Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Getting Started with Legal Research: Finding Laws & Cases

Finding Laws & Cases

The Law Library print collection includes U.S. Federal and U.S. States' & Territories' constitutions, laws/statutes, administrative regulations, and cases.

Statutes, laws, and codes are created and amended by Congress or by a state’s legislature; the individual laws are passed and are later organized by subject into a code or a statute set.  Administrative regulations are the rules issued by government agencies, such as the federal Environmental Protection Agency or the Wisconsin Department of Revenue.  Court decisions set out rulings on specific disputes between specific parties and are issued by individual judges or by panels of appellate or supreme court judges.

U.S. Federal and Wisconsin laws, statutes, regulations, and cases are housed on the first floor.  Statutes from select other states are shelved in alphabetical order by state on the 3rd floor.  Cases from these states are found in regional case reporters, also on the 3rd floor.  Recent cases from other states are available in the online resources listed below. 

Please see our Digests and Finding Case Law research guides for detailed explanations and instructions for finding cases:

Online resources for finding laws and cases include: 

Nexis Uni is available to the Marquette Community and to patrons in the Law Library.  It includes full-text state and federal laws and cases.

HeinOnline includes a variety of federal and state materials in searchable format.  Access is restricted to members of the Marquette Community and to patrons in the Law Library.

Guide to Law Online is a comprehensive source freely available from the Law Library of Congress.  It includes links to legislative, executive, and judicial resources for federal and state materials.

Wisconsin Legislative Documents is a comprehensive searchable database of bills and amendments, statutes, administrative code, and other legislative documents.

Catalog

MARQCAT - Search library
for:

Need Help?

Reference librarians

are available to assist you

In Person:  1st Floor Reference Desk

Phone:       414-288-3837

Email:        via web form

Hours:        Library Service Hours