ResearchGuides: Native American Indian Law Research Guide: Wisconsin & Wisconsin Tribal Judicial Resources

Catalog

Eckstein Law Library Map

View Library Map

Need Help?

Reference librarians

are available to assist you

In Person: 1st Floor Reference Desk

Phone: 414-288-3837

Email: via web form

Hours: Library Service Hours

Marquette University's Land and Water Acknowledgement

Marquette University’s land and water acknowledgment is a statement that developed over weeks of reflection and conversation led by Indigenous student leadership with key faculty and staff. The statement recognizes the long history of Native people and nations that lived on and stewarded the land and water where the university now resides. It also celebrates the unbroken connection Native people and nations still have to this land and waterways, their traditional territories.

Wisconsin Judicial & Wisconsin Tribal Court Resources

WISCONSIN CASE LAW
Wisconsin case law includes cases heard before the Wisconsin Supreme Court and the Wisconsin Court of Appeals.

Wisconsin cases filed in federal court may be heard before the United States Court of Appeals Seventh Circuit or the United States District Court Eastern or Western District.
Indian Law Bulletins - National Indian Law Library
Provides timely information about new developments in Indian law, including state court cases.
Wisconsin Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Case Access (WSCCA)
WSCCA provides public access to the status of appeals filed with the Wisconsin Supreme Court and the Wisconsin Court of Appeals. Generally, this site includes appeals that were considered "Open" from the end of 1993 forward.
Also:
Wisconsin cases can also be accessed using other services, including:
Lexis (username and password required)
Westlaw (username and password required)
United States Court of Appeals Seventh Circuit
The website for the Seventh Circuit includes case information.
The Federal Reporter contains Court of Appeals cases. Cases can be searched using databases such as Lexis and Westlaw (username and password required).
United States District Court, Eastern District
The website for the Eastern District provides much information about the court, rules and forms.
Published District Court cases can be found in the Federal Supplement. Online databases such as Lexis and Westlaw (username and password required) can be searched for cases.
United States District Court, Western District
The website for the Western District provides much information about the court, rules, forms and opinion search.
Published District Court cases can be found in the Federal Supplement. Online databases such as Lexis and Westlaw (username and password required) can be searched for cases.
DIGESTS AND REPORTERS
Indian Law Reporter by American Indian Lawyer Training Program
Call Number: KF8203.4 I53
Publication Date: 1974-
Reports cases from federal, state and tribal courts as well as administrative agencies.
Native American Law Digest
Call Number: KF8203.1 .N38
Law Library has volumes 7-18 (1997-2008)
This monthly publication provides summaries of federal, state and tribal court decisions.
Wisconsin Reports
Call Number: KFW2245/1 .R47
Publication Date: 1872-
Covers Wisconsin cases argued and determined in the Wisconsin Supreme Court.
WISCONSIN TRIBAL CASE LAW AND TRIBAL COURTS
[Court Procedure of Various Tribal Courts]
Call Number: KF8224.C6 P751 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Contains codes and procedures of various tribal courts for Wisconsin Indian tribes: Bad River Chippewa, Forest County Potawatomi, Ho-Chunk Nation, Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, Lac du Flambeau Chippewa, Menominee Nation, Oneida, Red Cliff Chippewa, St. Croix Chippewa and Stockbridge-Munsee.
Indian Law Reporter
Call Number: KF8203.4 I53
Publication Date: 1974-
Reports cases from tribal courts as well as federal and state courts and administrative agencies.
An Introduction: American Indian Tribes and Law in Wisconsin by Rebecca Webster, Andrew Adams III & David Armstrong
Publication Date: 88 Wisconsin Lawyer 5 (2015)
In this Wisconsin Lawyer article, the authors survey the history of Indian tribes and summarize their governing status while discussing important court cases. Contact information for Wisconsin tribal courts is also provided. Wisconsin Lawyer is available in the Marquette Law Library's collection.
Model Tribal Court Forms: For Practice in Wisconsin Tribal Courts by Wisconsin Judicare, Inc.
Model court forms compiled for the benefit of tribal court practitioners. To access the forms from the Indian Law Office page, select "Tribal Court Forms" found under the heading "Indian Law Office Publications". The file is in read only format.
Native American Law Digest
Call Number: KF8203.1 .N38
Publication Date: 1991-
Library has 1997-2008, volumes 7-18.
This is a monthly publication that summarizes legal decisions and discusses legal developments in the Native American community.
Also:
Lexis (username and password required)
The Private Bar in Tribal Courts: What Attorneys Need to Know by Wisconsin Judicare, Inc.
Call Number: KF8224.C6 P75 2000
A continuing legal education seminar co-sponsored by Wisconsin Judicare, Inc. and the Indian Law Section of the Wisconsin State Bar.
State Bar of Wisconsin Directory of Federal, State and Tribal Courts. by State Bar of Wisconsin
The site includes a list of Wisconsin tribal courts and the names of judges and other staff as well as contact information.
Tribal Court Decisions by Tribal Court Clearinghouse
Tribal Law & Policy Institute's Tribal Court Opinion search page. Selection of tribal court cases. Oneida Appeals Court cases are included.
Wisconsin State-Tribal Justice Forum
The committee promotes and sustains communication, education and cooperation among tribal and state court systems. It works on issues of concurrent jurisdiction and transfer of jurisdiction. The site links to the Wisconsin Supreme Court Rule governing the discretionary transfer of cases to tribal court.
Wisconsin Tribal Courts by Wisconsin Judicare, Inc.
List of the Wisconsin tribal courts includes judges, contact information, subject matter jurisdiction and admission requirements.
Each entry is linked to the tribe's website. However, none of the sites provide access to tribal court cases. Contact the specific tribal court for case information.
Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association
The Wisconsin Tribal Judges' Association, Inc. exists as a voice of equal justice for all and is dedicated to the protection of tribal sovereignty. The website provides information about Wisconsin Tribal Courts and tribal law.