Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International Military Tribunal for the Far East (IMTFE)
Marquette University Law Library is one of an estimated 21 libraries throughout the world to house original major portions of the proceedings of the International Military Tribunal for the Far East, also known as the Tokyo War Crimes Trials or the Japanese War Crimes Trials.
This 152 volume collection contains a wealth of information, including working papers and documents used by participants during the trials that were held in Tokyo between April 1946 and April 1948. It was during these trials that 28 wartime Japanese political and military leaders were charged with and convicted of various atrocities committed during World War II. This collection is available to researchers by appointment. Please call the Eckstein Law Library Reference Desk (414-288-3837) or email the Reference Desk to set up an appointment.
While there is a lot of material, including sources that cover both the Nuremberg (International Military Tribunal) and Tokyo (International Military Tribunal for the Far East) trials, and materials and articles that deal with specific crimes, the purpose of this guide is to provide a beginning point for research primarily into the Tokyo trials. The guide includes information on materials held at the Marquette University Eckstein Law Library, Raynor Memorial Library and other materials that may be available.
This guide is divided into the following sections:
A detailed listing of the primary IMTFE materials that are located at the Eckstein Law Library. This collection includes proceedings, exhibits and other trial materials.
Links to documents including: the Charter of the IMTFE, the Special Proclamation that established the IMTFE, Other Department of State Bulletins, the Basic Post-Surrender Policy for Japan, The Executive Order conferring authority to prepare and prosecute leaders of Japan, International law documents, other Department of State Bulletins, and links to treaties that are related to Japanese War Crimes and the IMTFE. This includes documents gathered from Department of State Bulletins, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, The U.S. Naval War College International Law Study Series, Treaties that followed the IMTFE, other United Nations and international materials.
Books Directly Related to the IMTFE
While there are many works that mention the IMTFE, some that focus on both the IMTFE and the IMT, and some that point to the IMTFE in relation to other more recent tribunals (Rwanda and Afghanistan come to mind), this section focuses on treatises or books that deal either specifically with the IMTFE, or that make significant mention of the IMTFE. This section includes links to records in MARQCAT, the Marquette University Libraries Online Catalog.
Additional Research Resources - Books
These are books that, while not necessarily directly related to the IMTFE, either make mention of the IMTFE, or have some indirect, albeit substantial, connection to the IMTFE. For example, Sugamo Diary, while not dealing with the IMTFE, may provide valuable background information. This section also includes links to records in MARQCAT.
Bibliographies and Indexes
This section includes a list of printed bibliographies and indexes, along with links to records in MARQCAT.
Law Review / Journal Articles
This section includes selected articles that relate to the IMTFE, along with links. It also includes a portion on Notes, Comments and Book Reviews (from law reviews). Many of these articles are available in paper at the Eckstein Law Library. Links may require access via the Marquette University Proxy Server. Users who have access to these linking sites may need to search via their own means of access.
Other Significant Collections
This is a list of presumably paper collections of primary materials, as gathered from a search of WorldCat.
Finally, it should be noted that this is not a complete bibliography. Suggestions for additions to this work are greatly appreciated and can be emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org.
This guide was created by