Skip to main content

U.S. Government Documents: Home

Marquette University Eckstein Law Library is a selective Federal Depository Library for government documents. The Law Library receives approximately 3.8 percent of available publications.

Federal Depository Library

As a selective federal depository library in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), Marquette University Eckstein Law Library makes U.S. government documents available for public access for free. The public may access materials received under the FDLP during the Law Library's regular hours. Individuals using the materials must abide by all Law School, Law Library and University rules.  The Law Library adheres to the policies set forth in the Legal Requirements & Program Regulations of the Federal Depository Library Program.

 

 

 

Catalog

MARQCAT - Search library
for:

Eckstein Law Library Map

Need Help?

Reference librarians

are available to assist you

In Person:  1st Floor Reference Desk

Phone:       414-288-3837

Email:        via web form

Hours:        Library Service Hours

About Marquette University Eckstein Law Library Government Documents

Marquette University Eckstein Law Library has been part of the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) since 1988.  As a selective federal depository library for federal government documents, Marquette University Law Library receives publications that have been deemed appropriate for its collection.  It receives approximately 3.8% of all of the publications offered to depository libraries.

The federal government documents are integrated with non-government materials throughout the Law Library's collection.  Please search Marqcat, the online catalog, to find federal government publications held by the Law Library.  In addition to print resources, the Law Library also provides access to some government documents through databases searchable from the Reference computers on the first floor. Some proprietary databases are only available for the Law School community's use.  Please check the Databases tab in this Research Guide.

The publications selected for the library are in keeping with the Law Library's Government Documents Collection Policy.

 

What are Government Documents?

The United States Code (44 USC § 1901) defines a government document as any "informational matter printed by the U.S. Government, at government expense or as required by law."  Government documents include Executive branch publications such as presidential papers, Judicial branch documents such as Supreme Court opinions and Legislative branch records of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives as well as informational reports such as Census Bureau population compilations.