Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Native American Indian Law Research Guide: Tribes

This guide provides an overview of selected Native American Indian law materials available at the Marquette University Eckstein Law Library and selected online materials pertaining to Native American Indian law.


MARQCAT - Search library

Eckstein Law Library Map

Need Help?

Reference librarians

are available to assist you

In Person:  1st Floor Reference Desk

Phone:       414-288-3837

Email:        via web form

Hours:        Library Service Hours


As of October 1, 2010, there are 565 federally recognized Native American Indian tribes eligible to receive services from the United States Department of the Interior Bureau of Indian Affairs. 

Federally Recognized Indian Tribes / National Congress of American Indians

Tribes can be accessed by location (area of the United States) and alphabetically by tribal name.

Tribal Leaders Directory / United States Department of the Interior, Bureau of Indian Affairs

The Tribal Leaders Directory provides name, address, phone, and fax number for each of the 565 Federally-recognized Tribes.  If the tribe has provided an email address or website address to the BIA, that information will also be listed.  Each tribe is listed in three sections: the BIA region that provides services to them, the state where they are located, and in alphabetical order.  The Directory also provides information on the BIA Regions and agency offices.