ResearchGuides: U.S. Supreme Court Justices Selective Bibliography: Expansionism & Pre-Civil War 1821-1860

Catalog Subject Headings

These Subject Headings may be useful in finding biographical works. Follow the links to view the subject listing:

United States. Supreme Court -- Biography

Judges -- United States -- Biography

Library Map

View Library Map

Broader Biographies

The Taney Court, 1836-1864 by Martin Siegel
Call Number: KF8742 .S9155 1987 vol. 3
ISBN: 0867330589
Publication Date: 1987-01-01
Part of the Supreme Court in American Life series, this work look at the lives and careers of the Supreme Court Justices who served during the Taney Court between 1836-1864.

Smith Thompson

Associate Justice of the Supreme Court

September 1, 1823 - December 18, 1843

Mr. Justice Thompson and the Constitution by Donald Roper; Harold Hyman (Editor); Stuart Bruchey (Editor)
Call Number: KF8742 .R66 1987
ISBN: 0824082915
Publication Date: 1987-03-01
A look at the life and career of Smith Thompson and his interpretation and use of the Constitution.

John McLean

Associate Justice of the Supreme Court

March 7, 1829 - April 4, 1861

A discourse delivered Sunday morning, April 7, 1861, in the Second Presbyterian Church, Albany, in commemoration of the late Hon. John McLean, LL. D.: one of the justices of the Supreme Court of the United States by William B. Sprague
Publication Date: 1861
An address given to commemorate the life and career of John McLean. Available on microfiche and also available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).
The life of John McLean : a politician on the United States Supreme Court by Francis P. Weisenburger
Call Number: KF8745.M343 W4 1937a
Publication Date: 1937
A look at the life and career of John McLean as statesman to Postmaster General to Associate Justice of the Supreme Court. Available on microfiche.

James Moore Wayne

Associate Justice of the Supreme Court

January 14, 1835 - July 5, 1867

James Moore Wayne, Southern unionist by Alexander A. Lawrence
Call Number: KF8745.W39 L38 1943a
Publication Date: 1943
A look at the life and career of James Moore Wayne, a Supreme Court Justice from Georgia who was against the secession of the Confederate States of America from the Union. Available on microfiche.

Roger B. Taney

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court

March 15, 1836 - October 12, 1864

Life of Roger Brooke Taney : chief justice of the United States Supreme Court by Bernard C. Steiner
Call Number: KF8745.T3 S7 1922a
Publication Date: 1922
A biography on the life and career of Roger B. Taney available on microfiche and also available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).
Lincoln and Chief Justice Taney : slavery, secession, and the president's war powers by James F. Simon
Call Number: KF4545.S5 S55 2006
ISBN: 074325032X
Publication Date: 2006-11-07
This work looks at the life and career of Roger B. Taney through years long struggle with Abraham Lincoln over states' rights and presidential war-time authority starting with Taney's Dread Scott opinion in 1857.
Marshall and Taney : statesmen of the law by Ben W. Palmer
Call Number: KF8744.M3 P35
Publication Date: 1966
A look at the careers of Supreme Court Chief Justice Roger B. Taney and his predecessor John Marshall.
Memoir of Roger Brooke Taney by Samuel Tyler
Call Number: KF8745.T3 T9 1970
Publication Date: 1970
Originally published in 1872, this work looks at the life and career of Roger B. Taney. Also available on microfiche.
Notice of the death of Chief Justice Taney : in the Circuit Court of the United States for the First Circuit
Publication Date: 1864
The death notice for Roger B. Taney. Available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).
Roger B. Taney by Carl Brent Swisher
Call Number: KF 8745 .T3 S9 1935
Publication Date: 1935
A look at the life and career of Roger B. Taney.
Roger B. Taney : Jacksonian jurist by Charles W. Smith, Jr
Call Number: KF8745.T3 S6 1973
ISBN: 0306705550
Publication Date: 1973
This work was originally written in 1934 as the author's thesis for the University of Wisconsin and discusses the life, career and legacy of Roger B. Taney. Also available on microfiche.
Supreme Court under Marshall and Taney by R. Kent Newmyer; Abraham S. Eisenstadt (Editor); John Hope Franklin (Editor)
Call Number: KF8742 .N49 1986
ISBN: 0882957465
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
A look at the Supreme Court during the tenure of both John Marshall and Roger Brooke Taney as well as their lives and legacies.
The Unjust judge : a memorial of Roger Brooke Taney, late Chief Justice of the United States
Publication Date: 1865
A memorial address given concerning the life of Roger B. Taney. Available on microfiche and also through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).
Without fear or favor; a biography of Chief Justice Roger Brooke Taney by Lewis Walker
Call Number: KF8745.T3 L4
Publication Date: 1965
A look at the life, career and legacy of Roger B. Taney.

John Catron

Associate Justice of the Supreme Court

March 8, 1837 - May 30, 1865

The centenary of Associate Justice John Catron of the United States Supreme Court: address of Walter Chandler at the fifty-sixth annual session of the Bar Association of Tennessee at Memphis, Friday, June 11, 1937, with bibliographical notes by Walter Chandler
Call Number: KF8745.C37 C42 1937
Publication Date: 1937
An address for the Bar Association of Tennessee which looks at the life and career of John Catron Available on microfiche and available online through HeinOnline (connect from catalog record).

John McKinley

Associate Justice of the Supreme Court

April 22, 1837 - July 19, 1852

John Mckinley and the Antebellum Supreme Court : circuit riding in the old Southwest by Steven P. Brown
Call Number: KF8745.M38 B76 2012
ISBN: 9780817317713
Publication Date: 2012-10-12
This work discusses of the life of a Virginia lawyer who became a congressman in the Alabama House of Representatives, a US Senator, and a Justice of the Supreme Court. This work analyses the time and place that John McKinley lived, the details of McKinley's circuit work, and the contributions he made to both American legal history and Alabama.

Samuel Nelson

Associate Justice of the Supreme Court

February 14, 1845 - November 28, 1872

Proceedings by the Bar of the United States courts for the Second Circuit : on the retirement of Mr. Justice Nelson from the Supreme Court of the United States by United States. Circuit Court (2nd Circuit)
Publication Date: 1873
A hearing on the life and career of Samuel Nelson to the Second Circuit Court. Available on microfiche and available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).

Levi Woodbury

Associate Justice of the Supreme Court

September 20, 1845 - September 4, 1851

Eulogy on the Hon. Levi Woodbury : pronounced at Portsmouth, N.H., October 16, 1851, at the request of the city government by Robert Rantoul
Publication Date: 1852
A eulogy concerning the life and career of Levi Woodbury, given on October 16, 1851. Available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).
Memoir of Hon. Levi Woodbury, LL. D. by Charles Levi Woodbury
Call Number: KF8744.W66 W66 1894a
Publication Date: 1894
This work is an autobiography/memoir written by Levi Woodbury. Available on microfiche and available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).
Memoir Of Levi Woodbury by Charles Levi Woodbury
Call Number: KF8744.W66 W66 1881a
Publication Date: 1881
This work is an autobiography/memoir written by Levi Woodbury. Available on microfiche and available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).

Benjamin Robbins Curtis

Associate Justice of the Supreme Court

September 22, 1851 - September 30, 1857

Justice Curtis in the Civil War Era : at the crossroads of American constitutionalism by Stuart Streichler
Call Number: KF4541 .S77 2005
ISBN: 0813923425
Publication Date: 2005-07-19
A look at the life of Benjamin R. Curtis through both a career as a lawyer and a Supreme Court justice, Benjamin R. Curtis addressed practically every major constitutional question of the mid-nineteenth century, making judgments that still resonate in American law.
A memoir of Benjamin Robbins Curtis, LL. D. : with some of his professional and miscellaneous writings by Benjamin R. Curtis
Call Number: E415.9.C96 C87 1879a
Publication Date: 1879
This work is an autobiography/memoir written by Benjamin R. Curtis. Available on microfiche and available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).
Memoir of the Hon. Benjamin Robbins Curtis, LL. D. : prepared agreeably to a resolution of the Massachusetts Historical Society by Chandler Robbins
Publication Date: 1878
This work is an autobiography/memoir written by Benjamin R. Curtis. Available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).

John Archibald Campbell

Associate Justice of the Supreme Court

March 23, 1853 - April 30, 1861

John Archibald Campbell, associate justice of the United States Supreme Court, 1853-1861 by Henry G. Conner
Call Number: KF8745.C35 C6 1920a
Publication Date: 1920
A biography on John Archibald Campbell. Available on microfiche and through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).
John Archibald Campbell, Southern moderate, 1811-1889 by Robert Saunders
Call Number: KF8745.C35 S28 1997
ISBN: 0817308490
Publication Date: 1997-06-30
The first full biography on John Archibald Campbell. This works looks at the major events that Campbell was involved in directly and indirectly including: the Native American relocation process in the 1830s, sectionalism, the Civil War, and Reconstruction.

Nathan Clifford

Associate Justice of the Supreme Court

January 12, 1858 - July 25, 1881

Nathan Clifford, democrat (1803-1881) by Philip Greely Clifford
Call Number: KF8745.C54 C5 1922a
Publication Date: 1922
A look at the life and career of Nathan Clifford. Available on microfiche and available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).
Proceedings of the bench and bar of the Supreme Court of the United States in memoriam Nathan Clifford by United States. Supreme Court
Call Number: KF8745.C54 P76 1881a
Publication Date: 1881
A memorial session given in the Supreme Court following the death of Nathan Clifford. Available on microfiche and available through Gale Databases' The Making of Modern Law (connect from catalog record).