ResearchGuides: International Military Tribunal for the Far East: IMTFE Documents

IMTFE DOCUMENTS

Description of the IMTFE Collection with detailed breakdown by volume

v.1. Prisoner of War Summation (Appendix A-B)
v.2. Records in the Japanese Language
v.3. Indictments Counts, 1-55 (Spine says Counts 1-52) (Includes Counts and Appendices to the Counts)
v.4-5, Pt. IV. Overall Conspiracy
v.6. Judgment, Pt.1 1946: Preliminary Question of Law (pages 1-348)
v.7. "Japan was provoked into a war of self defense" - Defense Summation Section J (133 pages)

v.7 also contains:

List of Rejected Documents from 26 February 1947 to 12 August 1947 (pages 1-101), (433 rejections)
(Vern Walbridge, Colonel, CAC, General Secretary)

Reply of Prosecution to Defense Summation

- pt.I (2 unnumbered pages + 84 pages)

- pt.II (17 pages + 8 pages)

- pt.III (130 pages)

- 22 pages of handwritten notes (some in pencil, some in pen)

- 12 August 1946 (pages 3,678 - 3,916)

- 16 August 1946 (pages 3,917 - 4,200)

- 22 August 1946 (pages 4,142 - 4,200)

- 23 August 1946 (pages 4,201 - 4,251)

- 26 August 1946 (pages 4,252 - 4,369)

Reference to pages 1 - 16,997 (29 April 1946 - 3 February 1947)

v.50. Record of Proceedings of the Commission Before the Honorable Mr. Justice Northcroft, Member from New Zealand, at Sakata, Japan on the 1st and 2nd Days of May, 1947. Reported by: Julian Worlf, Court Reporter, IMTFE (156 pages)
v.51-97. Transcript (pages 21,181 - 48,412) (1 May 1947- 16 April 1948)
v.98-106. Narrative summary of the records (pages 1 - 6,137) (14 June 1946 - 12 January 1948)

v.107-130. Exhibits
v.131. Index of Exhibits - Part 2 - Prosecution's Case (pages 1 - 322)
v.132. Index of Exhibits - Part 2 - Defense Case (pages 323 - 592)
v.133. IPS Document No. 0005 - General Index of the Record of the Prosecution's Case pages 1 - 16,997 (30 June 1947) (101 pages)

v.133 also includes:

v.137 includes:

Document 3034 China Phase Summation Section G by Masayoshi Kenzaki, pages 1-95
Def. Doc. # 3071 Summation for Manchurian General Phase, A.W. Brooks, Toshio Okamoto, pages 1-98
Opening Statement POW - Sub. Div. V Mr. Freeman, p.1-4
Def. Doc. 3093, POW Summation by J.N. Freeman, p.1-56
Defence Document No. 3094, Summation for the Defence on Some Questions of International Law - Ben Bruce Blakeney ([Sec E]), p.1-95
Def. Doc. 3097, Conspiracy Defense Summation Section D, John G. Brannon, p.1-49 (Includes some pencil marks)
Def. Doc. 3098 Defense Summation Analysis of the Indictment, A. The Substantive Counts, Section C. George Yamaoka, p.1-62
Defence Document No. 3099, Summation for the Defence Section "h", Russian Phase, Ben Bruce Blakeney, George A. Furness, March 1948, p.1-154

v.138 includes:

Document 3100, Summation for the Defence - Ben Bruce Blakeney, pages 1a-1b, 2-223
Def. Doc. No. 3102, Naval Activities, Defense Summation - Section L, pages 1-48
Def. Doc. 3102, Section L Summation, Japan's Military Preparedness Not Aggressive in Character, Ichiro Kiyose, George Francis Blewett, pages 1-40
Def. Doc. #3104, Japanese-German-Italian Relations Defense Summation Section I. Owen Cunningham, American Counsel, March 4, 1948, pages [6 pages], + 2 pages
Def. Doc. #3104, Japanese-German-Italian Relations Defense Summation Section II, Uchida, Fujio, Uchiba, Nobuhiko Japanese Counsel Owen Cunningham American Counsel, pages 1-4 + Introductory Statement, pages 1-82, 82A-82G, 83-84, 84A-84B, 85-87, 87A, 88-102, 104-114, 114A, 115-126
Def. Doc #3054 Defense Summation Introductory Statement Dr. Somei Uzawa Chief Japanese Counsel, pages 2-36

v.148-149. Prisoners of War Summation: Prosecution and Defense Cases (Part 1 and Part 2)

v.148 includes:

v.149 includes:

v.150. Rulings of the International Military Tribunal for the Far East: IPS Document No. 0006-A
v.151-152. Judgment of the International Military Tribunal for the Far East, Nov. 1948 (2 copies)