Treatises are a book-length or multi-volume work providing an excellent place to begin a legal research project. They typically provide both textual treatment and citation of authoritative cases and legislation. Below are listed a few of the leading treatises on Sports Law that can be found in the collection. Links will be tied to the bibliographic record on each. Eckstein Library's catalog known as MARQCAT can be a useful tool for locating other general works and treatises on Sports Law. Note the quick links to additional search features of MARQCAT and a library map to locate call numbers in the boxes below. The BLASE Library on HeinOnline also has an extensive collection of books related to Sports Law which can be browsed here as well as a bibliography of historic and general works on sports.
Provides information on the most relevant legal materials of international concern and regulations by individual countries.
A one-volume treatise that provides a practical guide to the legal aspects of sports and recreational activities. Also on Westlaw
A two-volume treatise providing coverage of sports law including practice guidance, contractual analysis, sample forms, checklists, and examples.
A leading treatise on entertainment law, mass communications, and the arts. Includes forms and guidance for drafting agreements. The treatise is also available on Westlaw
A "complete reference for business attorneys who structure entertainment deals, negotiate contracts or litigate disputes involving the entertainment industry."
Covers critical developments in law and U.S. sports. Also covers key historical events in sports law and looks towards possible legal controversies in the future.
Discusses the laws that govern the sports industry, from contract drafting and negotiation to antitrust issues, intellectual property matters, and labor law concerns. Also discusses the role of players' associations, the power of sports commissioners, sports betting regulations, and more.
Looks at major court cases, statutes, and regulations that explore a variety of legal issues in the sports industry. The early chapters provide an overview of sports law in general terms and explore its impact on race, politics, religion, and everyday affairs. Later chapters address hot button issues such as gender equity, drug testing, and discrimination.
Plain-language discussion of a wide range of legal issues associated with sports.
Published by the ABA, this book discusses legal issues surrounding physical fitness centers, liability for sports accidents, etc.
Evaluates the connections between intellectual property and the sports and entertainment industries, covering everything from copyrights and patents to trademarked logos and marketing strategies.
A popular study guide which simplifies the complex world of sports law and is updated to provide the latest legal developments.