Updates to this bibliographic guide are continuous and materials from the Eckstein Library collection are added and curated regularly. Browse the tabs or search for the name of a justice using the search box in the upper right corner of the guide. Check the library catalog for more titles about the Court and its Justices.
This guide provides bibliographic material about U.S. Supreme Court justices, including selected biographies and other relevant titles held by the Eckstein Law Library, and links to online materials. The guide is not an exhaustive bibliography, but is a starting point and focuses on materials accessible via the law library or available on public websites.
Most pages (tabs) in this guide currently are organized by historical era. At the present time, titles about the justices are organized based on the year each justice was confirmed. If you are searching for books about a particular justice, you can find titles that are listed in this research guide by searching the justice's last name in the "search this guide" box located at the upper right corner of each page. Also try Marqcat advanced search and use the justice's name in a subject heading search.
For a complete chronological list of all the justices and their terms on the Court, consult the U.S. Supreme Court web page, Justices 1789 to Present.
The selection of titles in this box is a sampling of material that includes more than one justice or era on the Court and may be more thematic in approach. Searching by Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) for subtopics of the Supreme Court in the collection may be more productive for research that is not limited to a particular justice. Try browsing the KF 8700s via Marqcat or shelf-browse in person at Eckstein Library. You also can search for the Justices by name, as a Subject or keyword search. Eckstein Library has hundreds of books in this category.
Ask a librarian for search help, too!
Shortlisted: Women in the Shadows of the Supreme Court by 
Sisters in Law: How Sandra Day O'Connor and Ruth Bader Ginsburg Went to the Supreme Court and Changed the World by 
Five Chiefs by 
The Chief Justices: the Seventeen Men of the Center Seat, Their Courts, and Their Times by 
Courtwatchers : Eyewitness Accounts in Supreme Court History by 
Jewish Justices of the Supreme Court: from Brandeis to Kagan by 
The Jewish justices of the Supreme Court revisited : Brandeis to Fortas by 
Freedom Fighters of the United States Supreme Court by 
The Supreme Court by 
Supreme Court Justices: Illustrated Biographies by These Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) may be useful for finding biographical works at Eckstein or other libraries. Follow the links to view the subject listing:
United States. Supreme Court -- Biography
United States Supreme Court -- Bibliography
You can also conduct a subject search on Marqcat using the name of an individual Justice.
Reference librarians
are available to assist you
In Person: 1st Floor Reference Desk
Phone: 414-288-3837
Email: via web form
Hours: Library Service Hours