U.S. Government Documents: Federal Depository Library

As a selective federal depository library in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), Marquette University Eckstein Law Library makes U.S. government documents available for public access for free. The public may access materials received under the FDLP during the law library's regular hours. Individuals using the materials must abide by the law school, law library and university rules.  The law library adheres to the policies set forth in the Legal Requirements & Program Regulations of the Federal Depository Library Program.

Search the catalog by:

Marqcat Search 

(law library materials only)

Marqcat Advanced Search 

View Library Map

Reference librarians

are available to assist you

In Person:  1st Floor Reference Desk

Phone:       414-288-3837

Email:        via web form

Hours:        Library Service Hours

Federal Government information is made available for free public use in federal depository libraries located throughout the United States and its territories. Anyone can visit a federal depository library to gain access to the collection. 

The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) began in 1895 and was established by Congress to ensure the public's access to its Government's information. The Government Publishing Office (GPO) administers the FDLP on behalf of the participating libraries and the public.  Information products from the federal government are provided to these nationwide libraries so that the American public has free access to the materials, both in print and online.

The Federal Depository Library Directory provides a searchable database of all participating depository libraries.  

There are three methods for locating a library from the FDLP Directory webpage:

• Clickable Map: clicking on the applicable state, commonwealth or territory on the map below
• Basic FDLD Search: search by keyword in the Keyword search box below the map
• Advance FDLD Search: search by specific types of data, such as Depository number, ZIP or area code, etc. in a single or multiple field search below the Basic search

For example, to find federal depository libraries in Wisconsin click on Wisconsin on the map and a list of 19 Federal Depository Libraries located in Wisconsin is revealed. The Milwaukee Public Library is the state's Regional Federal Depository Library, which means it receives almost all government publications available through the FDLP. Marquette University Eckstein Law Library and the other libraries listed are selective Federal Depository Libraries - libraries which select certain titles for their collections.  If a selective federal depository library does not hold a title in its collection, the regional Federal Depository Library located nearest you is a good place to check.