Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Getting Started with Legal Research: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

A useful tool in legal research are articles published in legal periodicals.  These articles analyze a particular topic and provide footnote references to other sources. 

The Law Library subscribes to a number of law reviews and journals published by American law schools and state bar associations - these are available in print and/or in electronic subscription databases.   

Our print journal collection is housed on the 4th floor in alphabetical order.  

The following online legal databases are available to the Marquette Community and to patrons in the Law Library for finding articles:

HeinOnline includes a Law Journal Library section offering journal articles in pdf format.  Coverage varies by title.

LegalTrac is a searchable index of all major law reviews, some legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Includes only selective full text with some abstracts/citations only.  Coverage begins in 1980.

Nexis Uni includes full-text articles related to business, law, and government drawing from newspapers, journals, magazines, wire services as well as primary and secondary legal materials.  Dates of coverage vary.

Marquette Law Scholarly Commons, a freely available online collection, includes select articles written by Law School faculty and all issues of Marquette law journals: Marquette Elder's Advisor, Marquette Intellectual Property Law Review, Marquette Law Review, and Marquette Sports Law Review.

Catalog

MARQCAT - Search library
for:

Need Help?

Reference librarians

are available to assist you

In Person:  1st Floor Reference Desk

Phone:       414-288-3837

Email:        via web form

Hours:        Library Service Hours