Skip to main content

Court Rules Research Guide: Treatises

Court rules govern the procedures of a court and how matters before a court are handled and processed. This guide identifies resources for locating court rules.

Treatises

Treatises are scholarly legal publications on an area of law such as civil or criminal practice. For researching court rules, treatises on practice and procedure may be useful for providing in-depth commentary and analysis. Many treatises are available on the practice and procedure of the federal courts. Likewise, treatises are also available for individual states, including Wisconsin. Treatises may be found in print by searching a law library's catalog, such as Marqcat for Marquette University Law Library's holdings, or may be found by searching fee-based databases such as Lexis and Westlaw. Access to these databases are restricted to members of the Marquette University Law School community.

Federal Practice Treatises

For researching court rules, treatises on practice and procedure may be useful for providing in-depth commentary and analysis. Many treatises are available on the practice and procedure of the federal courts. Treatises may be found in print by searching a law library's catalog, such as Marqcat for Marquette University Law Library's holdings, or may be found by searching fee-based databases such as Lexis and Westlaw. Access to these databases are restricted to members of the Marquette University Law School community.

State Practice Treatises

Treatises on practice and procedure are published for many states. These resources may be focused on a state's civil and criminal practice or on a state's evidentiary rules, for example. Locate treatises using a law library's catalog. Search Marqcat for treatises in the Marquette University Law Library's collection. An online search in Google or some other browser for a specific state's civil and/or criminal practice treatises is likely to find a list of sample titles. State, court and university law libraries are good sources. For example, the Connecticut Judicial Branch Law Library's website provides a "Connecticut Treatise Index" that includes a list of civil and criminal practice and procedure titles.Some state practice treatises may also be found in fee-based databases such as Lexis and Westlaw. Access to these databases are restricted to members of the Marquette University Law School community.

For Wisconsin practice and procedure treatises see "Wisconsin Court Rules Practice and Procedure" under the Wisconsin Court Rules tab of this guide.

Library Map