Recent Acquisitions at the Marquette Law Library

"An urgent and definitive collection of essays from leaders and experts championing the Green New Deal-and a detailed playbook for how we can win it-including contributions by leading activists and progressive writers like Varshini Prakash, Rhiana Gunn-Wright, Bill McKibben, Rev William Barber II, and more"-- Provided by publisher

"Our cities are changing. Around the world, more and more money is being invested in buildings and land. Real estate is now a $217 trillion dollar industry, worth thirty-six times the value of all the gold ever mined. It forms 60 percent of global assets, and one of the most powerful people in the world--the president of the United States--made his name as a landlord and developer. Samuel Stein shows that this explosive transformation of urban life and politics has been driven not only by the tastes of wealthy newcomers, but by the state-driven process of urban planning. Planning agencies provide a unique window into the ways the state uses and is used by capital, and the means by which urban renovations are translated into rising real estate values and rising rents. Capital City explains the role of planners in the real estate state, as well as the remarkable power of planning to reclaim urban life."--Inside front flap

"This book analyzes the impact of the U.S. Supreme Court rulings deeming juvenile life without parole (LWOP) sentences to be cruel and unusual punishment. These Court decisions brought about controversy and resistance in the criminal justice field, while at the same time providing hope for those 2,300 people who never thought they had a chance to experience life as an adult outside prison. By looking in depth at the lives of some of the individuals serving life terms, and understanding both the prosecutors who oppose review and resentencing of juvenile lifers and those who are sincerely following the Supreme Court's guidelines, this book provides a comprehensive understanding of the issues - as well as the people - involved in the sentencing (and potential resentencing) of juveniles to life without the possibility of parole. The authors provide unique, perceptive, and straightforward profiles on some of the prisoners who were ultimately sentenced to LWOP after being involved in criminal offenses committed before their eighteenth birthdays. The book poignantly features the experiences of young people who did not commit a murder yet were still sentenced to life terms, but also delves into the perspectives of the families of victims of juvenile offenders, prosecutors on both sides of the issue, psychologists who have interviewed many of the juvenile lifers, and advocates for change in the way juveniles are treated by the criminal justice system. The decisions in Miller v. Alabama and Montgomery v. Louisiana clearly demonstrated that the Court's view of juveniles evolved over decades to reflect advances in our understanding of the unique characteristics of youth and their involvement in juvenile crimes. This book takes the position that the sentence of life without the possibility of parole for youth is wasteful of both human lives and scarce public resources. The authors write about the human concerns on both sides of the question, and, ultimately, allow readers to make their own decisions about how society should best handle juvenile offenders. This engaging ethnographic treatment will appeal to students and scholars of criminology, corrections, juvenile justice, and delinquency; practitioners working in social policy; and all those interested in a criminal justice system capable of positive outcomes for involved youth"-- Provided by publisher

"Expansion of cross-border power transmission infrastructure and the regional integration of electricity markets are accelerating on several continents. The internationalization of trade in electric energy is embedded in an even bigger transformation: the switch from fossil fuels to renewable energies and the race to net zero emissions. Against this backdrop, this book provides a comprehensive examination of the regulatory framework that governs the emerging electricity trading relations. Taking the technical and economic foundations as a starting point and thoroughly examining current developments on four continents, the book provides a global perspective on the state-of-art electricity market integration. The legal study focuses on the most relevant issues including transit of electricity, quantitative restrictions, market foreclosure and anti-competitive practices by the actors on electricity markets. The author carefully analyzes the regulatory framework provided by the WTO Agreements, the Energy Charter Treaty and other relevant preferential trade agreements. Going beyond the applicable legal architecture, in a final part concrete proposals are made for the future design of global trade rules specifically tailored to the electricity sector, which could provide a more reliable and transparent framework for the multilateral regulation of electricity trade"--Back cover

Contents: ch.1. Defining bona fama. Distinguishing terms -- Determining the scope of the right to bona fama -- ch. 2. Valuing bona fama. The ratio iuris in sacred scripture -- The witness of the early church -- The testimony of the scholastics -- Moral and legal contributions from the 18th and 19th centuries -- The magisterium of the 20th century -- The evidence from modern science -- ch.3. Protecting bona fama. Historically -- Contemporary protection -- Status quaestionis -- Defending bona fama canonically -- Defending bona fama civilly

"The second edition of this comprehensive Handbook presents new and significantly revised chapters by leading scholars and practitioners in the burgeoning field of international sports law. National, regional and comparative dimensions of sports law are emphasized throughout, exploring a wide range of issues emerging in sports law today. Approaching international sports law through three converging frameworks, this Handbook examines the institutions of international sport, the eligibility rights and protections of athletes, as well as the commercial side of international sport. New topics discussed in this edition include concussions, EU antitrust and other regulation of sport, review of awards by the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS), college and university athletics, league and team restrictions on athlete movement, taxation of athletes and sports as cultural heritage. Covering some of the most controversial and cutting-edge issues in international sports law, this timely handbook will prove invaluable for academics and students of sports law, sports management, international law and comparative law. With a global scope, the handbook will also prove a vital resource to practicing lawyers, players' agents, senior executives and other professionals within the sports industry"-- Provided by publisher

Contents: A dictionary of law -- Writing and citation guide -- Appendices. Abbreviations ; Online legal resources

Contains papers presented at Yale Law School's Virtual Symposium on Citations and the Law, held April 22-23, 2021, which highlighted the scholarship of law librarians and faculty interested in issues ranging from the US News and World Reports rankings for scholarly productivity, to link rot, to empirical research in the use of citations, and more. Keynote speaker Fred Shapiro's paper "The Most-Cited Legal Scholars Revisited" sets the stage. The remaining chapters continue the impressive collection of first-rate scholarship from more than 20 authors from law schools across the country. This material advances the understanding of law librarianship and legal information management and encourages law librarians to continue to create and publish a body of scholarship. It also shows the intense interest of law school administrations and their alums and donors in rankings of scholarship (and although U.S. News & World Report made the decision not to pursue its Scholarly Impact Ranking, at least for now, the issue is far from settled).--Publisher

"A recurring theme of this book will be that the movement to electronic and digital tools for collaboration is nonthreatening and evolutionary, not radical and revolutionary, even though it might feel that way during and after COVID-19. Lawyers consistently adapt the same fundamental collaborative acts to different technologies as those technologies evolve. The greatest difference today is that the accelerating pace of technological change, combined with the sudden need for most legal professionals to work from home, culminated in an explosion of the number and variety of collaborative tools and a dramatic shift in client expectations" -- Provided by publisher

"Unlike traditional express trusts that are planned well in advance with all parties involved agreeing to roles as trustee and beneficiary, a constructive trust is one created solely by a judge as a distinct remedy--powerful, nuanced, and often complex and daunting. Whether you are litigating in their favor or defending in such a case, this book is an essential guide on the topic, covering crucial considerations a practitioner will need to know including strategies for handling pleadings, discovery, motion practice, and trials." -- Publisher's website

"This book focuses on damages claims emanating from injuries-especially those associated with claims of loss of earning capacity and situation-specific future rehabilitation needs that life care plans encapsulate"-- Provided by publisher

"Every state in the country has enacted consumer-protection legislation known as a lemon laws to assist new vehicle buyers with either recurring mechanical problems (commonly referred to as "warranty nonconformities") in spite of attempts by manufacturers and dealers to repair them, or situations where the defects have caused the vehicle to be out of service for a long period of time. As straightforward as lemon laws appear, a surprising number of very interesting--and sometimes complex--legal issues arise, leading to a substantial amount of litigation (numerous firms around the country specialize exclusively in lemon law cases). ... Each chapter is preceded by "practice tips," and the text is organized logically to follow the progression and development of litigation claims." -- Publisher's website

"The fortunes of over one-third of the economy of the United States-nearly seven trillion dollars-depend on two kinds of people. The first kind of person makes a strong impression. She turns heads with her "true artistic skill" and "creative judgment." She is "original." Members of this exclusive group are not always humble, probably because their behavior is celebrated as reflecting "genius" or "magic." The second kind of person is someone you would likely not even notice if you saw them at a party or walking down the street. Unlike the first person, this person is thoroughly conventional. Her musical tastes are "average," her design preferences "ordinary." Her attention to commercial messaging is "typical" and "unheeding." Rather than being characterized as a genius, this person has been called "ignorant," "gullible," and, in particularly uncharitable moments, "a moron in a hurry.""-- Provided by publisher

"Guide to Patent Policies of Standards-Development Organizations, Second Edition is a comprehensive set of annotated, policy-neutral language that can be instantly accessed and utilized by SDOs who are developing new patent policies or those looking to refine or interpret existing policies." -- Publisher's website

"Only a fool would try to deprive working men and women of the right to join the union of their choice. Dwight D. Eisenhower. The lines of rigid conflict between political parties noted in Chapter 1 were not always present prior to the New Deal and the post-New Deal era in which the Eisenhower administration functioned. In contrast to their party's political position from the latter part of the twentieth century into the twenty-first century, Abraham Lincoln and Theodore Roosevelt were hardly hostile to unions and the interests of working people. Quite the contrary. Said President Lincoln: Labor is prior to and independent of capital. Capital is only the fruit of labor, and could never have existed if labor had not first existed. Labor is the superior of capital, and deserves much of the higher consideration"-- Provided by publisher

"This book represents the cutting edge of physician law. The publication emanates from the American Bar Association Health Law Section's 2022 Physicians Legal Issues Conference. The conference and Physician Law: Evolving Trends & Hot Topics have been produced in conjunction with the Chicago Medical Society and the American Medical Association, tailored to an audience including physicians, lawyers, healthcare administrators, and other healthcare business people. ... Physicians will especially benefit from the content that addresses a broad range of non-clinical topics that are currently transforming American healthcare. The chapters target issues that are not typically covered in most medically oriented volumes but nonetheless are critically important in the practice of medicine. Physician Law: Evolving Trends & Hot Topics is an excellent reference for clinicians and professionals who want to stay abreast of current legal and regulatory issues impacting their practice." -- Back cover

"Representing a sizable portion of the American economy, few industries in the United States have received more attention from the press, legislators, and antitrust agencies than the health care industry, particularly in recent years. The health care industry is also one of the most complex and dynamic industries in the world. In the eleven years since the publication of the fourth edition of this handbook, individuals and companies in the industry have had to grapple with significant changes, including new laws and regulations, changes in managed care contracting, and a variety of significant economic pressures--and the antitrust agencies have promised to keep up with these changes and continue their robust enforcement in health care markets." -- Publisher's website

"This book is an explanation of the federal Anti-Kickback Statute and details about related topics"-- Provided by publisher

"Each of the book's chapters discusses the basic constitutional principles and how they apply in the context of public higher education"-- Provided by publisher

"According to the US Constitution, if a bill is not returned to Congress by the president after ten days of receiving it and Congress is adjourned, the bill is effectively vetoed. The so-called "pocket veto" dates at least as far back as the presidency of James Madison, but the constitutionality of its use had not been considered by the Supreme Court until Okanogan, Methow, San Poels...Indians v. the United States was decided in 1929, during the last year of Chief Justice Taft's tenure. Despite responding to a situation in American Indian law, the Pocket Veto Case is notable for the fact its final decision had nothing whatsoever to do with Indian Law. The Okanogan Tribe is barely mentioned at all in the Court's unanimous opinion, delivered by Justice Edward Sanford, which ultimately concluded that the pocket veto is a constitutional exercise of presidential authority"-- Provided by publisher

"Now in its third edition, this guide from the ABA Section of Taxation synthesizes the admission to practice requirements faced by state and local tax lawyers representing clients in informal and formal administrative matters and in litigation in each state, the District of Columbia, and key municipalities. It is designed for state and local tax lawyers who engage in multijurisdictional practice, as well as for businesses and individuals who need to engage counsel for state and local tax matters that transcend jurisdictional boundaries. Areas covered include: Admission to practice requirements for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and significant local municipalities which have their own tax administrative agencies. Jurisdictional summaries prepared by local attorneys familiar with the nuances of local law and practice. Information regarding representing taxpayers in tax certiorari matters which are generally administered by the counties or other local municipalities. Practice rules for representing taxpayers through the administrative hearing bodies and the courts of law. New in the third edition: Remote practice of law in states that have addressed the issue." --Publisher's website

"This book explores the private weaponization of racial fear that drives modern-day enforcement of these Black and White spaces. More than any express hatred of African Americans or desire to return to formal segregation, private White actors today react to deeply ingrained, systemic, and often unconscious racial fear of Black people who appear "out of place" in their public environment. They weaponize this racial fear in a variety of ways, including by abusing 911 to enforce formal social control via armed government agents, by trafficking in racial fear to whitewash their own misdeeds through "racial hoaxes," and by exacting vigilante justice through extrajudicial killing under the guise of self-defense and standing one's ground. Each of these approaches perverts and exploits the weapon of choice - the criminal justice system - with violent repercussions for the Black targets of this subformal apartheid. More often than not, private actors employing these methods enjoy the express or implicit support of government officials at all levels, from local police departments to state legislatures to the United States Supreme Court"-- Provided by publisher

Contents: Step 1: Opening the estate -- Step 2: Preparing the personal representatives for the job -- Step 3: Managing the estate : valuations, spousal share, and more -- Step 4: Addressing creditor claims -- Step 5: Post-mortem tax planning, distributions, and trust administration -- Step 6: Handling estate closing, final accounting, and tax returns -- Maintaining an ethical practice -- Step 7: Resolving disputes and navigating probate litigation

"Regeneration offers a visionary new approach to climate change, one that weaves justice, climate, biodiversity, equity, and human dignity into a seamless tapestry of action, policy, and transformation that can end the climate crisis in one generation. It is the first book to describe and define the burgeoning regeneration movement spreading rapidly throughout the world. Regeneration describes how an inclusive movement can engage the majority of humanity to save the world from the threat of global warming, with climate solutions that directly serve our children, the poor, and the excluded. This means we must address current human needs, not future existential threats, real as they are, with initiatives that include but go well beyond solar, electric vehicles, and tree planting to include such solutions as the fifteen-minute city, bioregions, azolla farming, food localization, fire ecology, decommodification, forests as farms, and the number one solution for the world: electrifying everything."--Back cover

"Research on patent valuation has become increasingly important in academic and policy circles in the last few decades. In part, this is the outcome of the wide consensus that innovation is a crucial ingredient for growth at various levels. On the other hand, there has also been an overcoming of growth models unilaterally focused on technological-oriented approaches. This book presents novel and original research on patent value determinants, which are intrinsic or extrinsic to the innovator's business model." -- Publisher's website