Skip to main content

Native American Indian Law Research Guide: Websites

This guide provides an overview of selected Native American Indian law materials available at the Marquette University Eckstein Law Library and selected online materials pertaining to Native American Indian law.

Catalog

MARQCAT - Search library
for:

Eckstein Law Library Map

Need Help?

Reference librarians

are available to assist you

In Person:  1st Floor Reference Desk

Phone:       414-288-3837

Email:        via web form

Hours:        Library Service Hours

Websites

The following websites serve as resources for Native American Indian legal research. The sites are comprehensive and provide significant information to assist in the research process. Only free online resources are listed. However, the researcher must also be aware of the fee-based commercial databases which include numerous resources on Native American Indian law, including Lexis and Westlaw (username and password credentials required) as well as the "American Indian Law Collection" on HeinOnline which is available to the Marquette University community.

American Indian Treaties Portal This site from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Center for Digital Research in the Humanities provides links to several resources for Native American Indian treaties research.

Index of Native American Legal Resources on the Internet  This site is maintained by a private individual, not an organization, association, educational institution or government agency. However, this site provides links to a variety of resources and sites regarding Native Americans and legal issues.

Indian Law Resource Center The Indian Law Resource Center is a non-profit law and advocacy organization established and directed by American Indians. The Center provides legal assistance to indigenous peoples of the Americas. The website provides access to news items and program information.

Indigenous Governance Database The Indigenous Governance Database is an online resource center for educational and informational resources about nation building, sovereignty, governance, leadership and sustainable economic and community development in indigenous country. Developed by the Native Nations Institute for Leadership, Management and Policy at The University of Arizona, the database features a comprehensive catalog of text, video and audio resources.

Library of Congress - Law Library of Congress - Indians of North America The Law Library of Congress provides links to legal information which includes congressional documents, federal statutes, regulations, agencies and organizations, tribal codes, treaties and commentary.

National Archives: Researching American Indians and Alaska Natives Website section includes information on American Indian Treaties, and government documents including the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) records.

National Indian Justice Center National Indian Justice Center is an Indian-owned and operated nonprofit organization. Its goals are to design and deliver legal education, research and technical assistance programs with the aim of improving the quality of life for Native Americans. The site's Resources page provides links to a variety of topics and organizations relevant for the Indian law researcher.

National Indian Law Library  This site is hosted by the Native American Rights Fund. The National Indian Law Library (NILL) is a public library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. Visitors to the site can access information using the site's research tools: Library Catalog, Publications, Resources by Topic, Indian Law Bulletins, Tribal Law Gateway and Access to Tribal Law.  Research guides on Federal Indian law and Tribal Law can also be found on the site.

National Tribal Justice Resource Center  This comprehensive website is dedicated to tribal justice systems, personnel and tribal law.

Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project  This project is a cooperative venture by the University of Oklahoma Law Center, the National  Indian Law Library and Native American tribes. The site provides access to tribal constitutions, codes, treaties and other legal documents.

Tribal Court Clearinghouse The site is developed and maintained by the Tribal Law and Policy Institute, an Indian-owned nonprofit organization. The comprehensive website is a "resource for American Indian and Alaska Native Nations, American Indian and Alaska Native people, tribal justice systems, victims services providers, tribal service providers, and others involved in the improvement of justice in Indian country." The site covers federal and state law, provides a database for searching cases and many resources.

USA.gov The web portal of the U.S. Government includes information on Indian Tribes and Resources for Native Americans, including a section on legal resources.