well-being in mind / Barb Toews -- Restorative justice in Chinese communities : cultural-specific skills and challenges / Dennis S.W. Wong and Wendy C.Y. Lui -- Is changing lenses possible? : the Chilean case study of integrating restorative justice into a hierarchical criminal justice system / Isabel Ximena González Ramírez -- Is restorative justice possible through the eyes of lay people? : a Polish evidence-based case study / Anna Matczak -- Restorative justice as a colonial project in the disempowerment of indigenous peoples / Juan Marcellus Tauri -- Does restorative justice reduce recidivism? : assessing evidence and claims about restorative justice and reoffending / Ellie Piggott and William Wood -- Restorative justice compared to what? / Annalise Acorn -- Restorative justice and the therapeutic tradition : looking into the future / Gerry Johnstone -- True representation : the implications of restorative practices for the future of democracy / Ted Wachtel -- The best is yet to come : unlocking the true potential of restorative practice / Terry O'Connell -- The new generation of restorative justice / Carl Stauffer and Johonna Turner -- Transforming powers and restorative justice / George Pavlich -- Extending the reach of restorative justice / Martin Wright -- Epilogue: Restorative justice with care and responsibility : new directions in restorative justice theory, practice and critical thinking / Theo Gavrielides
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Conferences / Conferencing |
Background / Theory - General - Overview | Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
Community - Rehabilitation |
Counseling, Psychology & Ethics - Psychological Aspects |
Criminal Aspects - Correctional - Prisons / Detention | Crime (Law, Justice, Policing, Procedure) | Recidivism / Reoffending | Sexual Abuse / Offences / Violence / Rape |
Educational - Empirical Studies / Data |
Foreign / International - Chile | China | Great Britain / United Kingdom | Pakistan | Poland |
General & Reference - Case Studies / Stories | Handbook |
Indigenous - Aboriginal |
International Aspects - Human Rights |
Peace - Peacebuilding, Peacekeeping, Peacemaking |
Political aspects |
Reference - Research |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education |
Victim - Victim-Offender, Victim Rights, Victimization, Survivor

This book discusses conflict resolution, peer mediation, & development peer mediation programs in schools.
---------------
CONTENTS: Pt. 1. The fundamentals of conflict, conflict resolution, and peer mediation. Conflict and conflict resolution -- Conflict resolution at school -- Peer mediation -- Pt. 2. Implementing a peer mediation program. Securing initial support -- Program design and planning -- Training and outreach -- Mediating cases -- Mediator meetings and program maintenance -- Pt. 3. Tools. Peer mediation session transcripts -- Twelve conflict resolution lessons -- Program forms
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Mediation / Mediator |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

This book is based on development of competent learning environments for students of color in K-12 and post-secondary classrooms. (Foreword). See ch.3: Cierra Presberry & Terry K. Flennaugh, Race and restorative Justice in Urban Schools (58-75) which focuses on the negative impact of suspensions and the alternative option of incorporating Restorative Justice as a means of reparation and rehabilitation. This chapter presents "guiding frameworks and practices centered on restorative justice with students of color in urban schools." (Overview (58))
--Additional entry with E-BOOK available by searching title in Marqcat
---------------
TOPICS:
Community - Rehabilitation | Reparation / Compensation |
Race & Discrimination - Race, Racism, Racial Justice, Racial Violence |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

"This book explores the implementation of restorative practices within the classroom, as either a partial or a school-wide approach. It also emphasizes inclusive and collaborative ways to manage issues of school safety, school conflicts, and incidents of violence"-- Provided by publisher
---------------
CONTENTS: Introduction to restorative justice -- Doing with, not to or for -- Building relationships at school -- Student development -- Staff development -- Challenges of restorative practices in schools -- Future implications for restorative practices in schools -- Emerging research and opportunities : restorative practices beyond schools
---------------
TOPICS:
Criminal Aspects - Violence |
Reference - Research |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

See ch. 8: David Wilkins, Distant Historical Wrongs, Truth Telling and Restorative Justice: Exploring Schools and Museums as Potential Vehicles for Repairing Historical Wrongs (141-60).

"[This chapter] argues that schools and museums can act as sites for historical truth telling, dialogue and relational repair. ... [It] offers a model of repair for the legacies of transatlantic slavery that is superior to financial reparations ... [and] it examines why relational and attitudinal repair is so important for repairing legacies of transatlantic slavery. [It also] explores the idea of relational repair and truth telling, commencing with the basic principles of restorative justice, transitional justice and truth commissions, before considering how such ideas have been adapted in museum exhibitions and educational curricula. ... [It discusses] the potential insights that processes of restorative justice utilised in transitional justice settings can offer to the repair of legacies of transatlantic slavery." (ch. 8 Introduction & Conclusion)
---------------
TOPICS:
ADR - Dialogue |
Community - Reparation / Compensation |
Criminal Aspects - Violence |
Foreign / International - Bosnia / Herzegovina | South Africa |
International Aspects - Human Rights | International Tribunal | Truth & Reconciliation | War, War Crimes, Wartime, Postwar |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education |
Transitional / Transformative Justice |
Victim - Victim-Offender, Victim Rights, Victimization, Survivor

"Written by experienced practitioners, Using an Inclusive Approach to Reduce School Exclusion encourages a proactive approach to reducing exclusion through relatable scenarios and case studies. An essential toolkit to support the development of inclusive practice and reduce exclusion, this book is an invaluable resource for SENCOs, middle and senior leaders." (Abstract) Divided into 5 parts (22 chapters), this book provides a "wealth of targeted and individual strategies and programmes and the unique approach to guiding the practitioner with a framework of questions to use when gaining an understanding of such interventions and how to implement them in the school context." (Foreword)
---------------
CONTENTS: Introduction -- Background Context to Exclusion -- Informal and Internal Exclusion -- Impact of Exclusion -- Definitions of Inclusion -- Theoretical Framework for an inclusive approach – Challenges -- Approaches for Leading Inclusive Practice -- Effective Inclusive Partnerships -- Speech, Language and Communication Skills -- Social Communication Skills -- Emotional Literacy -- Thinking about the Sensory Environment – Transition -- Nurture Groups – Thrive -- Restorative Justice -- Emotion Coaching -- Therapeutic Approaches -- Staff wellbeing -- Framework for Reflection -- Conclusion
---------------
See pt.III, ch.9: Tristan Middleton, Lynda Kay, Restorative Justice (168-72)
---------------
TOPICS:
Background / Theory - Theory / Theoretical Aspects / Background / Philosophical Issues |
Foreign / International - England |
General & Reference - Case Studies / Stories | Handbook |
Reference - Research |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

Created for use in schools, this comic follows the story of Jake and Ryan's playground conflict and its eventual resolution through a restorative meeting with their teacher. Jake and Ryan's story teaches children aged 8-13 the principles and benefits of restorative justice. A resource section for teachers is also included
---------------
TOPICS:
General & Reference - Case Studies / Stories |
Schools & Youth - Schools / Education

This book focuses on racial elements of the school-to-prison pipeline, racial justice organizing, criminalization, nationalization of community organizing and social justice movements. It also focusts on prevention of the school-to-prison pipeline through community organizing in Mississippi and through challenging criminalization in Los Angeles. It discusses youth-led organizing in Chicago, expansion of organizing in small cities and suburbs. It culminates with a chapter on police-free schools, Black girls matter, and restorative justice. Each of the 8 chapters is well footnoted.
---------------
CONTENTS: Introduction: Confronting the School-to-Prison Pipeline: Journeys to Racial Justice Organizing -- The School-to-Prison Pipeline: Criminalization as Racial Domination and Control -- Nationalizing local struggles: Community Organizing and Social Justice Movements -- There is no national without the local: Building a National Movement Grounded in Local Organizing -- The Prevention of Schoolhouse to Jailhouse: Intergenerational Community Organizing in Mississippi -- Challenging Criminalization in Los Angeles: Building a Broad and Deep Movement to End the School to-Prison Pipeline -- From the Local to the State: Youth-led Organizing in Chicago -- The Movement Spreads: Organizing in Small Cities, Suburbs and the South -- The Movement Expands: Police-Free Schools, Black Girls Matter and restorative Justice -- Conclusion: Organizing and Movement-Building for Racial and Educational justice
---------------
TOPICS:
Community - Community, Society, Politics |
Criminal Aspects - Crime (Law, Justice, Policing, Procedure) |
Race & Discrimination - Race, Racism, Racial Justice, Racial Violence |
Schools & Youth - Juvenile / Youth | School-to-Prison Pipeline | Schools / Education