Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
are available to assist you
In Person: 1st Floor Reference Desk
Email: via web form
Hours: Library Service Hours
STATE CASE LAW
Cases regarding Native American Indian tribes and issues that were filed in the various state courts may be found by locating and searching the website for the state court in question - if the court in question has an online presence. State court systems differ from state to state, so individual results may vary. One site listing all the states with links to the states' courts is the Cornell Legal Information Institute (LII).
Legal issues involving Native American Indian Tribes and surrounding issues are most frequently associated with federal law. However, state laws and regulations may impact tribes. State governments do not have authority over Indian tribes, unless authorized by Congress, and may regulate only on matters that do not affect tribal interests. Tribal governments are not subservient to state governments and may enact their own laws. Current interactions between Indian tribes and states are non-controversial and signal cooperation between the two, for state and tribal governments often work on issues affecting state-tribal relations, including environmental protection, taxation and trust land issues.
Indian Law Bulletins by
Provides timely information about new developments in Indian law, including state court cases.
Indian Law Reporter
Call Number: KF8203.4 .I53
Publication Date: 1974-
Reports cases from federal, state and tribal courts as well as administrative agencies.
Native American Law Digest
Call Number: KF8203.1 .N38
Publication Date: 1997-
Library has volumes 7-18, 1997-2008.
Summarizes federal, state and tribal court decisions.
Lexis (username and password required)
18 USC 1162 by
This title and section of the United States Code, "State jurisdiction over offenses committed by or against Indians in the Indian country," is the codified Public Law 280.
To locate states codes or statutes, check the individual state's government website. Online databases can also be checked for state codes or statutes.
Database of State-Tribal Legislation by
State legislatures consider legislation that may affect tribes in their states. The searchable database provides introduced, pending and enacted legislation for the current legislative session. Individual states or all states can be searched for any topic or selected topics.
State-Recognized Indian Tribes by
Tribes considered "state recognized" are recognized by individual states, usually through the state legislature or a state commission. Some state-recognized tribes are also federally-recognized. State recognition acknowledges the tribe's existence and provides eligibility for some benefits, though fewer benefits than federally-recognized tribes.
Handbook of Federal Indian Law by
Call Number: KF8205 .C6 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Chapter 6. "Tribal/State Relationship" examines the relationship between tribes and states, focusing on the legal principles and the reach of tribal and state governing power.
Tribal State Relations by
The Tribal State Relations page of the Tribal Court Clearinghouse's website provides links to information addressing efforts to improve state-tribal relations.
States and Tribes: Building New Traditions by
Call Number: E93 .S8 1995
Publication Date: 1995
This book is a "broad examination of the condition of state-tribal relations and opportunities for mutually beneficial cooperation as the 21st century approaches, from a state legislative policy perspective." Prepared at the direction of the National Conference of State Legislatures Task Force on State-Tribal Relations