ResearchGuides: Finding General Legal Explanations and Definitions: International

Finding International Legal Encylopedias and Dictionaries

Not sure where to find something in the Eckstein Law Library? The Reference collection is housed on the First Floor and other KZ materials are located on the Third Floor.

Eckstein Law Library Map

View Library Map

Featured Databases

Foreign Law Guide
A collection of legal research guides for over 190 foreign jurisdictions. Guides provide background on legal systems, sources of law, and the availability of English language translations of primary sources of law and secondary materials. Access restricted to faculty and students of MULS and on-site patrons of the law library.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL)
Available online through the Marquette University Law School Library website, this database provides updated and searchable access to the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) entries in print. It is arranged alphabetically and offers options to view by subject matter or author.

Select Print Resources

Dictionary of international and comparative law by James R. Fox
Call Number: Law Reference KZ1161 .F69 2003
ISBN: 0379215012
Encyclopedia of public international law by Under the direction of Rudolf Bernhardt ; assistant general editor, Peter Macalister-Smith
Call Number: KZ4968 .E54
ISBN: 0444862447
International law: A dictionary by Boleslaw A. Boczek
Call Number: Law Reference KZ1161 .B63 2005
ISBN: 0810850788
Parry & Grant Encyclopaedic dictionary of international law by John P. Grant, J. Craig Barker, eds.
Call Number: Law Reference KZ1160 .P33 2009
ISBN: 9780195389777