Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
are available to assist you
In Person: 1st Floor Reference Desk
Email: via web form
Hours: Library Service Hours
General Works & Treatises
The ABC-CLIO Companion to the Native American Rights Movement by
Call Number: KF8203.36 .G76 1996
Publication Date: Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 1996
The development, ideology and accomplishments of the Native American rights movement are charted in this book. Nearly 500 entries address a full range of issues and key legislation and landmark court cases are highlighted throughout the text.
American Indian Law Deskbook (3rd edition) by
Call Number: KF8205 .A78 2004
Publication Date: Boulder, Colo. : University Press of Colorado, c2004
This deskbook is a comprehensive resource covering the following areas of Indian Law: origins, land, criminal, civil regulatory jurisdiction, civil rights, water rights, wildlife regulation, environmental regulation, taxation, gaming, child welfare and state-tribal cooperative agreements. The book also includes a table of cases.
American Indian Law in a Nutshell, (5th edition) by
Call Number: RESERVE: KF8205.Z9 C36 2009
Publication Date: St. Paul, Minn. : West, c2009
One in the nutshell series of study guides, the book provides an introduction for the study of Indian law. It includes an historical overview of federal Indian law and policy.
American Indian Legal Materials by
Call Number: KF8201.A1 G37
Publication Date: Stanfordville, N.Y. : E. M. Coleman, 1980
This work represents an effort to fill a gap in researching the related fields of Indian law, history and policy by providing a Union list of significant works in the many disciplines necessary to research and study American Indian law.
American Indian Sovereignty and the U. S. Supreme Court by
Call Number: KF8205 .W527 1997
Publication Date: Austin : University of Texas Press, 1997
The focus of this study is the the United States Supreme Court and how the court has negatively affected the sovereign status of Indian tribes. The study considers fifteen important decisions.
American Indian Tribal Governments by
Call Number: E98 .T77 O27 1989
Publication Date: Norman : University of Oklahoma Press, c1989
This book is an introduction to traditional tribal governments, the structure and legal rights of tribal governments and the relationship of federal and state governments with Indian tribes and tribal governments.
American Indian Tribal Law by
Call Number: KF8205 .F54 2011
Publication Date: Austin : Wolters Kluwer Law & Business, 2011
The focus of the book is tribal government, including justice systems, constitutions, regulatory and administrative law and civil rights.
American Indians and the Law by
Call Number: KF 8205 .A2 A47
Publication Date: New Brunswick, N.J. : Transaction Books, 1978, c1976
This work, a compilation of symposium presentations, explores some of the critical areas of Indian law such as jurisdiction, natural resources, compensation for property, tax and education. The symposium's purpose was to clarify what might follow a restructuring of Indian policy and how Indians and non-Indians can achieve accord in these legal issues.
The Great Father : The United States Government and the American Indians by
Call Number: E93 .P9654 1984
Publication Date: Lincoln : University of Nebraska Press, c1984
This is a comprehensive history of the relations between the U.S. government and the Indians. It covers the two centuries from the Revolutionary War to 1980 and traces the development of American Indian policy and the growth of bureaucracy.
Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law by
Call Number: KF8205 .C6 2012
Publication Date: San Francisco, Calif. : LexisNexis, 2012
This handbook, also known as Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law, is a treatise on Indian law. This is an excellent resource to gain an overview of the law. Citations to leading cases and statutes are included and the work provides a history of federal Indian policy.
The Law Library also holds the 1942 and 2012 editions. The 1942 edition includes reference tables.
The work is also available electronically at HeinOnline and Lexis (username and password required).
Indian Law Stories by
Call Number: KF8205.A2 I535 2011
Publication Date: New York, NY : Foundation Press/Thomson Reuters, 2011
This book tells the stories behind some of the leading cases in Indian law. The stories are grouped into three thematic categories and combine historical events and personal accounts to provide a view of the difficulties between American law and Native American people.
Introduction to Tribal Legal Studies by
Call Number: KF8205 .R53 2010
Publication Date: Lanham, Md. : AltaMira Press, c2010
A textbook on tribal law, the tribal legal system and tribal government.
Manual of Indian Law by
Call Number: KF 8220 .A43 1976
Publication Date: [Washington] : American Indian Lawyer Training Program, c1976
This book presents basic Indian law in a manner that is informative and useful not only for attorneys but for tribal leaders and the layperson.
Mastering American Indian Law by
Call Number: KF8205 .E225 2013
Publication Date: Durham, North Carolina : Carolina Academic Press, 2013
Part of the Mastering series of study aids, this resource provides an introduction to American Indian law and covers topics including property law, criminal and civil jurisdiction issues, natural resources, family law and tribal business.
Native American Legal Materials Collection [microform]
Call Number: MICROFICHE KF8201.A1 N39
Publication Date: Honolulu, Hawaii : LLMC
A compilation of documentary material and monographs on the legal condition and history of the American Indian. The collection is to be used in conjunction with: Native American Collection: A Bibliography Describing the Microfiche Collection Assembled and Marketed by the Law Library Microform Consortium" by Jerry Dupont, compiler and editor. (Call numer: KF8201.A1 N39)
Native Americans and the Criminal Justice System by
Call Number: KF8210.C7 N38 2006
Publication Date: Boulder, Colo. : Paradigm Publishers, c2006
A compilation of articles on a variety of subjects related to criminal law and the American Indian. The collection seeks to explain the causes, effects, and solutions for the presence and plight of Native Americans in the criminal justice system.
Readings in American Indian Law by
Call Number: KF8204.5 .R424 1998
Publication Date: Philadelphia : Temple University Press, 1998
This book is a compilation of essays on topics in Indian law including: identity, land claims and reparations, land and culture, repatriation, tribal governance and religious expression.
Red Man's Land White Man's Law : The Past and Present Status of the American Indian by
Call Number: KF8205 .W38 1995
Publication Date: Norman, OK : University of Oklahoma Press, c1995
This book provides a history of the legal status of the American Indians and their land. Through a historical survey, the lands of various Indian tribes and the Indian people are studied. The book touches on legal issues involving land claims and allotment, tribal relations with Congress and definitions of Indian status.
The Rights of Indians and Tribes (4th edition) by
Call Number: KF8210.C5 P48 2012
Publication Date: Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012
The goal of this book is to assist Indians and tribes to exercise and defend their rights and to help others understand the complexities of Indian law. Federal Indian laws are explained and major legal issues are examined in an attempt to clarify confusing aspects of Indian law. Some of the most significant legal issues facing tribes are addressed, including tribal sovereignty, Indian treaties, and the Indian Civil Rights Act.
Tribal Criminal Law and Procedure by
Call Number: KF8210.C7 G37 2004
Publication Date: Walnut Creek, Calif. : AltaMira Press, c2004
The book covers the topics of criminal jurisdiction in Indian country, criminal law, criminal procedure and sanctions and sentencing.