ResearchGuides: U.S. Government Documents: Read About Government Information and Sources

Federal Depository Library

As a selective federal depository library in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), Marquette University Eckstein Law Library makes U.S. government documents available for public access for free. The public may access materials received under the FDLP during the law library's regular hours. Individuals using the materials must abide by the law school, law library and university rules. The law library adheres to the policies set forth in the Legal Requirements & Program Regulations of the Federal Depository Library Program.

Catalog

Eckstein Law Library Map

View Library Map

Need Help?

Reference librarians

are available to assist you

In Person: 1st Floor Reference Desk

Phone: 414-288-3837

Email: via web form

Hours: Library Service Hours

Read About Government Information and Sources

e-Government and Web Directory: U.S. Federal Government Online by Edited by Peggy Garvin
Call Number: Z1223.Z7E46 2009
Publication Date: 2009
This guide includes entries to over 2,000 government and government-related websites. Organized into subject-themed chapters, the resource allows the user to browse for relevant websites in twenty fields of interest. Multiple indexes are included as finding aids.

The titles listed below are in the Marquette Universtiy Law Library collection and may be of interest to individuals wanting to learn more about government documents, accessing government information and how to search and find government publications.

Government Publications and Their Use by Laurence F. Schmeckebier and Roy B. Eastin
Call Number: Z1223.Z7 1969
Publication Date: 1969
The book is designed to provide an understanding of government publishing practices and to indicate sources of information about existing publications. Uses and limitations of indexes, catalogs and bibliographies are discussed and the systems of numbering and methods of titling are used to call attention to compilations or series of publications. Contents include congressional publications, administrative regulations, foreign affairs, maps, technical publications and microform editions of government publications.
Introduction to United States Government Information Sources by Joe Morehead
Call Number: Z1223.Z7 M665 1999
Publication Date: 1999
The purpose of this book is to provide and account of "general and specialized sources that make up the bibliographic and textual structure of federal government information." This reference source emphasizes contemporary documents and information and includes general finding aids and selected reference sources on a variety of subjects such as legal information sources, statistical sources, and geographic information sources. An appendix provides a chronology of primary source material for the impeachment trial of President Bill Clinton.
Also:
EBSCO Academic Collection version online (connect from catalog record)
Keeping America Informed: The U.S. Government Printing Office: 150 Years of Service to the Nation by United States Government Publishing Office
Call Number: Z1223.U6 U65 2011
Publication Date: 2011
The book covers the 150-year-history of the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO). The story of the world's largest printing organization describes how the GPO has continually adapted to the most efficient technologies available. Photographs are liberally used throughout to illustrate the GPO's history.
Locating United States Government Information: A Guide to Sources by Edward Herman
Call Number: Z1223.Z7 H46 1997
Publication Date: 1997 and 2001 Supp.
This how-to-guide for locating U.S. government publications is set up in workbook format with questions and answers as well as illustrations from indexes and abstracts. Sample searches are used throughout. Congressional information is heavily covered as several chapters are devoted to this area of federal government research. This title includes a separate Internet Supplement which highlights selected federal web resources.
Tapping the Government Grapevine: The User-Friendly Guide to U.S. Government Information Sources by Judith Schiek Robinson
Call Number: Z1223.Z7 R633 1998
Publication Date: 1998
The book suggests search strategies for finding government information. Practice exercises are included as are sample entries from selected documents. This guide features search and access tips, tables and illustrations. Chapters on scientific information, regulations, bibliographies and indexes are some of the topic covered.
Using Government Information Sources: Electronic and Print by Jean L. Sears and Marilyn K. Moody
Call Number: Z1223.Z7 S4 2001
Publication Date: 2001
The reference guide to U.S. government publications and information is designed for both beginning and experienced researchers. The book is designed to address specific search situations for a variety of topics. It is arranged into four main sections which correspond to main types of search strategies: subject, agency, statistical and special techniques. Each chapter focuses on a specific topic and follows or illustrates one type of search strategy taking the reader through a step-by-step plan for research. Checklists of sources are also provided.