Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Federal Rules of Evidence
The Federal Rules of Evidence govern the admission or exclusion of evidence in most proceedings in the United States Courts.
Courtroom Handbook on Federal Evidence
Call Number: KF8935 .C68 1995
Publication Date: 1995-
Manual designed for courtroom use includes the text of the Federal Rules of Evidence, constitutional and statutory provisions and other court rules that affect admissibility of evidence. Commentary on each rule provides citations to court decisions interpreting the rules.
Federal Civil Judicial Procedure and Rules
Call Number: KF8816 .A193
Publication Date: 1985-
This treatise provides the rules text along with advisory committee notes. Case annotations are not included.
In addition to the text of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure it contains the text of the Supplemental Rules - Admiralty or Maritime Claims and Asset Forfeiture Actions, Rules of Procedure of the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation, Rules Governing Habeas Corpus Cases and Motions Attacking Sentence, Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, Federal Rules of Evidence, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States and Title 28, Judiciary and Judicial Procedure. This pamphlet is usually revised biannually. Check Westlaw for interim changes affecting content.
A Time Table for Lawyers in Federal Civil Cases is included as a guide to the user. It indicates the time for each of the steps of a civil action as provided by the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure.
Federal Evidence by
Call Number: KF8935 .L68 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Multi-volume set provides rule-by-rule analysis. Includes Appendix, Tables (table of laws, table of rules and table of cases) and Index with notes. Updated with annual pocket parts
Federal Evidence Tactics by
Call Number: KF8935 .I453
Publication Date: 1997-
Designed to help counsel analyze the issues in the introduction of and objection to specific evidence.
Federal Practice and Procedure by
Call Number: KF8840 .W741
Publication Date: 1969-
Commonly referred to as "Wright and Miller" after two of its principal authors. One of two major treatises (the other is "Moore's Federal Practice"), this set provides commentaries on federal court rules. The multi-volume set covers the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, the Federal Rules of Evidence and jurisdiction matters. Each rule is extensively discussed and includes footnotes to cases and other materials. The set is updated by pocket parts.
Federal Procedure Rules Service
Call Number: KF8836 .F42
Volume 1 contains the text of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and the Supplemental Rules for Admiralty or Maritime Claims and Asset Forfeiture Actions with annotations.
Additionally, circuit court volumes are published. The Marquette Law Library has the Seventh Circuit (7th Circuit) Court of Appeals rules volume in its collection.
Volume II contains the text of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, Federal Rules of Evidence, Rules of Procedure of the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation, Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases, Rules Governing Section 2255 Proceedings, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure and Supreme Court Rules with annotations.
Federal Rules of Evidence (Online)
Cornell University Law School Legal Information Institute (LII) website.
Text of the Federal Rules of Evidence: rules by which a court determines what evidence is admissible at trial in the federal courts.
Federal Rules of Evidence Digest by
Call Number: KF8913.5 .F421
Publication Date: 1979-
The digest cites to cases that have interpreted the Federal Rules of Evidence. Case headnotes ae arranged by subject within each rule. Loose-leaf material in the "Federal Rules of Evidence Service" is replaced periodically by bound "Federal Rules of Evidence Digest" volumes.
Federal Rules of Evidence Service by
Call Number: KF8931.5 .F42
Publication Date: 1979-
Contains the Federal Rules of Evidence, editorial notes, digest volumes and reporter volumes which provide federal courts and agencies decisions interpreting the evidence rules; Loose-leaf material is replaced periodically by bound "Federal Rules of Evidence Digest" volumes.
McCormick on Evidence by
Call Number: KF8935 .M291 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Authoritative treatise on evidence provides comprehensive analysis of the rules and the theory of evidence.
The New Wigmore: A Treatise on Evidence by
Call Number: KF8935 .W543
Treatise on the law of evidence is arranged by subtopics which appear as separate volumes and are cataloged separately: Expert Evidence, Evidentiary Privileges, Impeachment and Rehabilitation, Selected Rules of Limited Admissibility, Treatise on Evidence of Other Misconduct and Similar Events
United States Code (USC) by
Call Number: KF62 2012 .A2
Publication Date: 2012
Official, unannotated Rules of Civil Procedure include Supplemental Rules for Admiralty or Maritime Claims and Asset Forfeiture Actions.
United States Code Service (USCS)
Call Number: KF62.2 .C62
Publication Date: 1972-
The annotated Rules of Civil Procedure are found in the Rules volumes at the end of the USCS.
Weissenberger's Federal Evidence by
Call Number: KF8935 .W42 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Desk reference volume contains the text of the Federal Rules of Evidence and discussion for each rule. Practice pointers, cases, Advisory Committee Notes and index are included.
Federal Court Rules Quick Chart