ResearchGuides: Court Rules Research Guide: Federal Forms

Federal Forms

Many federal forms are available both online and in print. Model federal forms relate the federal court rules to the required forms. The forms provide the necessary language for court filings and help the practitioner in complying with the rules. It is imperative that both the forms and the court rules consulted are current.

Multivolume sets of treatises on federal practice, such as Moore's Federal Practice, include forms. Sets of form books such as AmJur Legal Forms may also prove helpful.

Documents filed in actual court cases provide examples for drafting pleadings. Such court documents filed in federal court may be available on PACER (registration is required) and commercial subscription databases such as Bloomberg Law, Lexis or Westlaw. Access to these databases through this library is restricted to members of the Marquette University Law School community.

American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms by Bancroft-Whitney Company
Call Number: KF8868.1 A43

Publication Date: 1966-

This set includes state and federal forms.
Complaints, motions and interrogatories are among the litigation forms included which are arranged by subject.
Forms, including form drafting guides, sample forms, practice aids and a detailed index, are also included.
Finally, see 23B AmJur Pleading and Practice Forms Annotated §§192-353 for sample jury instructions.
Bender's Federal Practice Forms by Louis R. Frumer, Marvin Waxner
Call Number: KF8836 .B46

Publication Date: 1951-

The practice companion to "Moore's Federal Practice" provides a comprehensive set of forms covering civil and criminal federal practice. The Marquette Law Library no longer updates this service. Up-to-date forms are available on Lexis, including compliance with all recent amendments to procedural rules and with the general standards of practice in federal courts.
This set provides a complete range of the litigation forms needed for federal practice at any level. It is organized into chapters based on the procedural rules:
Bender's Forms of Discovery by Matthew Bender (Firm) (editor)
Call Number: KF8900 .A3 B4

Publication Date: 1963-

The set is divided into Interrogatories (Vols. 1-10A) and Treatise (Vols. 11-17). Includes appendices on uniform state and federal interrogatory forms and on state and federal statutes and rules.
Federal Procedural Forms, Lawyers' Edition by Lawyers Co-operative Publishing Company
Call Number: KF8836 .F4

Publication Date: 1975-

This companion set to "Federal Procedure, Lawyers' Edition" provides civil and criminal forms for use in federal courts and proceedings before administrative agencies. It is arranged by topic and includes a subject index.
West's Federal Forms by Jay Grenig
Call Number: KF8836 .W4

Publication Date: 1952-

Follows organization of the rules and consists largely of illustrative forms - most from actual cases. Provides forms for all federal courts. Civil and criminal forms are covered in this set which is annotated and includes references to "Federal Practice and Procedure."

Federal Appellate Rules Forms (Online)
The appellate rules forms are published in an Appendix of Forms accompanying the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure.
US Courts Forms (Online)
National federal court forms can be used in all federal courts. Each federal court maintains their own local court forms. To find a federal court and its local forms use the Court Locator. Search for national federal court forms by keyword, number or by category such as civil or criminal.