As a selective federal depository library in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), Marquette University Eckstein Law Library makes U.S. government documents available for public access for free. The public may access materials received under the FDLP during the law library's regular hours. Individuals using the materials must abide by the law school, law library and university rules. The law library adheres to the policies set forth in the Legal Requirements & Program Regulations of the Federal Depository Library Program.
Reference librarians
are available to assist you
In Person: 1st Floor Reference Desk
Phone: 414-288-3837
Email: via web form
Hours: Library Service Hours
The following titles are among those available for use in the Marquette University Law Library.
Administrative/Regulatory
Code of Federal Regulations - Office of the Federal Register
Call Number: KF70 .A1
Publication Date: 1936-
Codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register is divided into 50 titles that represent the broad areas subject to federal regulation.
Also:
FDsys (1996- ) (connect from catalog record)
HeinOnline (1938- ) (connect from catalog record)
CFR Index and Finding Aids to the Code of Federal Regulations - Office of the Federal Register
Call Number: KF70 .A112
Publication Date: Current year
The official index volume of the Code of Federal Regulations. The index is revised once a year as of January 1 and contains a subject/agency index for rules currently codified in the CFR, a list of agency-prepared indexes appearing in individual CFR volumes, a table of laws and Presidential documents cited as authority for regulations, a list of CFR titles, chapters, subchapters and parts and an alphabetical list of agencies appearing in the CFR.
Also:
HeinOnline (connect from catalog record) 1977-
Code of Federal Regulations: List of CFR Sections Affected (LSA) - Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration
Call Number: KF70 .A11
Publication Date: 1949-
Lists proposed, new, and amended Federal regulations that have been published in the Federal Register since the most recent revision date of a Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) title.
Also:
HeinOnline (1949- ) (connect from catalog record)
Federal Register - Office of the Federal Register
Call Number: KF70 .A2
Publication Date: 1936-
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules and notices of federal agencies and organizations.
Also:
Microfiche (1936- ) KF70.A2
HeinOnline (1936- ) (connect from catalog record)
FDsys (1994- )
Congressional/Legislative
Congressional Directory - United States Congress
Call Number: JK1011 .C5
Publication Date: 1950-
The official directory of the U.S. Congress prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). It provides biographies of Members of Congress, committee memberships, phone numbers and also lists officials of Federal departments and agencies.
Also:
HeinOnline (1896- ) (connect from catalog record)
Congressional Record - United States Congress
Call Number: KF35 .C663
Publication Date: 1873-
The Congressional Record is a substantially verbatim account of the remarks made on the floor of the Senate and the House of Representatives. It also includes all bills, resolutions, and motions proposed, as well as debates and roll call votes.
Also:
Microfiche (KF35 .C663) 1873-2007
HeinOnline (1873-2005) (connect from catalog record)
HeinOnline to daily (1994- ) (connect from catalog record
FDsys (1994- )
Public Laws (Slip Laws) - United States
Call Number: KF50 .U53
Publication Date: Retained only until bound volume is received; 2011-
Most laws passed by Congress are public laws, laws that affect society as a whole. Citations include the abbreviation, Pub.L., the Congress number (e.g. 107), and the number of the law. For example: Pub.L. 107-006. A slip law is an official publication of the law and is "competent evidence" admissible in court.
Also:
FDsys (connect from catalog record) ; 1995-
United States Code (USC) - United States
Call Number: KF50 .U52
Publication Date: 1789-
The codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States, it is divided by broad subjects into 51 titles. The U.S. Code was first published in 1926. The next main edition was published in 1934, and subsequent main editions have been published every six years since 1934. The most recent complete United States Code in the Law Library is the 2006 edition. Volumes for the 2012 edition are added to the collection as they become available. In between editions, annual cumulative supplements are published in order to present the most current information.
Also:
HeinOnline (connect from catalog record)
United States Statutes At Large - United States
Call Number: KF50 .U52
Publication Date: 1789-
The final authority of statutory law. Federal laws are compiled according to date.
Also:
HeinOnline (connect from catalog record)
Executive/Presidential
Budget of the United States Government - Executive Office of the President, Office of Budget and Management
Publication Date: 1923-
From the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget is a collection of documents for a particular fiscal year that includes the President's Budget Message and other budgetary publications.
HeinOnline (connect from catalog record)
Public Papers and Addresses of Franklin D. Roosevelt - United States
Call Number: J82 .D6
Publication Date: 1928-1945
Containing the public messages, speeches and statements of President Franklin Roosevelt; includes the years as New York Governor
Also:
HeinOnline (connect from catalog record)
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States - United States
HeinOnline (connect from catalog record)
Contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States, compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration. Included volumes cover the administrations of Hoover, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Clinton, George W. Bush and Obama. Subsequent volumes will be added as they become available.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1929-33) - United States
Call Number: J82 .D5
Publication Date: 1929-33
Containing the public messages, speeches and statements of President Herbert Hoover
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1945-53) - United States
Call Number: J82 .D7
Publication Date: 1945-53
Containing the public messages, speeches and statements of President Harry Truman
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1953-1961) - United States
Call Number: J82 .D8
Publication Date: 1953-61
Containing the public messages, speeches and statements of President Dwight D. Eisenhower
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1961-1963)
Call Number: J82 .D9
Publication Date: 1961-63
Containing the public messages, speeches and statements of President John F. Kennedy
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1963-69)
Call Number: J82. E1
Publication Date: 1963-69
Containing the public messages, speeches and statements of President Lyndon Johnson
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1969-74)
Call Number: J82 .E2
Publication Date: 1969-74
Containing the public messages, speeches and statements of President Richard Nixon
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1974-1977)
Call Number: J82 .E32
Publication Date: 1974-1977
Containing the public messages, speeches and statements of President Gerald Ford
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1977-1981)
Call Number: J82 .E4
Publication Date: 1977-1981
Containing the public messages, speeches and statements of President Jimmy Carter
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1981-89)
Call Number: J82 .E5
Publication Date: 1981-89
Containing the public messages, speeches and statements of President Ronald Reagan
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1989-93)
Call Number: J82 .E52
Publication Date: 1989-89
Containing the public messages, speeches and statements of President George H. W. Bush
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (1993-01)
Call Number: J82 .E7
Publication Date: 1993-01
Containing the public messages, speeches and statements of President William Clinton
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (2001-09)
Call Number: J82 .E8
Publication Date: 2001-09
Containing the public messages, speeches and statements of President George W. Bush
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (2009- )
Call Number: J82 .E9
Publication Date: 2009-
Containing the public messages, speeches and statements of President Barack Obama
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents - United States
Alternate title is Public Papers of the Presidents
Contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States, compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration. In 2009, the Weekly Compilations were replaced by Daily Compilations of Presidential Documents.
ProQuest (connect from catalog record) 1992-2008 are Weekly Compilations; 2009-current are Daily Compilations
EbscoHost (connect from catalog record) 1995-2008 are Weekly Compilations; 2009-current are Daily Compilations
HeinOnline (connect from catalog record) 1965-Jan. 2009 are Weekly Compilations
Judicial/Courts
Reports of the United States Tax Court - United States Tax Court
Call Number: KF6280.A2 T37
Publication Date: 1942-current
Taxpayers may dispute tax deficiencies in the Tax Court before paying any disputed amount. The Tax Court’s jurisdiction also includes the authority to redetermine transferee liability, make certain types of declaratory judgments, adjust partnership items, order abatement of interest, award administrative and litigation costs, redetermine worker classification, determine relief from joint and several liability on a joint return, review certain collection actions, and review awards to whistleblowers who provide information to the Commissioner of Internal Revenue on or after December 20, 2006.|
Also:
ProQuest (connect online) - 1993-current
HeinOnline (connect online) - 1942-2011
United States Reports - United States Supreme Court
Call Number: KF102.1 .U8
Publication Date: 1754-
The official version of the opinions of the U.S. Supreme Court.
Also:
HeinOnline (connect from catalog record)
Foreign Relations/International/Treaties
Foreign Relations of the United States - United States Department of State
Call Number: JZ1467 .F67
Publication Date: 1932-1968
Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
Also:
Online (connect from catalog record) 1969-
University of Wisconsin Digital Collections (connect through catalog record) 1861-1960
International Law Studies - Naval War College
Call Number: KZ6563 .N39
Publication Dates: 1901-2012
Source of scholarship in the fields of law of armed conflict, law of the sea and related fields.
Also:
HeinOnline (connect from catalog record) 1901-
Treaties and Other International Acts of the United States of America - United States
Call Number: KZ235.32 .T74
Publication Date: 1776-1863
Compilation of treaty documents from 1776-1863
Also:
HeinOnline (connect from catalog record)
Treaties and Other International Acts Series - United States
Call Number: KZ235.3 .U55
Publication Date: 1950 -
Compilation of treaties and other international agreements
Also:
HeinOnline (connect from catalog record) 1950 -
Treaties in Force (TIF) - United States Department of State
Call Number: KZ235 .A326
Publication Date: 1973-
Published annually by the Department of State to provide information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party as of January 1st in its most recent publication year.
HeinOnline (connect from catalog record) 1929-
United States Court of International Trade Reports: Cases Adjudged in the United States Court of International Trade - United States Court of International Trade
Call Number: KF6655.A2 U54
Publication Date: 1982-
The United States Court of International Trade has nationwide jurisdiction over civil actions arising out of the customs and international trade laws of the United States.
Also:
HeinOnline (connect from catalog record) 1982-
The World Factbook - Central Intelligence Agency
Call Number: G123 .W67
Publication Date: 1990 -
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, transportation, military and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Includes maps.
Also:
Online access from various sources (connect from catalog) 1991 -
Statistics
County and City Databook - United States
Call number: HA202 .A36
Publication Date: 1994, 2010
The most comprehensive information about the individual counties and cities in the United States, it includes data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more and contains additional data for places with a population of 100,000 or more. A complete set of state maps showing all counties, places of 25,000 or more population, and metropolitan areas.
Also:
Connect from catalog record for 1988-2000 data
Individual Income Tax Returns - Statistics Division, Internal Revenue Bureau
Call Number: KF6375.A82 I52
Publication Date: 1989- (Law Library has 2011)
Statistics obtained from filed individual tax and information returns
Also:
Online data from IRS website (connect from catalog)
Statistics of Income Bulletin - Statistics Division, Internal Revenue Bureau
Call Number: KF6282 .A2 S65
Publication Date: 1981 (vol. 1)- (Law Library has vols. 21-25)
Issued quarterly, the reports provide the earliest published annual financial statistics obtained from filed tax and information returns as well as various tax-related studies.
Also:
ProQuest (connect from catalog record) 1992-
Statistics of Income, Corporation Income Tax Returns - Internal Revenue Bureau
Call Number: KF6464 .C67
Publication Date: 1992-2010
Articles and data provide statistics on income, tax, deductions and more as reported by corporations filing tax returns.
Miscellaneous
United States Government Manual - Office of the Federal Register
Call Number: JK464 .U54
Publication Date: 1935-
The official handbook of the Federal Government provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies and boards, commissions, and committees.
Also:
FDSys (connect from catalog record) 1995-
HeinOnline (connect from catalog record) 1935-
