ResearchGuides: Court Rules Research Guide: Federal Practice Treatises

Federal Practice Treatises

For researching court rules, treatises on practice and procedure may be useful for providing in-depth commentary and analysis. Many treatises are available on the practice and procedure of the federal courts. Treatises may be found in print by searching a law library's catalog, such as Marqcat for Marquette University Law Library's holdings, or may be found by searching fee-based databases such as Lexis and Westlaw. Access to these subscription databases is restricted to members of the Marquette University Law School community.

Cyclopedia of Federal Procedure, 2d. ed. by Palmer D. Edmunds, Clark A. Nichols and the publisher's editorial staff
Call Number: KF8835 .C88 1943

This multi-volume treatise contains topical annotations regarding federal procedure.and provides extensive annotations on jurisdiction, pleading, trial practice and appellate procedure. Includes table of cases and statutes. The latest print edition held by the Law Library is the 2d. ed. The 3d edition is no longer updated in print but is available on Westlaw.
Federal Practice and Procedure by Charles Alan Wright et al.
Call Number: KF8840 .W741

Publication Date: 1969-

Commonly referred to as "Wright and Miller" after two of its principal authors. One of two major treatises (the other is "Moore's Federal Practice"), this set provides commentaries on federal court rules. The multi-volume set covers the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, the Federal Rules of Evidence and jurisdiction matters. Each rule is extensively discussed and includes footnotes to cases and other materials. The set is updated by pocket parts.
Federal Procedure: A Problem-solving Textual Analysis of Federal Judicial and Administrative Procedure (Lawyer's Edition)
Call Number: KF8836 .F42

Publication Date: 1981-

This set is organized by subject and covers federal district and appellate courts as well as the U.S. Supreme Court, specialized federal courts and selected administrative agencies.
Federal Rules of Evidence Manual : A Complete Guide to the Federal Rules of Evidence by Stephen A. Saltzburg, Michael M. Martin, Daniel J. Capra
Call Number: KF8935 .S2 2011

Publication Date: 2011-

Less comprehensive than "Weinstein's Evidence" this 5-volume (plus trial book) set also provides discussion of the Federal Rules of Evidence. It is supplemented by pocket parts.
Moore's Federal Practice by James Wm. Moore...et al.
Call Number: KF8837 .M66

Publication Date: 1948-

This multi-volume treatise is one of two major sets on federal courts and procedure (the other is "Federal Practice and Procedure"). Moore's provides a rule-by-rule analysis of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, the Federal Rules of Evidence and Supreme Court practice and jurisdiction matters. A detailed index and tables listing statutes and rules cited are included in this set.
Supreme Court Practice by Stephen M. Shapiro, Kenneth S. Geller, Timothy S. Bishop, Edward A. Hartnett, Dan Himmelfarb
Call Number: KF9057 .S8

Publication Date: 1946-

This widely-used treatise for practice before the U.S. Supreme Court includes policies and procedures as well as forms and checklists. Other topics, such as the Court's certiorari and appeal jurisdiction and compliance with the Court's rules, are also covered.
Weinstein's Evidence: Commentary on Rules of Evidence for the United States Courts and Magistrates by Jack B. Weinstein and Margaret A. Berger
Call Number: KF8935 .W39

Publication Date: 1997-

This multi-volume treatise focuses on the Federal Rules of Evidence and is organized by rule number. The set provides analysis and historical coverage. It includes a subject and author-title index as well as tables of cases and of statutes and rules.