Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
are available to assist you
In Person: 1st Floor Reference Desk
Email: via web form
Hours: Library Service Hours
Federal Judicial Resources
Resources on federal Native American Indian law include case law. Marquette University Eckstein Law Library's collection includes books on Indian law cases as well as digests and reporters. In addition, online databases such as Lexis and Westlaw (username and password required) provide access to federal case law.
Federal Indian law cases pertain to the legal relationship between Indian tribes and the United States. Indian law cases may involve a wide variety of issues including, but not limited to, real property, constitutional law, water law, federal jurisdiction, contracts and criminal law.
For tribal court and case resources, please select the Tribal Resources tab of this research guide and then select Tribal Courts.
American Indian Law: Cases and Materials by
Call Number: KF8205 .P69 1991
Publication Date: 1991; 1994 supplement
Third edition of Law and the American Indian. The casebook includes a table of cases of principal cases and other cases cited or discussed.
Cases and Materials on Federal Indian Law by
Call Number: KF8204.5 G47 1998
Publication Date: 1998
The book begins with an introduction to Indian law and the history of federal Indian law and policy.Then federal Indian law is examined from a more contemporary perspective. The casebook proceeds from the foundation cases in Indian law to a trend of Supreme Court decisions that depart from the foundation cases. Cases are organized to illustrate that trend from the more traditional. Includes a table of cases.
The Cherokee Cases: Two Landmark Federal Decisions in the Fight for Sovereignty by
Call Number: KF9208 .N67 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Examines two landmark US Supreme Court cases of the 1830s: Cherokee Nation v. Georgia and Worcester v. Georgia. The author details the story of how the leaders of the Cherokee Nation tested their sovereignty rights before Chief Justice John Marshall. The cases are central to the establishment of US federal Indian law.
Digest of American Indian Law: Cases and Chronology by
Call Number: KF8204.5 .H65 1990
Publication Date: 1990
The digest presents summaries of what the author selects as the most important and revealing Indian law cases. It is intended to be a sourcebook of the basic facts and holdings of the cases.
Digest of Decisions Relating to Indian Affairs [electronic resource] by
Publication Date: 1901
Connect online via The Making of Modern Law. (MOML) from catalog record
Digest of court decisions (federal, state, territorial), opinions of the attorney general and Interior Department decisions is a source of judicial thought on Indian law during the 19th century.
Federal Claims Reporter
Call Number: KF125 .C5 U56 1992-
Publication Date: 1992-
The Reporter includes the cases decided in the US Court of Federal Claims and decisions of the US Court of Appeals, Federal Circuit and Supreme Court of the United States in review.
Call Number: KF105 .F43
Publication Date: 1880-
The Federal Reporter covers cases argued and determined in the Circuit Courts of Appeals of the United States and the Court of Appeals of the District of Columbia.
Call Number: KF120 .F422 (2d series)
Publication Date: 1933-1998 (1st series); 1998- (2d series)
The Federal Supplement covers cases argued and determined in the United States District Courts, United States Court of International Trade, and rulings of the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation.
Indian Law News Bulletins by
Indian Law News Bulletins provide timely information about new developments in Indian law, including federal court cases. Includes links to current and archived US Supreme Court cases, Federal Court cases, Tribal Court cases, State Court Cases, US Regulatory Information, US Legislation, News & Law Review / Bar Journal Articles.
The Indian Law Legacy of Thurgold Marshall by
Call Number: KF8745 .M34 K56 2014
Publication Date: 2014
this work is an examination of Thurgood Marshall's published opinions in cases involving Indian law (1970-1987). The author concludes that the principles of social justice and supremacy of federal law over state action, the adherence to sovereignty and canon of construction are his legacy in Indian law justice.
Indian Law Reporter
Call Number: KF8203.4 I53
Publication Date: 1974-
The Indian Law Reporter reports on cases from federal, state and tribal courts as well as administrative agencies.
Landmark Indian Law Cases
Call Number: KF8204.5 .L36 2002
Publication Date: 2002
This work contains fifty-three landmark decisions by the US Supreme Court regarding federal Indian law. A subject index of cases is included.
Native American Law Digest
Call Number: KF8203.1 .N38
Publication Date: 1991-
Library has volumes 7-18, 1997-2008.
Summarizes federal, state and tribal court decisions.
Lexis (username and password required)
United States Claims Court Reporter
Call Number: KF125.C5 U55
Publication Date: 1983-1992
Library has 1983-1992
The US Claims Court Reporter covers cases decided in the United States Claims Court and decisions of the United States Court of Appeals, Federal Circuit and Supreme Court of the United States.
United States Reports
Call Number: KF102.1 .U8
Publication Date: 1754-
The official reports of the United States Supreme Court.
HeinOnline (Access is restricted to members of the Marquette Community)