Skip to Main Content

Court Rules Research Guide: Local Federal Court Rules

Court rules govern the procedures of a court and how matters before a court are handled and processed. This guide identifies resources for locating court rules.

Local Federal Court Rules

Wisconsin is divided into the Eastern and Western federal court districts. The district courts are the trial courts of the United States court system. The federal bankruptcy courts in Wisconsin are also divided into Eastern and Western districts. These federal court districts have their own local rules. In addition, Wisconsin, along with Illinois and Indiana, comprise the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit which handles appellate court matters.

Federal local rules are available on free websites, in print and in commercial databases such as Lexis and Westlaw. Access is restricted to members of the Marquette University Law School community. See also the Federal Court Rules section of this research guide.

Wisconsin Judicial Administrative Districts

map of judicial districts



MARQCAT - Search library

Library Map