Alternative Dispute Resolution: Handbooks and Treatises

Focuses on realigning parties' commercial interests; includes guides for transactional drafting.

From the ABA, Section of Dispute Resolution. Author outlines the process of successful public policy mediation.

Focuses on dispute resolution strategies for worker co-operatives in three different industries: coal mining, taxicab driving, and organic food distribution.

From the National Consumer Law Center.

Provides overview of online dispute resolution (ODR) for managing e-commerce conflicts. Includes key court and administrative decision excerpts.

Comprehensive treatment of the foundational processes of dispute resolution: negotiation, mediation, and arbitration; presents material for practice and analysis.

Part of a popular series to prepare law students for class or review for exams.

From the ABA, Section of Family Law. Includes state laws and professional responsibilities of attorneys arbitrators.

Comprehensive treatise on labor arbitration. Includes citations to recent arbitration awards, judicial decisions, administrative agency regulations and opinions, and federal and state legislation.

Includes chapter on the complexity in client relationships, identifying client issues and objectives, and explaining the options.

Describes mediation models currently in use; provides material and instruction for the skilled mediator; and explores the uses of mediation in a variety of contexts.

Mediation through popular culture lenses. Includes national and international research.

Focuses on the classic models of negotiation: preparing for and conducting integrative and distributive bargaining. Discusses interpersonal skills required to negotiate as well as barriers to reaching agreements.

Comprehensive negotiation reference, including best practices for practicing lawyers.

A two volume resource for practitioners, teachers and students concerned with conflict resolution.

Comprehensive reference work that summarize ideas and research from a multitude of perspectives.

In-depth analysis and overview of online dispute resolution (ODR) systems. Includes ODR initiatives in North America, Europe, Asia, Australia, Africa, and Latin America.

Explores the events that led to the enactment of modern arbitration laws during the 1920s, and explains why these laws radically changed during this period.

From the ABA, Section of Litigation. For legal disputes that typically involve a claim for damages. Provides step-by-step advice for the entire mediation process.

Offers different negotiation strategies for the academic environment and situations where each strategy may be most useful.