Recent Acquisitions at the Marquette Law Library

"Invisible, intractable, deadly-such is the nature of institutional racism. But are there mitigating actions society could take against them? Diane Carpenter Emling explores this question in Institutional Racism and Restorative Justice: Oppression and Privilege in America. Moving beyond the immediate sources and consequences of prejudice, racism, and inequality, to thoroughly assess approaches to restorative justice, Emling details America's complex history of racism, demonstrating how it becomes embedded in society through land ownership, housing, education, health care, employment, public services, and criminal justice. For each of these issues, she suggests actions to restore justice. But societies don't operate institution-by-institution, and extraordinary changes will be necessary to address systemic racism. Directed at college undergraduate students, Emling's book offers a valued contribution for teaching courses in African American studies, sociology, economics, politics and American history. Written in a comprehensive and accessible style, this book offers a much needed perspective in the literature on institutional racism"-- Provided by publisher

"Provides an overview of what students should consider and expect from the varied career options available to them in the sports industry. This book answers the questions students are most likely to have, including what courses they should take, the areas of study available to them, the salary they can expect to earn after graduation, and how they can get the job of their dreams. This essential guide will help increase students' likelihood of finding careers in the highly competitive sports industry."-- Back cover

"This handbook teaches frameworks for anticipating and addressing mental health needs in conflicts. Its lessons can help laypeople as well as professional conflict resolvers, people living with mental health problems as well as people with no knowledge of mental health, and those dealing with conflicts that are specifically focused on mental health as well as those facing any other kind of conflict"-- Provided by publisher

"In the UK and elsewhere, restorative justice and policing are core components of a range of university programmes; however, currently no such text exists on the intersection of these two areas of study. This book draws together these diverse theoretical perspectives to provide an innovative, knowledge-rich text that is essential reading for all those engaged with the evolution and practice of restorative policing. Restorative Policing surveys the twenty-five year history of restorative policing practice, during which its use and influence over criminal justice has slowly grown. It then situates this experience within a criminological discussion about neo-liberal responses to crime control. There has been insufficient debate about how the concepts of 'restorative justice' and 'policing' sit alongside each other and how they may be connected or disconnected in theoretical and conceptual terms. The book seeks to fill this gap through an exploration of concepts, theory, policy and practice. In doing so, the authors make a case for a more transformative vision of restorative policing that can impact positively upon the shape and practice of policing and outline a framework for the implementation of such a strategy. This pathbreaking book will be of interest to undergraduate and postgraduate students taking courses on restorative justice, policing and crime control, as well as professionals interested in the implementation of restorative practices in the police force."--Publisher's description

"In Restorative and Responsive Human Services, Gale Burford, John Braithwaite and Valerie Braithwaite bring together a distinguished collection providing rich lessons on how regulation in human services can proceed in empowering ways that heal and are respectful of human relationships and legal obligations. The human services are in trouble: combining restorative justice with responsive regulation might redeem them, renewing their well-intended principles. Families provide glue that connects complex systems. What are the challenges in scaling up relational practices that put families and primary groups at the core of health, education, and other social services? This collection has a distinctive focus on the relational complexity of restorative practices. How do they enable more responsive ways of grappling with complexity than hierarchical and prescriptive human services? Lessons from responsive business regulation inform a reimagining of the human services to advance wellbeing and reduce domination. Readers are challenged to re-examine the perverse incentives and contradictions buried in policies and practices. How do they undermine the capacities of families and communities to solve problems on their own terms? This book will interest those who harbor concerns about the creep of domination into the lives of vulnerable citizens. It will help policymakers and researchers to re-focus human services to fundamental outcomes at the foundation of sustainable democracies." --back cover

"The authors argue that communication plays a central role in the evolution of different frameworks of restorative justice. Not just about sending and receiving messages, communication gives meaning to restorative justice and helps to structure thought and behavior when individuals engage in restorative practices in various contexts"-- Provided by publisher

"Drawing on an empirical case study and the wider sociological literature, The Role of Community in Restorative Justice examines the involvement of the community in one selected practice of restorative justice and also considers the implications of the English and Welsh experience for development of a more coherent framework for operationalizing community involvement in restorative justice practices. It is argued that restorative justice programmes need to start from a more concrete and up-to-date notion of community. While operationalizing community involvement, they need to acknowledge, all at once: the importance of place; the importance of family links, friendship and other social ties; and the importance of similar social traits and identities. This book is essential reading for students, researchers and academics in the fields of criminology, criminal justice, sociology, community studies, policy studies, social policy and socio-legal studies. This book will also be valuable reading for a variety of practitioners and policymakers, particularly working with restorative justice and youth justice." --publisher's website

"This up-to-date resource on restorative justice theory and practice is the literature's most comprehensive and authoritative review of original research in new and contested areas. Bringing together contributors from across a range of jurisdictions, disciplines and legal traditions, this edited collection provides a concise, but critical review of existing theory and practice in restorative justice. Authors identify key developments, theoretical arguments and new empirical evidence, evaluating their merits and demerits, before turning the reader's attention to further concerns informing and improving the future of restorative justice. Divided into four parts, the Handbook includes papers written by leading scholars on new theory, empirical evidence of implementation, critiques and the future of restorative justice. This companion is essential reading for scholars of restorative justice, criminology, social theory, psychology, law, human rights and criminal justice, as well as researchers, policymakers, practitioners and campaigners from around the world." --back cover

"In The Politics of Restorative Justice, 2nd edition, Andrew Woolford and Amanda Nelund reconsider restorative justice and its politics. Their examination of restorative themes, theories and practices, explores four distinct ways in which politics affect restorative justice. First, restorative justice is situated in a context in which political actors either enable or obstruct its practice. Second, restorative justice exists in a context that includes intersecting patterns of patriarchal, racialized, hetero-normative, settler-colonial, class-based and other forms of social domination. Third, restorative justice is understood as a contributor to political power in that its practice helps govern individual and collective behaviour. Finally, restorative justice as a social movement requires an enabling politics that will allow it to promote a justice that does more than affirm the status quo. To aspire toward a transformative politics, it must be concerned with class-based, gendered, racialized and other injustices. The second edition expands on how intersecting socio-political contexts -- gendered, racialized, settler colonial, hetero-normative, and others -- contour the practice and potential of restorative justice. In addition to updates of examples and data, the new edition adds discussion of: the embodied and emotional politics of restorative justice, transformative restorative justice, and restorative justice and other-than-human actors/ecological justice."-- Provided by publisher

"Critics on both the left and the right increasingly use the term "mass incarceration" to call attention to the unprecedented scale of the U.S. criminal legal system - and the havoc it wreaks. This book shows that the criminal legal response to law-breaking has continued to intensify even as legislators increasingly embrace criminal justice reform. It also identifies three dynamics that help explain why mass incarceration persists despite growing recognition of its many failures, plummeting crime rates, and widespread efforts on the part of state legislators and others to reduce prison populations. These incarcerative forces include: the political and cultural dynamics surrounding the issue of violence, which have thus far prevented reconsideration of the wisdom and efficacy of long and life sentences; resistance to criminal legal system reform in suburban and especially rural counties; and the failure of the most popular drug policy reforms (including drug courts) to meaningfully reduce the reach of the criminal legal system. The second part of the book identifies three broad political and policy shifts that would significantly reduce the scale of punishment while also addressing the social problems to which it is a (misguided) response. These changes include the end of excessive sentencing and the enactment of a 20-year maximum sentence and the expansion of restorative justice principles and practices that offer alternative ways of promoting accountability and healing. Meaningful harm-reduction based drug policy reforms, including the expansion of alternative responses to low level crime and disorder that operate outside the criminal legal system, enhanced access to medication assisted treatment, and investment in low income housing, including Housing First initiatives, are also needed"-- Provided by publisher

From ancient Mesopotamia to today, the epic story of how humans have used laws to forge civilizations. Rulers throughout history have used laws to impose order. But laws were not simply instruments of power and social control. They also offered ordinary people a way to express their diverse visions for a better world. In The Rule of Laws, Oxford scholar Fernanda Pirie traces the rise and fall of the sophisticated legal systems underpinning ancient empires and religious traditions, while also showing how common people--tribal assemblies, merchants, farmers--called on laws to define their communities, regulate trade, and build civilizations. Although legal principles originating in Western Europe now seem to dominate the globe, the variety of the world's laws has long been almost as great as the variety of its societies. What truly unites human beings, Pirie argues, is our very faith that laws can produce justice, combat oppression, and create order from chaos

"The seminal work on Restorative Justice by one of the founders of the movement, now fully revised and updated. In a time of bitter differences and deep division, how should we as a society respond to wrongdoing? When a crime occurs or an injustice is done, what needs to happen? What does justice require? Howard Zehr is the father of Restorative Justice and is known worldwide for his pioneering work in transforming understandings of justice. Here he proposes workable Principles and Practices for making Restorative Justice possible in this revised and updated edition of his bestselling, seminal book on the movement. Our legal system's approach to justice has some important strengths, but also some deep failings. Victims, offenders, and community members often feel that justice does not adequately meet their needs. Justice professionals--judges, lawyers, prosecutors, probation and parole officers, prison staff--are frustrated with the system's shortcomings, too. Many feel that the process of justice deepens the wounds and conflicts in our society rather than bringing healing and peace. Restorative Justice, with its emphasis on identifying the justice needs of everyone involved in a crime, is a worldwide movement of growing influence that is helping victims and communities heal, while holding criminals accountable for their actions. This is not a soft-on-crime, feel-good philosophy, but rather a concrete effort to bring justice and healing to everyone involved in a crime. In The Little Book of Restorative Justice, Zehr first explores how restorative justice is different from criminal justice. Then, before letting those appealing observations drift out of reach into theoretical space, Zehr presents Restorative Justice Practices. Zehr undertakes a massive and complex subject and puts it in graspable form, without reducing or trivializing it. This is a handbook, a vehicle for moving our society toward healing and wholeness. This is a sourcebook, a starting point for handling brokenness with hard work and hope. This resource is also suitable for academic classes and workshops, for conferences and trainings, as well as for the layperson interested in understanding this innovative and influential movement"-- Provided by publisher

"In Online Courts and the Future of Justice, Richard Susskind, the world's most cited author on the future of legal services, shows how litigation will be transformed by technology and proposes a solution to the global access-to-justice problem. In most advanced legal systems, the resolution of civil disputes takes too long, costs too much, and the process is not just antiquated; it is unintelligible to ordinary mortals. The courts of some jurisdictions are labouring under staggering backlogs - 100 million cases in Brazil, 30 million in India. More people in the world now have internet access than access to justice. Drawing on almost 40 years in the fields of legal technology and jurisprudence, Susskind shows how we can use the remarkable reach of the internet (more than half of humanity is now online) to help people understand and enforce their legal rights. Online courts provide 'online judging' - the determination of cases by human judges but not in physical courtrooms. Instead, evidence and arguments are submitted through online platforms through which judges also deliver their decisions. Online courts also use technology to enable courts to deliver more than judicial decisions. These 'extended courts' provide tools to help users understand relevant law and available options, and to formulate arguments and assemble evidence. They offer non-judicial settlements such as negotiation and early neutral evaluation, not as an alternative to the public court system but as part of it. A pioneer of online courts, Susskind maintains that they will displace much conventional litigation. He rigorously assesses the benefits and drawbacks, and looks ahead, predicting how AI, machine learning, and virtual reality will likely come to dominate court service."-- Provided by publisher

The development of modern international environmental law has been one of the most remarkable exercises in international law-making. Although far more law and policy exists in this area than a quarter of a century ago, the global environment is in a much worse state: challenges remain in relation to the poor health of the oceans, climate change, the growing loss of biodiversity and ecosystems, and the other effects of human mismanagement of our global ecosystem, including global pandemics. As conservation of the environment plays an increasingly important role within society, Birnie, Boyle, and Redgwell's International Law and the Environment continues to be an essential read for students and practitioners alike. Written by experts in the field Birnie, Boyle, and Redgwell's International Law and the Environment places legislation on the protection of the environment firmly at the core of the text, while remaining rooted in the substantive law. The authors employ sharp and thorough analysis of the law, allowing them to share their extensive knowledge and experience with the reader. They provide a unique perspective on the implications of international regulation, promoting a wider understanding of the pertinent issues impacting upon the law. -- Provided by publisher

"The Paris Agreement was adopted under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) in December 2015. Signed by 196 parties, it has since become a key reference point in global discussions on climate change, national efforts to formulate climate policies, and business investment decisions. United Nations Secretary General Ban Ki-Moon has described the Agreement as a 'peace pact with the planet' and U.S. President Barack Obama labeled it a 'turning point' in the fight against climate change. At the very least, it represents, in the word of one contributor to this book, 'a substantial improvement in global climate governance'"-- Provided by the publisher

"Offender rehabilitation theory and practice have traditionally focused on curing "offenders" of their deviant tendencies by changing their habits, opportunities, personality and outlook on life. Consequently, a number of interventions have been developed within the criminal justice system that are said to be involved in helping offenders. Success is measured by recidivism rates. To this end, rehabilitation has become an important aim of sentencing, whether it be in the form of incarceration, community or monetary penalties. ... Restorative justice practices, such as mediation, circles and conferencing bring to the fore states of affairs, activities and experiences that are strongly associated with well-being and higher level of personal satisfaction and social functioning. They aim to create empathy and remorse, and through constructive and honest dialogue create a sense of responsibility in the "offender" and a feeling of empowerment and justice in the "victim". Within this framework, the labels of "victim" and "offender" collapse. A new approach to crime reduction and offender rehabilitation is thus needed. This ground-breaking, edited volume aims to respond to this call by bringing together inter-disciplinary thinking from criminology, affect-script psychology, sociology, political sciences and human rights, psychology and positive psychology, design and arts and social work. The inter-disciplinary dialogue that this book promotes aims to advance the restorative justice field, its tools, practices and evaluation techniques by bringing rehabilitation theory into the restorative justice debate, and vice versa." --publisher's website

In this new and challenging millennium, people have an enhanced interest in effectively relating to others, learning about innovative technological advances, and improving their communication skills. The Fifth Edition of "Modern Dictionary for the Legal Profession" contains more than 10,000 terms which have been carefully selected to help the reader achieve these goals which are essential for success in the always-intriguing legal arena. This dictionary also provides a source for definitions of terms not easily located in other reference works. Emphasis is placed on modern terminology, including slang and colloquial references, rather than on purely historical concepts. Certain legal terms are occasionally included when they are appropriate to a complete understanding of other terms. All constituents of the legal profession, including attorneys, judges, professors, students, paralegals, legal secretaries and researchers, will benefit from this reference work in broadening and enhancing their understanding of this ever-changing world. --Publisher

"Law Professor's Desk Reference serves as a how-to guide for faculty members, addressing the everyday issues that shape legal education as well as the growing external social and economic pressures reconceptualizing the study of law. Law school faculty members are expected to be legal scholars, effective teachers, and engaged institutional partners, but the information essential to develop these fundamentals skills has not been published in one single source, until now. The book provides a foundation to help faculty develop the best practices for student learning and engagement. It provides an important summary of learning outcomes, formative assessment, summative assessment, course design, and the operational mechanics needed to be an effective classroom and online teacher. The book offers faculty members a roadmap to develop meaningful scholarship with practical advice on how best to create a sustainable scholarly agenda. It explores the role faculty play in shared governance for their institutions. It addresses academic freedom, hiring procedures, tenure, and status issues. It also covers accreditation and various regulations on accessibility, accommodation requirements, Title IX, employment laws, plagiarism, and much more"-- Provided by publisher

"Law School Exams: A Guide to Better Grades is the complete handbook for students seeking to improve their performance in law school. This book offers a concise and practical strategy that can be applied to almost any law school exam, regardless of topic or level. Alex Schimel is a Lecturer-in-Law at the University of Miami and a leading expert on law school academic success. The new edition offers unique insights by reducing the exam format to a series of repeatable steps. It also teaches students how to "prepare for exams, instead of preparing for class," with proven time-management and outlining techniques"-- Provided by publisher

"In this book, T. Patrick Hill argues that the Supreme Court has an overriding obligation to ground its judicial review responsibilities not only in the Constitution but also in ethics, understood as the Constitution's ultimate justification"-- Provided by the publisher

"A guide to conducting client service interviews at law firms"-- Provided by publisher

"This manual contains all the information you need to prepare your own staff manual, regardless of the size of your firm"-- Provided by publisher

"[This book] provides clear explanations of both general and agency-specific federal contracting terms from the Department of Defense, General Services Administration, Department of Energy, NASA and others followed by a summary of where the term is used in the statutes or regulations dealing with the procurement process. Organized in an easy-to-use alphabetical format and fully cross-referenced, this essential resource to today's government contract terminology will help you procure goods and services efficiently and with confidence"-- Provided by the publisher

"A guide to frequently encountered construction issues"-- Provided by publisher

"Tort law, the law of how the costs of accidents and other harms should be allocated, is part of America's larger story of social conflict and progress. The Burdens of All is the first book to fully recount tort law's place in that story. The book describes the law's struggle to move from nineteenth-century individualism, which required accident victims to shift for themselves and protected corporations, to the view that accidents are an inevitable part of modern industrial society and must be paid for by society as a whole. Also, the book paints vivid pictures of the judges and social reformers who have shaped tort law's course; the current struggle between individualism and socialization; and the historical struggle over the proper balance of power between judges and juries in tort cases. Its wealth of information and insights will intrigue law- and social-history devotees alike"-- Provided by publisher

"This book describes and explains the failure of the federal courts of the United States to act and to provide remedies to individuals whose constitutional rights have been violated by illegal state coercion and violence. This remedial vacuum must be understood in light of the original design and historical development of the federal courts. At its conception, the federal judiciary was assumed to be independent thanks to an apolitical appointment process, a limited supply of adequately trained lawyers (which would prevent cherry-picking), and the constraining effect of laws and constitutional provision. Each of these checks quickly failed. As a result, the early federal judicial system was highly dependent on Congress. Not until the last quarter of the nineteenth century did a robust federal judiciary start to emerge, and not until the first quarter of the twentieth century did it take anything like its present form. The book then charts how the pressure from Congress and the White House has continued to shape courts behaviour-first eliciting a mid-twentieth-century explosion in individual remedies, and then driving a five-decade long collapse. Judges themselves have not avidly resisted this decline, in part because of ideological reasons and in part out of institutional worries about a ballooning docket. Today, as a result of these trends, the courts are stingy with individual remedies, but aggressively enforce the so-called "structural" constitution of the separation of powers and federalism. This cocktail has highly regressive effects, and is in urgent need of reform"-- Provided by publisher

"With the free-form exchange of music files and musical ideas online, understanding copyright laws has become essential to career success in the new music marketplace. This cutting-edge, plain-language guide shows you how copyright law drives the contemporary music industry. By looking at the law and its recent history, you will understand the new issues introduced by the digital age, as well as continuing issues of traditional copyright law. Whether you are an artist, lawyer, entertainment Web site administrator, record label executive, student, or other participant in the music industry, this book will help you understand how copyright law affects you, helping you use the law to your benefit." --publisher's description

"The first edition has been updated by gathering the relevant guidance documents published by the United States Environmental Protection Agency and analyzing the key judicial decisions examining and interpreting the elements of the bona fide prospective purchaser defense. Environmental, real estate, and transactional lawyers, among others, all will benefit from this second edition of The Bona Fide Prospective Purchaser Defense in CERCLA: A Guide for Lawyers"-- Provided by publisher

"[This book] is a story of due process from the common-law tradition. Told through Supreme Court cases against a backdrop of political theory, legal philosophy and history, it illuminates a mid-twentieth-century dialectic between theories--liberal and conservative--for resolving controversies about state interference with personal liberties. So pervasive was the partisanship flowing from a riven body politic that every institution comprising the fabric of American society, including the federal courts, was soaked in it. But the ideological contest is not the story's primary concern. More pertinent to our dilemma today is what the clash of ideologies eclipsed: a venerable judicial practice deeply rooted in American history and tradition. The moral of the story is in this praxis at its center and its understanding of the limits of legislative and judicial power. The modern liberal and conservative approaches to fundamental rights fall short of the tradition, having strayed from the common-law concept of ordered liberty. Readers will find a suprapartisan perspective on the federal courts' obligation to resolve disputes about our Nation's most controversial issues, and a critical reflection on the modern Supreme Court's role in its politics"--Back cover

"Pity the plight of poor Anthony Comstock. The man H.L. Mencken described as "the Copernicus of a quite new art and science," who literally invented the profession of anti-obscenity crusader in the waning days of the 19th century, ultimately got, as legendary comic Rodney Dangerfield would say, "no respect, no respect at all." As head of the New York Society for the Suppression of Vice and special agent for the U.S. Post Office under a law that popularly bore his name, Comstock was, in Mencken's words, the one "who first capitalized moral endeavor like baseball or the soap business, and made himself the first of its kept professors.""-- Provided by publisher

"This collection brings together legal scholars and Christian theologians for an interdisciplinary conversation responding to the challenges of global migration. Gathering fourteen leading scholars from both law and Christian theology, the book covers legal perspectives, theological perspectives, and key concepts in migration studies. In part one, scholars of migration law and policy discuss the legal landscape of migration at both the domestic and international level. In part two, Christian theologians, ethicists, and biblical scholars draw on the resources of the Christian tradition to think about migration. In part three, a scholar of law and a scholar of Christian theology bring their respective resources and perspectives into conversation through a co-authored chapter on key themes within migration studies. The work provides a truly interdisciplinary introduction to the topic of migration for those who are new to the subject; an opportunity for immigration lawyers and legal scholars to engage Christian theology; an opportunity for pastors and Christian theologians to engage law; and new insights on key frameworks for scholars who are already committed to the study of migration"-- Provided by publisher

"For nearly a century and a half, Americans lived by a powerful tradition in which no President served more than two terms. Then came Franklin Delano Roosevelt, restricted by custom but not by law, who won a third term in 1940 and a fourth in 1944. Believing that the broken norm would be breached again, the Republican-controlled eightieth Congress acted to restore it, passing a constitutional change in 1947 to formalize an absolute limit on presidential tenure. Ratified in 1951, the Twenty-second Amendment created a lame-duck out of every two-term incumbent since Truman and has had an enormous effect on the institution of the Presidency, public policy, and national politics. Critics believe the Amendment diminishes the presidential office; however, Martin B. Gold contends it serves to maintain checks and balances central to the American Constitution while examining Presidents and term limits, from the spirited debates in the Constitution Convention, the role of custom in an unwritten Constitution, and the Twenty-second Amendment itself." --Publisher's website

"Many people and organizations do not understand what organizational ombuds are and how they work. They want to know what value these programs really add, and they frequently express skepticism about ombuds' claim of confidentiality and how these programs can operate independently within an organization when an ombuds may be an employee of the organization. This book is a practical guide for those who have questions such as these about organizational ombuds programs and how they operate"-- Provided by publisher

"This third edition represents the Forum's continuing contribution to support the development of affordable housing in the United States. It covers most important areas of law that apply to affordable housing development. The book should be a vital resource for a broad range of attorneys, law students, academics, and other legal professionals, including those representing local governments, housing authorities, redevelopment agencies, state agencies, local municipalities, housing developers (both for-profit and nonprofit), investors, financial institutions, and populations eligible for affordable housing." --back cover

Contents: Letter to the President -- Preface -- Commission membership -- Executive summary -- Acknowledgments -- Introduction: The genesis of the reform debate and the commission's mission -- Chapter 1: The history of reforms and reform debates -- Chapter 2: Membership and size of the Court -- Chapter 3: Term limits -- Chapter 4: The Court's role in the Constitutional system -- Chapter 5: The Supreme Court's procedures and practices -- Appendix A : Executive Order 14023 -- Appendix B : Commission meetings, expert testimony, and public comment -- Appendix C : The confirmation process -- Appendix D : Advocacy before the court -- Appendix E : Commission members

"These models accurately and impartially present the elements and critical definitions of business torts law in language that is understandable and familiar to the average juror. Chapter introductions give overviews of the current state of the law, including the major recent cases in most jurisdictions, with discussions of the practical issues you might have to consider. Individual instructions are followed by commentary that includes discussion of the cases from which the instruction was derived, as well as how and when to adapt the instruction to particular cases, to the laws of particular states, to the requirements of particular jurisdictions, or in the light of inconsistent authority. Besides making it easy to present first-rate instructions, the models and supporting citations give you an excellent starting place from which to investigate the nuances of a particular jurisdiction. This book gives you the framework for preparing and trying your case, from analyzing the fact situation and planning strategy to preparing your final argument." --publisher's website

"The words Restorative Justice hold little meaning for most Americans. To the residents of Barron County in Northern Wisconsin--men, women, and children whose live have been touched by restorative programs--the meaning is life-changing. The words Restorative Justice are synonymous with empowerment and healing for victims of crime. They represent a commitment to the citizens of Barron County that offenders will be held accountable. They offer offenders a change to make things right in the lives of their victims. Barron County Restorative Justice Programs (BCRJP), a program of Goodwill NCW, is one of the nations most comprehensive rural Restorative Justice Programs. Its services include Restorative Conference (formerly Victim Offender Conference), Victim Impact Panels, School Community Outreach, Prime for Life, Safe Serve, Cognitive Behavioral Intervention, Teen Traffic Violation, and Catch My breath."-- Introduction, page i

"This book addresses the diverse ways in which international law governs the uses, management, and protection of fresh water. The regulation of fresh water has primarily developed through the conclusion of treaties concerning international watercourses, yet a number of other legal regimes also apply to the governance of fresh water. In particular, there has been an increasing recognition of the importance of fresh water to environmental protection. The development of international human rights law and international humanitarian law has also proven crucial for ensuring the sound and equitable management of this resource. In addition, the economic uses of fresh water feature prominently in the law applicable to watercourses, while water itself has become an important element of the trade and investment regimes. These bodies of rules and principles not only surface in an array of dispute settlement mechanisms, but also stimulate wider trends of institutionalization." --publisher's website

From a technological standpoint, geography is largely irrelevant. Data flows through the internet without regard for political borders or territories. Services, communication, and interaction can occur online between persons who may be in different countries. Illegal activities, like hacking, cyberespionage, propagating terrorist propaganda, defamation, revenge porn, and illegal marketplaces may all be remotely targeted and accessed from various countries. As such, the internet has created an interesting and complex set of challenges for the concept of jurisdiction and conflicts of law. This title takes a comparative approach covering the EU, UK, US, Germany, and China.Broken into four parts, this book delves into the notion of jurisdiction as it relates to the internet. Part I focuses on the different meanings of the concept of jurisdiction, from a legal and historical perspective, and distinguishing between the different branches of government. It will highlight the challenges created by the internet, including social media and cloud computing. Part II analyses criminal jurisdiction, in regards to both jurisdictions in cybercrime cases and jurisdictional issues relating to criminal investigations (access to the cloud) and enforcement. Part III examines jurisdiction and applicable law in civil and commercial matters, such as e-commerce B2B and B2C contracts, torts typically occurring online, and online defamation and privacy infringement. Finally, Part IV looks at regulatory jurisdiction, examining the power of the executive (whether an arm of government or independent regulator) to apply and enforce national law. It will look at aspects like the provision of online audio-visual media services and online gambling services, both of which are heavily regulated, but which can be easily provided remotely from different jurisdictions

In the world's top research labs and universities, the race is on to invent the ultimate learning algorithm: one capable of discovering any knowledge from data and doing anything we want before we even ask. Pedro Domingos, a leader in artificial intelligence, lifts the veil for the first time to give us a peek inside the learning machines that power Google, Amazon, and your smartphone. From back cover