Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

U.S. Government Documents: Websites

Marquette University Eckstein Law Library is a selective Federal Depository Library for government documents. The Law Library receives approximately 3.8 percent of available publications.

Federal Depository Library

As a selective federal depository library in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), Marquette University Eckstein Law Library makes U.S. government documents available for public access for free. The public may access materials received under the FDLP during the law library's regular hours. Individuals using the materials must abide by the law school, law library and university rules.  The law library adheres to the policies set forth in the Legal Requirements & Program Regulations of the Federal Depository Library Program.

 

 

 

 

Catalog search

Search the catalog by:

Marqcat Search 
(law library materials only)

 

Marqcat Advanced Search 

Eckstein Law Library Map

Need Help?

Reference librarians

are available to assist you

In Person:  1st Floor Reference Desk

Phone:       414-288-3837

Email:        via web form

Hours:        Library Service Hours

About Websites

The websites identified are free Internet sites useful for finding a wide variety of federal government information, including government documents.  

The resources identified under the Databases tab in this Research Guide refer to proprietary databases to which the Marquette University Law Library subscribes.  Access to some of the databases is limited to members of the Marquette University Law School community.  Access limitations are duly noted.  The Law Library is not required to provide public access to third-party vendor subscription databases such as Westlaw.

Find Government Information on the Internet

Access the websites listed below to find federal government information, resources and services.

Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids - The site is a service of the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) designed to inform students, parents, and teachers about the Federal Government.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) - Find federal publications and direct links to those available online by searching by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word. 

Congress.gov - The official source for federal legislative information including bills are found on this site. 

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy - Online access to the basic Federal Government documents. Provides the cornerstone documents such as the Constitution and Bill of Rights as well as selected sources for Congressional, Presidential, Judicial, Regulatory, Demographic, Economic and Miscellaneous categories.

Govinfo.gov - a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO) that provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the federal government. 

Federal Government Departments and Agencies - From the USA.gov website, view a list of U.S. government agencies and link to contact information.

Metalib - A federated search engine, the service of the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP), allows the user to search across multiple Federal government databases at one time.

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) - Known as the nation's record keeper the National Archives preserves and provides access to the records of the United States. NARA keeps only those records deemed to have continuing value. 

United States Courts -  Provides a wide range of information from and about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government.  The site is maintained by the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts on behalf of the Federal Judiciary.

United States Government Manual - The official handbook of the Federal Government provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies and boards, commissions, and committees. 

USA.gov - The U.S. Government's official web portal provides access to government information and services.

US Government Bookstore - Purchase federal government publications.

USA.gov Forms - Find federal forms including tax forms, agency forms and U.S. courts forms by searching the government's official web portal.